Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Toshiba is offering another firmware update for HD DVD players


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 12:39 AM

Firmware version 4.0 should be available at the following link from Toshiba.

http://www.tacp.tosh...y&value=9&id=71

Apparently the update is available for all model numbers of Toshiba's HD DVD players.
I have not attempted to download this update yet,so I can't confirm whether the link works or not.

Steve


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,661 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 12:22 PM

Thanks for the heads-up! I have my Toshiba connected, but haven't used it in a long time, so I'm glad there's someone out there to tell me updates are available! :P

#3 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 02:18 PM

Thanks for the heads-up! I have my Toshiba connected, but haven't used it in a long time, so I'm glad there's someone out there to tell me updates are available! :P


You're welcome Drew. :)

Steve


#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:42 PM

My TosHDDVR HD-D2 don't want reflash to the v4, keep telling my 3.0/T23 is a current. :(

#5 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 04:32 PM

My TosHDDVR HD-D2 don't want reflash to the v4, keep telling my 3.0/T23 is a current. :(


Sorry to hear that P Smith.I still haven't gotten around to trying to update our HD-A3 yet.I will get around to that sometime over the weekend.
But,within the link provided in my OP,at the bottom right corner of that page are links to other pages for firmware updates.
I don't know if any of the other pages contain updates to 4.0,but it may be worth a try to check the other pages out on Toshiba's site.

Steve


#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 September 2008 - 04:46 PM

I should recheck the box - I see at Toshiba web site the 3.0 is a current for HD-D1, perhaps my HD-D2 box begin thinking it is -D1.
Or I should get v.4 ISO for burning - strange I can't find a spot of 'click here' for DL the ISO. :(

Actually, is someone GET it ?

#7 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 05:11 PM

I went ahead and tried to update firmware to 4.0 on our HD-A3 with no success.
Perhaps Toshiba has suspended the update currently for some reason? :confused:

Steve


#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 September 2008 - 05:13 PM

Now I feel that missed links to ISO shows prematurity of the Tosh announce.

#9 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,425 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:05 AM

I went ahead and tried to update firmware to 4.0 on our HD-A3 with no success.
Perhaps Toshiba has suspended the update currently for some reason? :confused:


I tried the update on my HD-A3, and got the "already updated" massage, stating that the update process will end, and there it sits. The display on the player indicates "Verupd". Makes me afraid to shut it down. :( :confused:

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Sony KDFE-55A20 55" LCD RPTV; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVoRoamio Plus, LG BH200 HD DVD/Blu-ray player via HDMI to AVR
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#10 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:22 AM

I tried the update on my HD-A3, and got the "already updated" massage, stating that the update process will end, and there it sits. The display on the player indicates "Verupd". Makes me afraid to shut it down. :( :confused:


I ended up with the same result on our HD-A3 yesterday evening.I went ahead and shut it down.
I just powered it up again after seeing your reply on here,to make sure it was working,and it is.
You should be okay to shut it down Cholly.

Steve


#11 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:07 PM

There is no option to download on the Toshiba site, as with the older firmware revisions.

#12 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:22 PM

There is no option to download on the Toshiba site, as with the older firmware revisions.


The Toshiba site was offering a link to update to 4.0 on Friday.Perhaps they "jumped the gun" in regards to this update.
In regards to us,we have always hardwired the HD-A3 to our DSL modem and let it do its thing for any firmware updates.That has worked well for us,up to this point.
But,it appears to me that 4.0 was "not ready for prime time" and Toshiba pulled the plug on it for the time being.

Steve


#13 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,461 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:43 PM

Tryed my A30 and got the message that it has laties 3.0 would not update to 4.0

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HD-A30 w/ Harmony 880
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-200

HR24-100

H25-100

Marantz NR1603 A/V 7.1

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#14 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:59 PM

Tryed my A30 and got the message that it has laties 3.0 would not update to 4.0


That was the same message I got when I tried to update to 4.0 on Friday.
It seems like Toshiba is now holding this back for some reason. :confused:

Steve


#15 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 30 September 2008 - 12:38 PM

Toshiba is now pushing the update to their players.
I am currently downloading it on our HD-A3.

Steve


#16 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,829 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 September 2008 - 12:44 PM

Yeah, I'm thinking I'm going to sell my HD-DVD player and I don't want to risk fouling it up at this point.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#17 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 30 September 2008 - 01:17 PM

Yeah, I'm thinking I'm going to sell my HD-DVD player and I don't want to risk fouling it up at this point.


The download/update went by without a hitch here Stuart.It was a good sized update.
It took approx. 20 minutes for the entire process to complete.
I'm checking "Smokey And The Bandit" out on it now.It is playing the disc just fine as of now. :)

Steve


#18 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,614 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 15 October 2008 - 04:24 PM

Yeah, I'm thinking I'm going to sell my HD-DVD player and I don't want to risk fouling it up at this point.

Blasphemy. :lol:

I am keeping my HD DVD unit until it croaks some year as a cousin to the Blu Ray unit also in my Home Theater equipment rack..

Besides...the HD DVR player does a better job of upconverting my standard DVDs. :D

As long as they keep feeding updates, I'll keep getting them... :)
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#19 OFFLINE   HIPAR

HIPAR

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: May 14, 2005

Posted 16 October 2008 - 08:29 AM

If it ain't broke, fix it till it is. Then can Toshiba :nono2: fix it?

--- CHAS
But I don't want to go among mad people

#20 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,176 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 16 October 2008 - 08:46 AM

Yeah, my HD-DVD player isn't going anywhere. It works and is actually saving me money. I laugh when HD-DVD titles are released on blu-ray. Many of my HD-DVD titles were purchased at "fire sales" for $10 or less. The blu-ray versions are going for $20 or more.




spam firewall