Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

USB Hard Drive on VIP722


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   johnasmith

johnasmith

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2008

Posted 29 September 2008 - 02:45 PM

I called Dish this morning and paid $40 for them to activate my VIP722 USB port. I was told to wait 15 minites but I waited an hour before rebooting the 722. I then plugged in a 160 gig WD Passport. I left it for 3 hours listening to it going "click click" thinking it was being formatted. Realizing that was long enough I plugged it into my PC but it was still readable under Windows. In the 722 menu under Multimedia the USB box says "no USB device detected". Do I need to delete the existing format before plugging in the drive?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 29 September 2008 - 03:15 PM

John,

Is the WD passport powered from the USB port? If so, you can't use it that way. ALL external drives must have their own power supply.

Once you get the correct drive (or a power supply for the one you have) all you need to do is plug the drive in and you will be asked if you want to format it. It only takes a few minutes and then you will be able to use it.
Bill R

#3 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,316 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 29 September 2008 - 04:23 PM

The Passport is a USB port powered drive. Won't work without a power supply.

#4 OFFLINE   johnasmith

johnasmith

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2008

Posted 03 October 2008 - 12:40 PM

Quite right. I plugged it into a powered hub and it took off. However, I think the hub is slowing the data transfer since playback quality stinks. Looks like I will have to get a different drive. Thanks for the help.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,723 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 October 2008 - 12:44 PM

Quite right. I plugged it into a powered hub and it took off. However, I think the hub is slowing the data transfer since playback quality stinks. Looks like I will have to get a different drive. Thanks for the help.

Wheree is you get this ?

If you have one host and one device, what would be a factor to slow down your only one connection ?




spam firewall