Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Second receiver recommendations


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Papa

Papa

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2002

Posted 06 October 2008 - 02:11 PM

I'm looking for some advice on adding a receiver to my setup.

Currently I have a 622 in the LR that hooks via HDMI to a 60" HDTV. Then I run the component cables to the next room to hook to a 21" HDTV in my office. I've had this setup over two years.

Now, I'm almost through finishing an addition which has a dedicated home theater and another room where my office will move into. (These rooms are next to each other).

I'm assuming I will move my 622 to the theater so I can watch HD on the big screen and run the component to the office for the 21" HDTV. Then I'll add a 612 to the LR and swap/share programs with the EHD I have already activated for a while now.

So, my question is if this setup sounds right and what is the best (cheapest way) to add the second receiver (I'll need it installed due to an attic run to the addition). Are there any promotions? Lease or buy? Etc...?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,409 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 06 October 2008 - 04:01 PM

Call Dish, or whoever installed your first receiver.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 ONLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,127 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 06 October 2008 - 04:17 PM

You can sign in to your Dish account on line and in the equipment area see what offers might be available to you. It varies.

#4 OFFLINE   Papa

Papa

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2002

Posted 06 October 2008 - 05:25 PM

I'll give dish a call.

I guess my setup sounds right?

#5 ONLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,127 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 06 October 2008 - 05:31 PM

I'll give dish a call.

I guess my setup sounds right?

I just added a 612 to my system and it's working fine...well, as fine as any of these computers work.;)

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian





spam firewall