Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What would you do (Self-Install Question)


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 12:08 AM

Hey everyone-

I have a long convoluted story/question here, so please bear with me......

I moved across town in Columbia MO a couple of weeks ago, and was going to re-install the dish myself (I have done a couple of oval/72.5 installations in the past), but after looking at the slimline dish I have now, I decided that might not be the best thing to try out myself, so I called DirecTV Movers Connection to see if they could install the dish for me. I was informed at that time that the soonest install date would be September 30, but, that since we are moving away from the 72.5 dish in the next month or so to make room for HD locals, they would (for free) be upgrading my two SD DVRs to HD-DVRs, and my two old SD receivers to HD receivers that would accommodate the new local HD channels. Suffice to say, I decided I could deal with the September 30 date :D

I checked my order online a couple of days later, and noticed my order said "Plus DVR" instead of HD-DVRs, and to make sure I was getting the right equipment I called and asked them if the first guy keyed in my order right. I was then informed that new receivers were on order, but that these receivers would NOT be HD-DVRs or HD receivers, they would just be new versions of their SD counterparts I currently had, that these weren't necessary for the new channels, and that there was no way that person could've told me what he told me. Suffice to say, I was really upset with the lady, who wasn't all that nice, but told her if that was the truth that it was fine, but that I didn't want the new receivers, I would stick with what I had since apparently the new ones weren't needed. I also told the lady that since I was so upset, I wanted a supervisor to call me back (didn't want to talk to them while I was so mad), and I was told one would call within 24 hours).

When that (of course) didn't happen, I called a third person, who, after explaining my story to, checked my account. Turns out the second lady I spoke with didn't even look at my account closely, because all of the correct equipment was on there in the first place, the two HD-DVRs and the two upgraded HD receivers.......no big deal I said, but is there any chance I could get a sooner install date? I had been without satellite for 3 weeks and wanted to get it installed as soon as possible. Well, apparently although the lady didn't cancel (or check on) my equipment, she did apparently cancel my appointment, and now the soonest install date is October 11. AHHHH!

So I guess here is my real question, and I apologize for ranting for so long. I have the old slimline dish from my old house, I just didn't want to mess with installing it if I didn't have to. I would like to, at this point, just try to install everything myself if I can, but I have a couple of problems. I rent, and so I can't drill into the house, so I am going to have to do a pole mount. I can't find a 2" OD pole, which is what I have gathered I need to do a pole mount for the slimline dish, so I was going to set a 4x6 wooden post in the ground. i know, it's not the best mount, but I think it would work for a year or so, and I have no idea how long I'll be living at this place. However, if I do that, am I just wasting my money, because if for some reason I have issues with the install, will a DirecTV installer use my wooden post for an install, or if it does work, will they activate my receivers with such a strange setup? I would like to save a bit of money since I have gathered that a pole mount isn't covered under DirecTV's install services, and the wooden post would be much cheaper than a metal pipe (I think).


I guess I just would like some feedback on whether I should just suck it up as far as waiting....i would love to have DirecTV just send me all the equipment and i could install it all myself, but I don't think they do that.....any and all suggestions are helpful.

Thanks so much!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Terry Kennedy

Terry Kennedy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2008

Posted 22 September 2008 - 01:42 AM

Hey everyone-
I can't find a 2" OD pole, which is what I have gathered I need to do a pole mount for the slimline dish, so I was going to set a 4x6 wooden post in the ground. i know, it's not the best mount, but I think it would work for a year or so, and I have no idea how long I'll be living at this place. However, if I do that, am I just wasting my money, because if for some reason I have issues with the install, will a DirecTV installer use my wooden post for an install, or if it does work, will they activate my receivers with such a strange setup? I would like to save a bit of money since I have gathered that a pole mount isn't covered under DirecTV's install services, and the wooden post would be much cheaper than a metal pipe (I think).

You can get a piece of 2" EMT (electrical conduit) 10' long at a home center or electrical supply house. Depending on your soil, you could either set it in a concrete footing or just hammer it into the ground (use a coupling on the top end so you don't deform the conduit end). The important thing is that it be perfectly level.

The 5LNB dish should just slide onto that, just like if it was installed on the mast that comes with the dish.

#3 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 04:33 AM

Muffler shop!
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#4 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 09:43 AM

You can get a piece of 2" EMT (electrical conduit) 10' long at a home center or electrical supply house. Depending on your soil, you could either set it in a concrete footing or just hammer it into the ground (use a coupling on the top end so you don't deform the conduit end). The important thing is that it be perfectly level.

The 5LNB dish should just slide onto that, just like if it was installed on the mast that comes with the dish.


I just checked on home depot's website, and it says the 2" EMT is $22.30 per foot! I was hoping to come up with a solution that was a bit cheaper......

#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 10:18 AM

2" EMT probably wouldn't work anyway, as you need 2" OD, not 2" ID. A muffler shop will have 2" OD pipe, and it will probably cost $20 for a 10' length.

#6 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 10:33 AM

2" EMT probably wouldn't work anyway, as you need 2" OD, not 2" ID. A muffler shop will have 2" OD pipe, and it will probably cost $20 for a 10' length.


Muffler shop....so we're talking an automotive repair shop? Somewhere like that? Sorry for the questions, I just hadn't even contemplated going to an auto parts store for my satellite install :D

#7 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,629 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 22 September 2008 - 10:52 AM

Muffler shop....so we're talking an automotive repair shop? Somewhere like that? Sorry for the questions, I just hadn't even contemplated going to an auto parts store for my satellite install :D

Any muffler shop that does custom bending will have it.. I work at one.. Stuff costs us about 10$ for a 10' length..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#8 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 11:21 AM

Any muffler shop that does custom bending will have it.. I work at one.. Stuff costs us about 10$ for a 10' length..


Good to know...thanks for the info!

#9 OFFLINE   Noresults

Noresults

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 02:01 PM

After reading about all the problems getting a proper install from their installers it sounds like the muffler shop would do a better job at the whole installation.

LOL

#10 OFFLINE   Terry Kennedy

Terry Kennedy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2008

Posted 22 September 2008 - 03:50 PM

I just checked on home depot's website, and it says the 2" EMT is $22.30 per foot! I was hoping to come up with a solution that was a bit cheaper......

That has got to be a typo. It isn't sold by the foot.

2" EMT probably wouldn't work anyway, as you need 2" OD, not 2" ID.

EMT is thinwall. There's enough play in the dish clamp that it should work fine. That's why I specified EMT - stuff like aluminum or IMC definitely wouldn't work.

#11 OFFLINE   Matman

Matman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 238 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2008

Posted 22 September 2008 - 03:52 PM

+1 on the muffler shop. I have a exhaust pipe being used to extend the height of my mounting arm. Its galvenished and fits perfect, and if you really want it to match, some gray rustoleum is a good color match to the D* color. Couple of self taping screws and its solid as a rock. Survived last weeks 50+ gusts left over from the various hurricanes with no drop in signals at all!!
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.
~Leonardo da Vinci

#12 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 22 September 2008 - 05:53 PM

Well, I called the local muffler place, and, just like everyone said, they had what (I think) I needed....got out of there with an 8-foot piece for $20.....could not have been easier. The guy behind the counter said I'd be surprised what people use the stuff for; all I know is it was a lot cheaper than any alternative I'd seen out there! I am probably going to attempt the install in the next couple of days; I'll let everyone know how it turns out. Thanks so much to everyone who made suggestions!

#13 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 06:25 PM

So I tried to set the post today in concrete, got the hole dug and the post set, and wouldn't you know I forgot the stinking bolt to keep the pole from sliding, so of course the first thing it did was turn.....so i get to do that again. however, while I had the pole set up and what I think was plumb, I decided to try to aim the dish to see if i could get all of the satellites......I had the dish pre-set from the last install at my house across town (tilt, etc.), and so I pretty much just threw it up on the pole and adjusted the azimuth....I was able to get 95% on the 110 satellite, but nothing on anything else.....Is this something that I am going to need to do the fine tune adjustments with, or am I likely missing something else? Any info, suggestions, are appreciated.

#14 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,629 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 23 September 2008 - 06:31 PM

So I tried to set the post today in concrete, got the hole dug and the post set, and wouldn't you know I forgot the stinking bolt to keep the pole from sliding, so of course the first thing it did was turn.....so i get to do that again. however, while I had the pole set up and what I think was plumb, I decided to try to aim the dish to see if i could get all of the satellites......I had the dish pre-set from the last install at my house across town (tilt, etc.), and so I pretty much just threw it up on the pole and adjusted the azimuth....I was able to get 95% on the 110 satellite, but nothing on anything else.....Is this something that I am going to need to do the fine tune adjustments with, or am I likely missing something else? Any info, suggestions, are appreciated.

typicaly when you get readings like that, you are aimed at the wrong sat..try left or right..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#15 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:33 PM

For pole mounts I usually unbolt the mounting foot off of the mast, and self tap it to the bottom of the 2" pole and then pour in the concrete to keep it from turning. It provides a big bulky base.

#16 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 08:32 PM

I will try both of those suggestions.....thanks!


Almost forgot, I did have a question....do the measurements listed on the receiver assume a certain height for the dish? My previous dish was mounted on my deck about 4 feet off the ground, but when I mounted the dish today it was about 6 feet off the ground. Would that make any difference?

#17 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,658 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 September 2008 - 09:05 PM

That should not make any difference.




spam firewall