Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish New FCC Filings on Ciel-2 Satellite


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   rocatman

rocatman

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 815 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 09:10 AM

I used the -10dB gain from the "beam" information. That corresponds to the green "dots" on my previous map, which looks like it covers slightly more.


I always interpreted the signal strength maps with -10 dB as being the point at which one should be able to get a reasonable signal with Dish's standard dish i.e., a D500 or D1000. Outside the -10 dB area, a larger dish would probably be needed. In the case of Ciel-2 at 129 W, one may want a separate D500 dish pointed at 129 W outside of the -10dB area. Based on the downlink maps that have been posted for Ciel-2, I don't see the need for a bigger/separate dish for much of the area in the Western Arc.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,334 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 11:24 AM

I went with -6 and -10 because of the way many spots using the same transponder frequency overlap on E10 ... I wanted to show the "stronger signal" areas. I agree that -10 is "good" on the maps and is likely what is filed as the "service area".

#23 OFFLINE   redsalmon

redsalmon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 02 October 2008 - 12:19 PM

James, Does you map show no national coverage for AK and HI, just spot beams? Thanks for your info.

#24 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,334 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 12:31 PM

ConUS should include AK/HI ... my mapper isn't cooperating. :(

#25 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,832 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 02 October 2008 - 01:23 PM

AK and HI are NOT usually considered as part of CONUS - just the lower 48. Usually you have to mention them explicitly.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#26 OFFLINE   HDRoberts

HDRoberts

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 306 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 02 October 2008 - 01:36 PM

It does not appear to me that AK or HI will see CONUS coverage from Ciel-2. Just 5 spot TPs each. I could be wrong.

#27 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,503 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 02 October 2008 - 05:27 PM

Alaska and Hawaii are definitely not in the CONtinental US.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#28 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,423 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 05:38 PM

Nationwide SD coverage to AK and HI is supposed to come from E11.

Makes one wonder what the plan is for expanded national HD programming to the third world countries of AK and HI.

#29 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,503 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 02 October 2008 - 05:58 PM

I'm sure most of the people in AK and HI did not choose to live there for the great satellite fare.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#30 OFFLINE   HDRoberts

HDRoberts

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 306 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 02 October 2008 - 07:23 PM

Nationwide SD coverage to AK and HI is supposed to come from E11.

Makes one wonder what the plan is for expanded national HD programming to the third world countries of AK and HI.


Perhaps this is why E1 at 148 is being cleared of locals. More space for for AK an HI.

#31 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,334 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 09:06 PM

Alaska and Hawaii are definitely not in the CONtinental US.

What continent is Alaska on? :D
(Contiguous US would be a better phrase for what "ConUS" normally covers.)

Checking the files while watching TV ...
The "ConUS" beam on Ciel2 does not cover Alaska/Hawaii ... the "Canada" beam covers a major portion of Alaska.

I've attached my latest work. The PDF includes images sorted by transponder (all spots on each transponder).
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1223003069

Attached Thumbnails

  • conus.gif
  • all.gif

Attached Files



#32 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,832 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 02 October 2008 - 09:33 PM

Holy spotbeams , Batman !!
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#33 OFFLINE   redsalmon

redsalmon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2008 - 11:23 AM

[quote name='James Long']What continent is Alaska on? :D
(Contiguous US would be a better phrase for what "ConUS" normally covers.)

Checking the files while watching TV ...
The "ConUS" beam on Ciel2 does not cover Alaska/Hawaii ... the "Canada" beam covers a major portion of Alaska.


I agree that contiguous would better describe what we call the lower 48, since Ak is on the same continent.

Too bad that the ConUs beam won't take in AK. Looks like we'll just get an enhanced HD package from the spot beams.

#34 OFFLINE   redsalmon

redsalmon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2008 - 05:09 PM

Nationwide SD coverage to AK and HI is supposed to come from E11.




Makes one wonder what the plan is for expanded national HD programming to the third world countries of AK and HI.



Alaska gets it's SD coverage from 119 and 110. HD is from 110 in MPEG2 and 4, with MPEG 4 being spotbeams.

Yes we do wonder what plans they have for us in the third world. They won't even turn on SCI-FI and USA HD for us and the signal levels from E-11 are just booming. Anyone with an dish pointed at 110 should be getting signal levels close to that of a spot beam. It's hard to believe that anyone at Dish really gives a D** about us as long as they collect our $$$$ every month.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...