Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Antenna with VHF and UHF


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Dan9

Dan9

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 320 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2005

Posted 29 September 2008 - 12:38 PM

I have an RCA 55 dB amp indoor antenna, and I was wondering if it's better to have the amp turned all the way up on both VHF and UHF, or just one of the two? Thank you very much for your help, and have a great day, bye.:confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,960 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 September 2008 - 12:50 PM

How you set the gain depends on a number of factors that you haven't shared with us. Among the factors:

1. How far away are the stations
2. Whether the broadcast towers are all in one place or scattered.
3. How many adjacent channels are there in other markets that might interfere.

Go to http://www.tvfool.com and put in your location information and you should be able to help us help you.

#3 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 29 September 2008 - 01:00 PM

I have an RCA 55 dB amp indoor antenna, and I was wondering if it's better to have the amp turned all the way up on both VHF and UHF, or just one of the two? Thank you very much for your help, and have a great day, bye.:confused:

An amp can only amplify what it receives, and can never make up for a poor antenna, and/or mounting location.

If you have the amp turned all the way up, you are also amplifying a lot of noise which can make it more difficult for your TVs tuner to lock onto and decode the datastream.

Get the best signal with the amp either off, or the lowest setting first, then increase it just enough to give you a stable signal. Don't go by "signal strength" alone.

I too, recommend going to tvfool.com, and see if you'll need a better antenna either outside or in your attic.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#4 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,706 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 29 September 2008 - 01:50 PM

I have an RCA 55 dB amp indoor antenna, and I was wondering if it's better to have the amp turned all the way up on both VHF and UHF, or just one of the two? Thank you very much for your help, and have a great day, bye.:confused:


It all depends on your specific situation regarding each channel's signal strength at your location, type of antenna, signal directions, etc. Only you can tell what works best in your location.
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#5 OFFLINE   Dan9

Dan9

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 320 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2005

Posted 29 September 2008 - 02:26 PM

How you set the gain depends on a number of factors that you haven't shared with us. Among the factors:

1. How far away are the stations
2. Whether the broadcast towers are all in one place or scattered.
3. How many adjacent channels are there in other markets that might interfere.

Go to http://www.tvfool.com and put in your location information and you should be able to help us help you.


I was mainly just wanting to know how I could get the Memphis locals better, cause at the moment, I only get CBS, ABC and the CW out of Memphis in HD. I'm about 65 miles from Memphis. I live in Jonesboro and can't even get KAIT DT on it and the transmitter is only about 15 miles away.

According to tvfool.com most of the stations I'm looking to get are LOS, and some other ones are 2edge for the Path.

#6 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,772 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 29 September 2008 - 03:03 PM

2Edge means there are hills or alot of distance (or both) between you and the towers. I would definately suggest looking into an appropriate OUTDOOR antenna (maybe on a rotor) , and then add a preamp if necessary. Get that outdoor antenna up as high as you can (10-12 feet above roofline generally).
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html




Protected By... spam firewall...And...