Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Lots of "searching for signal"


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   jkuet21226

jkuet21226

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:55 AM

I'll check my exact signals tonight when I get home, but from what I remember they ranged from 20's thru 50's. I went on the roof last weekend and checked the elevation and tilt. The tilt was fine but the elevation was off about 1 degree (based on the degree markers eteched on the dish). I did not see any markers on the azimuth so I didn't attempt to make any changes. Do I need some sort of signal meter for the azimuth or can I use the DTV receiver numbers?


HR20 100

Sat 103 (Tuner #1)
1-8 24 32 26 30 33 41 26 33
9-16 39 44 36 38 49 49 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 103 (Tuner #2)
1-8 0 0 29 30 36 42 30 34
9-16 39 46 38 39 49 50 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 99 (Tuner # 1)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9-16 0 0 0 0 0 0 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 99 (Tuner # 2)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9-16 0 0 0 0 0 0 X X
17-24
25-32


HR21 700

Sat 103 (Tuner #1)
1-8 40 42 37 37 43 46 34 38
9-16 48 51 42 41 51 51 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 103 (Tuner #2)
1-8 46 43 38 37 43 45 35 38
9-16 46 49 42 41 52 51 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 99 (Tuner # 1)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9-16 0 0 0 0 0 0 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 99 (Tuner # 2)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9-16 0 0 0 0 0 0 X X
17-24
25-32

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 04:09 PM

Re-alignment is definitely required for you, my friend. Do you have the Protection Plan? Otherwise the charge for this is $80, unless you want to do it yourself. If so, see Supplemental Alignment Tips.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#23 OFFLINE   jkuet21226

jkuet21226

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 08:54 PM

Re-alignment is definitely required for you, my friend. Do you have the Protection Plan? Otherwise the charge for this is $80, unless you want to do it yourself. If so, see Supplemental Alignment Tips.



No PP for me. I'll try the re-alignment myself. Is it common for 99 to have all zeros like that even though 103 has some signal? I got your PM for the tips, thanks. Should I try elevation fine tune or azimuth fine tune first?

#24 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 09:27 PM

The first thing with those signals on 99 and 103 I would think would be to mark your dish AZ with a Sharpie on the mast, pull the dish off the mast, and carefully check your plumb with a torpedo level. Then set your tilt to spec for your location, remount the dish at the Sharpie mark, and reacquire the 101. Finally, re-peak the EL and AZ on 99/103.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#25 OFFLINE   jkuet21226

jkuet21226

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 09:44 PM

I did a quick fine alignment to see what would happen. Here is what I got:

HR20 100

Sat 103 (Tuner #1)
1-8 52 42 50 53 58 68 55 68
9-16 65 74 69 72 76 80 X X
17-24
25-32

Sat 99 (Tuner # 1)
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9-16 0 0 0 0 0 0 X X
17-24
25-32


Fairly decent improvement on 103. I will have to go back up later and verify level. I eyeballed it OK but you never know. If I increased my 103 signal, why would my 99 signal still not register? I am still getting "Searching for signal on Satellite In 2...(771)". It is always the same message and for the same tuner. After 30 seconds the message goes away and I get reception. Could it be that I have a bad multi switch.

#26 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 09:58 PM

Your 103 signals are still way below minimum standards. Your tuner 2 may be having more trouble locking on to those weak signals for some reason.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#27 OFFLINE   Doom878

Doom878

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2008

Posted 28 September 2008 - 09:41 PM

I have this problem as well where HD channels wouldn't show during today's storm. All channels were down but then the SD's came back while the HD's remained down. I have a PP but I first will post my stats tomorrow. New install done last week (I wasn't home for this so couldn't see the installer run the tests). I have the HR22-100 and 5LNB dish.

#28 OFFLINE   ChrisPC

ChrisPC

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2003

Posted 28 September 2008 - 10:29 PM

I have this problem as well where HD channels wouldn't show during today's storm. All channels were down but then the SD's came back while the HD's remained down. I have a PP but I first will post my stats tomorrow. New install done last week (I wasn't home for this so couldn't see the installer run the tests). I have the HR22-100 and 5LNB dish.


The HD will always go out first, since the 103 and 99 signals are Ka-band, and more sensitive to rain fade. However, if the HD channels do not come back up fairly soon after the SD channels, it sounds like your 103 and 99 signals are low. Post them as soon as you can. If they are too low, sounds like you need to call D* back.

#29 OFFLINE   Doom878

Doom878

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2008

Posted 30 September 2008 - 06:08 AM

Okay I took some readings last night. Not the prettiest night but no rain at that time. My mother-in-law babysits during the day and she watches SD channels on the HR22 and she said it was out probably because of rain.

99c tuner 1
1-8 83 82 82 86 79 81 82 89
9-16 82 86 85 92 89 93 the rest NA

99c tuner 2
1-8 79 81 80 85 77 81 79 89
9-16 79 86 80 91 83 92 then NA

103c tuner 1
1-8 83 79 80 76 79 73 79 74
9-16 82 74 82 76 86 78 then NA

103c tuner 2
1-8 83 77 80 75 79 73 79 73
9-16 81 73 81 76 86 77 then NA

FYI, I checked the signal on a standard receiver in my bedroom and it had high 90's. Thanks for the help.

#30 OFFLINE   ChrisPC

ChrisPC

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2003

Posted 30 September 2008 - 08:31 AM

Okay I took some readings last night. Not the prettiest night but no rain at that time. My mother-in-law babysits during the day and she watches SD channels on the HR22 and she said it was out probably because of rain.

99c tuner 1
1-8 83 82 82 86 79 81 82 89
9-16 82 86 85 92 89 93 the rest NA

99c tuner 2
1-8 79 81 80 85 77 81 79 89
9-16 79 86 80 91 83 92 then NA

103c tuner 1
1-8 83 79 80 76 79 73 79 74
9-16 82 74 82 76 86 78 then NA

103c tuner 2
1-8 83 77 80 75 79 73 79 73
9-16 81 73 81 76 86 77 then NA

FYI, I checked the signal on a standard receiver in my bedroom and it had high 90's. Thanks for the help.



Your signal isn't too bad, but it could be a bit higher.

#31 OFFLINE   Doom878

Doom878

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2008

Posted 30 September 2008 - 08:46 AM

I'll monitor it and if the outages keep occurring I will call them.

#32 OFFLINE   HD Man

HD Man

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2006

Posted 01 October 2008 - 08:29 AM

I'm having the same problem with my H20, it started about three weeks ago. I get "Searching for Signal" on several SD channels, including 550 IFC. If I do a system reset or unplug the unit and reboot, my reception on the problem channels is OK until I change channels and try to go back, then I get the "Searching for Signal" prompt again.


I'm having the exact same issue with my HD receiver (HR20-100). I can watch ESPN on 73 and HBO on 70 without any problems. But when I tune into some HD channels, I get the dreaded "searching for satellite" message. But if you wait about 20-30 sec, the signal pops on. It's now happening on my HD local channels. CNN HD pops right up though.

Had a DTV repair person out last Sat, who looked at the dish, checked alignment, and said I needed a new box. Well, I wanted a chance to clear some stuff off the DVR before he replaced the unit, so they're coming back this Sat. I didn't think it was a box issue, but they want to replace the box. The new HD DVR box is a gloss black which I like, but I have a rooftop antenna we use for off-air HD signals and this new box does not have an antenna connection. Does DTV make any kind of adapter that will allow for the use of OTA signals, and if so will this adapter incorporate the channels into the guide like it previously did? It really helps during storms and rain fade.

Thanks for any assistance/guidance.

#33 OFFLINE   jkuet21226

jkuet21226

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2007

Posted 08 November 2008 - 12:16 AM

DTV was out last Sunday. Turned out to be the multiswitch. When the last guy installed the slimline dish, they kept my old multiswitch. Apparently that multiswitch (don't know which one of hand) is not rated at the proper megahertz. Once that was replaced...no more searching for signal.

#34 OFFLINE   batrad

batrad

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2003

Posted 11 November 2008 - 02:55 PM

I have the same issue on both my HR21's. D* stopped by and replaced one of the receivers and the LNB's.

Other receiver gives a 771 once in a while, but if I do a channel up/down/up to tune back to the channel the searching for satellite message goes away and I can watch that

So far so good...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...