Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Toshiba is offering another firmware update for HD DVD players


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 12:39 AM

Firmware version 4.0 should be available at the following link from Toshiba.

http://www.tacp.tosh...y&value=9&id=71

Apparently the update is available for all model numbers of Toshiba's HD DVD players.
I have not attempted to download this update yet,so I can't confirm whether the link works or not.

Steve


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 12:22 PM

Thanks for the heads-up! I have my Toshiba connected, but haven't used it in a long time, so I'm glad there's someone out there to tell me updates are available! :P

#3 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 02:18 PM

Thanks for the heads-up! I have my Toshiba connected, but haven't used it in a long time, so I'm glad there's someone out there to tell me updates are available! :P


You're welcome Drew. :)

Steve


#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,342 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:42 PM

My TosHDDVR HD-D2 don't want reflash to the v4, keep telling my 3.0/T23 is a current. :(

#5 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 04:32 PM

My TosHDDVR HD-D2 don't want reflash to the v4, keep telling my 3.0/T23 is a current. :(


Sorry to hear that P Smith.I still haven't gotten around to trying to update our HD-A3 yet.I will get around to that sometime over the weekend.
But,within the link provided in my OP,at the bottom right corner of that page are links to other pages for firmware updates.
I don't know if any of the other pages contain updates to 4.0,but it may be worth a try to check the other pages out on Toshiba's site.

Steve


#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,342 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 September 2008 - 04:46 PM

I should recheck the box - I see at Toshiba web site the 3.0 is a current for HD-D1, perhaps my HD-D2 box begin thinking it is -D1.
Or I should get v.4 ISO for burning - strange I can't find a spot of 'click here' for DL the ISO. :(

Actually, is someone GET it ?

#7 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 05:11 PM

I went ahead and tried to update firmware to 4.0 on our HD-A3 with no success.
Perhaps Toshiba has suspended the update currently for some reason? :confused:

Steve


#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,342 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 September 2008 - 05:13 PM

Now I feel that missed links to ISO shows prematurity of the Tosh announce.

#9 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,543 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:05 AM

I went ahead and tried to update firmware to 4.0 on our HD-A3 with no success.
Perhaps Toshiba has suspended the update currently for some reason? :confused:


I tried the update on my HD-A3, and got the "already updated" massage, stating that the update process will end, and there it sits. The display on the player indicates "Verupd". Makes me afraid to shut it down. :( :confused:

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Samsung UN60F7100 60" LED 3D TV; Samsung  BD-H5900 3D Blu-Ray DVD player; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVo Roamio Plus DVR, Toshiba HD-A3 HD DVD player.
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#10 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:22 AM

I tried the update on my HD-A3, and got the "already updated" massage, stating that the update process will end, and there it sits. The display on the player indicates "Verupd". Makes me afraid to shut it down. :( :confused:


I ended up with the same result on our HD-A3 yesterday evening.I went ahead and shut it down.
I just powered it up again after seeing your reply on here,to make sure it was working,and it is.
You should be okay to shut it down Cholly.

Steve


#11 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,680 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:07 PM

There is no option to download on the Toshiba site, as with the older firmware revisions.

#12 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:22 PM

There is no option to download on the Toshiba site, as with the older firmware revisions.


The Toshiba site was offering a link to update to 4.0 on Friday.Perhaps they "jumped the gun" in regards to this update.
In regards to us,we have always hardwired the HD-A3 to our DSL modem and let it do its thing for any firmware updates.That has worked well for us,up to this point.
But,it appears to me that 4.0 was "not ready for prime time" and Toshiba pulled the plug on it for the time being.

Steve


#13 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,478 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:43 PM

Tryed my A30 and got the message that it has laties 3.0 would not update to 4.0

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-700

HR24-100

2 H25-100

Denon AVR-X2000

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360

Xboxone

IMAC 21.5

50 meg internet speed
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#14 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:59 PM

Tryed my A30 and got the message that it has laties 3.0 would not update to 4.0


That was the same message I got when I tried to update to 4.0 on Friday.
It seems like Toshiba is now holding this back for some reason. :confused:

Steve


#15 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 30 September 2008 - 12:38 PM

Toshiba is now pushing the update to their players.
I am currently downloading it on our HD-A3.

Steve


#16 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,050 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 September 2008 - 12:44 PM

Yeah, I'm thinking I'm going to sell my HD-DVD player and I don't want to risk fouling it up at this point.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#17 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,628 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 30 September 2008 - 01:17 PM

Yeah, I'm thinking I'm going to sell my HD-DVD player and I don't want to risk fouling it up at this point.


The download/update went by without a hitch here Stuart.It was a good sized update.
It took approx. 20 minutes for the entire process to complete.
I'm checking "Smokey And The Bandit" out on it now.It is playing the disc just fine as of now. :)

Steve


#18 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 15 October 2008 - 04:24 PM

Yeah, I'm thinking I'm going to sell my HD-DVD player and I don't want to risk fouling it up at this point.

Blasphemy. :lol:

I am keeping my HD DVD unit until it croaks some year as a cousin to the Blu Ray unit also in my Home Theater equipment rack..

Besides...the HD DVR player does a better job of upconverting my standard DVDs. :D

As long as they keep feeding updates, I'll keep getting them... :)
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#19 OFFLINE   HIPAR

HIPAR

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: May 14, 2005

Posted 16 October 2008 - 08:29 AM

If it ain't broke, fix it till it is. Then can Toshiba :nono2: fix it?

--- CHAS
But I don't want to go among mad people

#20 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,225 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 16 October 2008 - 08:46 AM

Yeah, my HD-DVD player isn't going anywhere. It works and is actually saving me money. I laugh when HD-DVD titles are released on blu-ray. Many of my HD-DVD titles were purchased at "fire sales" for $10 or less. The blu-ray versions are going for $20 or more.

#21 OFFLINE   Cmnore

Cmnore

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2008

Posted 16 October 2008 - 11:23 AM

I concur! I bought a bare Toshiba HD-DVD drive for my HTPC and I love it. Talk about HD on the CHEAP!
ROOM 1:
Win7 HTPC - Athlon64 X2 4850e@2.5Gb/ ASUS M3A78-T/BDHD-DVD/ATI HD4670 - 1080p HDMI
HR22-100/AM-21
Sony KDS-60A2000 SXRD LCOS TV
Sony STR-DA5ES/Sony DVP-NS3100ES SACD/DVD

ROOM 2:
XPx64 HTPC - Athlon64 X2 5400+@ 3.2 Gb/ Biostar 790GX A2+/ATI HD4670 - 1080p HDMI
HR21-700/AM-21
Toshiba 42 inch LCD TV

BONUS ROOM:
R22/AM-21
Sony 27" CRT TV
GARAGE:
R22 SD-DVR
Sony 20" CRT TV

SHARED:
SWM-8/slimline DTV dish
Actiontec ADSL wired gateway
Linksys EG005 gigabit switch/OGV200

#22 OFFLINE   ccr1958

ccr1958

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,043 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2007

Posted 15 November 2008 - 03:31 PM

i happened upon this update by accident as i was upconverting
a regular DVD using the A20 & went to the menu out of curiosity
& was very surprised there was an update....

#23 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 15 November 2008 - 04:20 PM

I got my update disk in the mail Monday this past week....
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#24 OFFLINE   ibglowin

ibglowin

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,424 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2002

Posted 16 November 2008 - 05:39 PM

I just picked up a couple this week from Amazon. Got Serenity and the Mummy for only $8.99 each shipped! The Mummy is around $20 bucks on BD and Serenity has still not been released on BD. Alas thats just about it for my HD-DVD collection. I am hoping that these become a collector item of sorts down the road!

Yeah, my HD-DVD player isn't going anywhere. It works and is actually saving me money. I laugh when HD-DVD titles are released on blu-ray. Many of my HD-DVD titles were purchased at "fire sales" for $10 or less. The blu-ray versions are going for $20 or more.


Mike

"I always wanted to be a scientist, and now I are one."

#25 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 20 November 2008 - 03:32 PM

Yeah, my HD-DVD player isn't going anywhere. It works and is actually saving me money. I laugh when HD-DVD titles are released on blu-ray. Many of my HD-DVD titles were purchased at "fire sales" for $10 or less. The blu-ray versions are going for $20 or more.

That's pretty much the same approach I've taken.

...and a good reason to keep the firmware current on both machines.

On the new titles, obviously, I go Blue.

Now I have a nice library of both, and lots and lots of great HD movies to watch (and yes, I watch them more than once, unlike my spouse).
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996




Protected By... spam firewall...And...