Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Are Dish 6.3 remotes both IR and UHF?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mantry

mantry

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 02:33 PM

We just upgraded our receivers at home and now have:

722 in Single Mode (Came with 2 remotes one Blue one Green)
625 in Dual Mode (Came with 2 remotes one Blue one Green)

I have not pulled any of the colored keys or moved any switches...yet :-)

On the 722, we only need 1 remote and would like it to be UHF and it stays in the room with the 722, which is installed in an enclosed cabinet.

Does this mean that we could use the other 3 remotes as UHF remotes for the TV2 on the 625?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   wreck

wreck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 02 October 2008 - 02:55 PM

We just upgraded our receivers at home and now have:

722 in Single Mode (Came with 2 remotes one Blue one Green)
625 in Dual Mode (Came with 2 remotes one Blue one Green)

I have not pulled any of the colored keys or moved any switches...yet :-)

On the 722, we only need 1 remote and would like it to be UHF and it stays in the room with the 722, which is installed in an enclosed cabinet.

Does this mean that we could use the other 3 remotes as UHF remotes for the TV2 on the 625?


Off the top of my head, yes - the 6.3 remotes are IR/UHF. It will actually say so on the back of each remote. You will have change the color keys and reprogram to match your receiver and TV.

#3 OFFLINE   mantry

mantry

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 03:03 PM

It was a whirl wind install and I have not sorted through all the boxes and such, but do the receives come with any extra keys? I'm guessing I need 2 more UHF TV2 keys to replace the IR TV1 ones?

I'll also check with our installer who wants to try to be our customer support, not sure why, to see if he has any also.

#4 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 03:22 PM

It may have changed but my 625 came with 1 Green IR only remote and 1 Blue#2 UHF remote. The #2 remote has a removable key that could be flipped over to be a green #1 but there were no extra keys. You can buy extra remotes from DISH if you need more but they are cheaper on Epay.

#5 OFFLINE   wreck

wreck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 02 October 2008 - 03:31 PM

I bought an extra 6.3 IR/UHF remote from Dish ($25) -- it came with a bag of extra keys - assorted. For UHF you need a green key with black lettering for TV1 and a blue key with black lettering for TV2. Mine was for ViP222. The DVR receivers may be a different color -- black, maybe?

#6 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 02 October 2008 - 04:16 PM

We just upgraded our receivers at home and now have:

722 in Single Mode (Came with 2 remotes one Blue one Green)
625 in Dual Mode (Came with 2 remotes one Blue one Green)

I have not pulled any of the colored keys or moved any switches...yet :-)

On the 722, we only need 1 remote and would like it to be UHF and it stays in the room with the 722, which is installed in an enclosed cabinet.

Does this mean that we could use the other 3 remotes as UHF remotes for the TV2 on the 625?


Unless something unusual happened, only 2 of your 4 remotes have RF capabilities.

Normally, you get a 5.3 or 6.0 IR-only remote for TV1, and a 6.3 UHF/IR remote for TV2.

On your 722, if you put it in Single Mode (which you'll want to do if you're only using it on one TV), the TV2 remote will work in UHF mode as if it were in TV1 mode, so you're all set there.

But that leaves you with 2 IR-only TV1 remotes, and one TV2 UHF remote, for the 625.

You'd need to buy another UHF remote if you wanted one for TV1 on the 625.

#7 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 671 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 02 October 2008 - 04:25 PM

If in fact they are 6.3 remotes, then there should of been a bag of 'keys'. If its just a 6.0 remote, it will not. Those only have 1 key and you can flip it over to use it either as TV1 IR or TV2 UHF (such as the ones that come w/ the 625 & 522). One thing to note about the 6.0 is that its ONLY a UHF Pro remote. Meaning the UHF will only control TV2 receivers.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#8 OFFLINE   chainblu

chainblu

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: May 14, 2006

Posted 02 October 2008 - 06:55 PM

The IR remote for a 625 should be a 5.0 and a 5.3 for the 722.

I think the IR/UHF Pro remote for the 625 is still the 6.0 and the 722 is 6.3

The 6.0 can be made IR only by flipping the key from blue to green.

There won't be any extra keys in the 722 box, I assure you that.

#9 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,772 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 02 October 2008 - 07:05 PM

If in fact they are 6.3 remotes, then there should of been a bag of 'keys'. If its just a 6.0 remote, it will not. Those only have 1 key and you can flip it over to use it either as TV1 IR or TV2 UHF (such as the ones that come w/ the 625 & 522). One thing to note about the 6.0 is that its ONLY a UHF Pro remote. Meaning the UHF will only control TV2 receivers.


Not quite - enable the function in your menues to do UHF / IR for TV1. Works on my 625, should work on these ViP models.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#10 OFFLINE   CABill

CABill

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2005

Posted 02 October 2008 - 08:20 PM

Not quite - enable the function in your menues to do UHF / IR for TV1. Works on my 625, should work on these ViP models.


522/625 only have a menu choice for TV1 being IR/UHF Pro, but no such menu in a ViP. On a 942/622/722, staying in Single mode and using the TV2 UHF Pro is the most straight forward. In Dual mode, you can only control TV1 via UHF Pro by changing the switch at the bottom of the 6.2 or 6.3 remote and hitting the Record button on the remote when the receiver is at a Sys Info screen. Then TV1 is both IR and/or UHF Pro. No menu item to select it on a ViP. But I've never seen a 222!

The 6.2 or 6.3 UHF Pro remotes that have extra keys are "Universal replacement" remotes with their own unique 6 digit DISH part number and one shouldn't expect to find extra keys with the remotes that come with the receivers.

#11 OFFLINE   mantry

mantry

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2003

Posted 02 October 2008 - 09:48 PM

Ok, after looking when I got home.
With the 722, which is more correctly a ViP722 we have 2 remotes: A Green TV1 5.3 IR remote and A Blue TV2 6.3 IR/UHF PRO remote. The 6.3 IR/UHF PRO remote has a removable key that can be turn over to Black "UHF".(Not sure what that means)

With the 625, which is more correctly called a DVR625 we have 2 remotes: A Green TV1 5.3 IR remote and A Blue TV2 6.3 IR/UHF PRO remote. The 6.3 IR/UHF PRO remote has a removable key that can be turned over to GREEN TV1.

Thanks for your help!!!

So if I wanted to buy more UHF PRO remotes for TV2 on the DVR625 they should be 6.3 remotes, correct?

I think we are OK on TV1 on the DVR625 as it is mainly just used for Music that feeds our Phone hold music and Whole Home Audio. On that we change the channel by using an IR blaster that is part of the Whole Home Audio system and that is working OK even though it was set up as a 301 in that system.

#12 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 671 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 02 October 2008 - 10:00 PM

The black "UHF" key is the one your looking for. It will control other recievers via UHF and NOT UHF Pro. But you can generally only use it w/ the remote it came with.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 October 2008 - 10:27 PM

http://dishnetwork.c...als/index.shtml
select Remote Control

#14 OFFLINE   CABill

CABill

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2005

Posted 02 October 2008 - 10:39 PM

The key at the bottom of the remote just positions a switch from the V in the plastic. The 6.2 and 6.3 remotes have a switch that can assume 4 positions, but the 6.0 remotes can only assume the central two of those positions. If you put the 722's 6.3 key into a 6.0 remote, you break its switch (either side up). Shouldn't be an issue with just two 6.3 remotes, or if you get more 6.3s. It used to be that you could get a bunch of 6.0 remotes on eBay for the same price as a single 6.3, but I don't know current prices. A 6.0 would work fine to control the 625 (either TV1 or TV2) - that is the remote that originally shipped with a 522/625. The 6.3 does some things that the 6.0 can't do - the Aux position can be programmed to operate a DISH receiver via IR (or "Old UHF, but that doesn't help YOU). The 5.3 also supports that in Aux. It might cost more to only have 6.3s, but they can be set to operate all but the old 7x00 receivers. But 6.0s would work fine for the 625.

When the Black UHF is up on the 6.3 remote, it generates both IR for TV1 and "Old UHF" for older receivers.

#15 OFFLINE   mantry

mantry

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2003

Posted 03 October 2008 - 05:29 AM

Thanks CaBill!!! and all the others. Yup, that is what I'm going to do. As 6.0 remotes are about 1/4 the cost of a 6.3 remote on ebay, I'm going to order up about 5 of them and they will be used to control TV2 on the DVR625 throughout the house.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...