Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Multiple UHF Remotes in Single Mode


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pitpawten

pitpawten

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2006

Posted 07 October 2008 - 06:31 PM

I want to have multiple UHF remotes controlling the same receiver in Single Mode.

I've got the receiver downstairs in the Media Cabinet, and it feeds several TV's throughout the house (upstairs bedroom, kitchen, kids room...) via the coax output.

Right now we have a (single) UHF remote for it that we use from any of those locations. What I want to do is have essentially 3 of the same UHF remote in 3 separate places so we don't have to keep carrying the same one around.

I know we could run into "dueling remotes", however we almost never use more than one of those TV's at the same time, and the fam knows that all those TV's are fed by the same receiver (shared viewing).

I've read enough "remote problems" and "TV1 with UHF" posts to make my head spin, but didn't come across this specific question.

Any help guys?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 07 October 2008 - 06:53 PM

I would think you could just have three remotest set to the same remote address and it should work. The caveat would be that you might get the conditions where two use it at the same time and annoy each other. But I think that would work.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#3 OFFLINE   Teran

Teran

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2007

Posted 07 October 2008 - 07:23 PM

I did this. I picked up a 1/2 dozen remotes off eBay for about $25. We sometimes end up where someone tries to turn the channel when someone else is using the 622. We also have a 625 set up the same way, so it is really just a matter of them changing the channel on the TV and picking up the other remote.

#4 OFFLINE   pitpawten

pitpawten

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2006

Posted 07 October 2008 - 10:56 PM

I would think you could just have three remotest set to the same remote address and it should work

I love it when the solution is so simple that I should have already known it.

And by love it, I mean hate it :)

Thanks for the quick reply Ron, worked perfectly!

#5 OFFLINE   SkipperTW

SkipperTW

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 09 October 2008 - 06:08 AM

I run two RF's with the same channel (no issues that I can recall)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...