Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish disabled S-video & Composite ports???


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   golazo

golazo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2005

Posted 27 September 2008 - 08:20 PM

Last week I was able to record content off the S-video and today, I noticed I could no longer see video.

There is nothing wrong with my 811, and the video still shows the menu guide, channel info and description, but there is no video content in the little window
while browsing the guide. The DVI port is still showing video content, but I'm
pretty sure Dish disable the video content off S-video & Composite ports.

I thought it was just the S-Video port, but also the Composite video is showing
the same behavior; no video content, just channel info and description data.

Did the recent Dish s/w upgrade disable the S-video and Composite video ports?
Way to treat your loyal customers *******s! Direct TV is looking better and better
by the day!!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   DNSFSS

DNSFSS

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 27 September 2008 - 08:50 PM

The "only thing" wrong with your 811 is that it's not going to work very much longer if at all...do your upgrade to a 211 and be done with it.


Last week I was able to record content off the S-video and today, I noticed I could no longer see video.

There is nothing wrong with my 811, and the video still shows the menu guide, channel info and description, but there is no video content in the little window
while browsing the guide. The DVI port is still showing video content, but I'm
pretty sure Dish disable the video content off S-video & Composite ports.

I thought it was just the S-Video port, but also the Composite video is showing
the same behavior; no video content, just channel info and description data.

Did the recent Dish s/w upgrade disable the S-video and Composite video ports?
Way to treat your loyal customers *******s! Direct TV is looking better and better
by the day!!!


Please note that none of my opinions here are necessarily the opinion of my employer (DISH Network) or of Echostar Holdings Corporation (EHC). For these opinions, please visit DishNetwork.com or Echostar.com.

#3 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 09:55 PM

Last week I was able to record content off the S-video and today, I noticed I could no longer see video.

There is nothing wrong with my 811, and the video still shows the menu guide, channel info and description, but there is no video content in the little window
while browsing the guide. The DVI port is still showing video content, but I'm
pretty sure Dish disable the video content off S-video & Composite ports.

I thought it was just the S-Video port, but also the Composite video is showing
the same behavior; no video content, just channel info and description data.

Did the recent Dish s/w upgrade disable the S-video and Composite video ports?
Way to treat your loyal customers *******s! Direct TV is looking better and better
by the day!!!


In short, no they did not disable it. Try doing a front panel reset (push and hold power for 10 seconds on the front of the receiver itself). If that doesn't work, try a hard reset (unplug the receiver from power). If still no, there's something wrong with the receiver. Call and do the upgrade even if you do fix it, that box will stop working in the relatively near future.

#4 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,897 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 01 June 2009 - 03:22 PM

There could also be a problem with your S-video cable, or the device the 811 is connected to (VCR I presume). I have an S-VHS recorder that is connected to my 611. If the power goes out on the VCR I have to reset the input to S-Video (the default is composite/RCA).

Maybe that is what is causing you to not see a picture.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




spam firewall