Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HDX1000 Antenna & Diplexors


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Starchy77

Starchy77

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:55 PM

Hi All,
I am a DirecTV user and just recently got my OTA Antenna and was excited to get it hooked up this weekend but I think I may have run into a problem. I got the Antennacraft HDX1000 as I read good reviews on it, it will get all the channels that I am looking for, and it is small so my wife wont b***h about it. Anyway, I planned on diplexing it with my DTV receiver line, but it has what they are calling a "Power Injector" that says to install it between the TV and the antenna with no splitters,etc. in between. Does anyone have any experience diplexing this antenna? Will it work without the power injector, or will the power injector work through the diplexors? My DTV setup is excellent right now, so I dont want to mess that up! And I really dont want to run another cable.... maybe I just need to find a different antenna? Any suggestions would be appreciated! Here is a link to the antenna on the manufacturers website and here is a link to the product manual if anyone wants to take a look!
Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   oljim

oljim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 482 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2002

Posted 24 September 2008 - 06:08 AM

I would look for something without an amp, this antenna has very little gain. I would look at something like the CM4220 ant 1/2 the $
Diplexers will reduce your signal, run a cable just for antenna.
This finger was not made to press 1 for english

#3 OFFLINE   Starchy77

Starchy77

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 24 September 2008 - 06:18 AM

I would look for something without an amp, this antenna has very little gain. I would look at something like the CM4220 ant 1/2 the $
Diplexers will reduce your signal, run a cable just for antenna.


Thanks for the reply! I really want to use the diplexers instead of running another cable. I have enough holes through the house already, and it would just be another reason for the wife to complain about me getting it. In fact, if I wasn't going to use the diplexers then the power would not be an issue anyway.
Does anyone know how this antenna will perform without power?

#4 OFFLINE   oljim

oljim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 482 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2002

Posted 24 September 2008 - 06:44 AM

Without power it will work no better than a paper clip, the unpowered amp will kill your signal
This finger was not made to press 1 for english

#5 OFFLINE   krock918316

krock918316

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,498 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 24 September 2008 - 06:53 AM

What kind of DirecTV equipment do you have? (My main question is are you HD?)

#6 OFFLINE   Starchy77

Starchy77

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 24 September 2008 - 07:17 AM

What kind of DirecTV equipment do you have? (My main question is are you HD?)


Yes - I am running an older HDVR2, an HR22-100, an HR21-100, and a second HR21-100 w/an AM21. I have the AM21 just sitting on my HR21 right now waiting for the OTA!

#7 OFFLINE   Starchy77

Starchy77

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 24 September 2008 - 07:19 AM

Without power it will work no better than a paper clip, the unpowered amp will kill your signal


This doesn't sound good..... and I am guessing I cannot run that power through the diplexers? It is not a weather resistant part, so there is no way to set up the power outside.

#8 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 24 September 2008 - 08:19 AM

This doesn't sound good..... and I am guessing I cannot run that power through the diplexers? It is not a weather resistant part, so there is no way to set up the power outside.

Almost all diplexers are designed to block voltage on the antenna side of the diplexer.

Your D* hd signal uses the same frequencies as the UHF TV signals that is why you have B band converters.
RUN A SEPARATE TV ANTENNA CABLE.
:) :) :)

#9 OFFLINE   Starchy77

Starchy77

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 303 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 24 September 2008 - 08:45 AM

Almost all diplexers are designed to block voltage on the antenna side of the diplexer.

Your D* hd signal uses the same frequencies as the UHF TV signals that is why you have B band converters.
RUN A SEPARATE TV ANTENNA CABLE.
:) :) :)


OK..... Maybe I will try the antenna in the attic then instead of on the roof so I can conceal all of the cables from the wife. I know I wont get as good of reception, but it will be a much easier job.

Thanks for all the input!




spam firewall