Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Interpreting System Status Information


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wimcolgate

wimcolgate

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2004

Posted 06 October 2008 - 11:29 AM

Hi,

I've been having a little trouble with the 129 satellite -- so I went to the system setup (information) ... and I noticed the status to be "check details for LNB" in red letters... This is on a 622.

So checking the details, it said the following:

LNB drift detected
0x00 0xa1 129 (e-5)

STB health life
tuner 0 as of 10/05/08 4:35pm
orbital 14 15 16 21
110 77 67 77 72
119 48 53 48 54
129 0 0 41 34

tuner 1 as of 10/05/08 4:42pm
orbital 14 15 16 21
110 77 65 77 71
119 47 50 48 52
129 0 0 44 38

value0: 0
value1:0
value2:0
value3:0
value4:0
value5:0
value6:0
value7:-2
value8:1
value9:0

Can anyone help me understand/decipher this data? and will it help me get back signal strength or stop the intermittent drop-outs on satellite 129?

Thanks,

Wim

#2 OFFLINE   MikeHou

MikeHou

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 08 October 2008 - 03:43 PM

I think LNB Drift Detected is all that matters here. I got that a few months back, and E* sent service guy out to replace the LNBs (he replaced all of them, not just 129). I seem to recall reading here that they won't replace unless it's E-8, but mine was also E-5 and was replaced at no charge.

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 October 2008 - 08:40 PM

tuner section displays signal level for sat/tpn
drift: switch/LNBF address, sat, (even/odd, drift +- in MHz )
values: hmm, historical data, not sure - could be the drift values




spam firewall