Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Bait and switch?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rvrman

rvrman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2007

Posted 08 October 2008 - 07:47 AM

Set a timer for my 622 to record a show on the DIY channel.
Went back to watch the recorded show and it was an NFL football game off another channel.
The listing name, channel and info were correct.
The recorded program and channel were way off.

Anybody??
:confused: :confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dbrakob

dbrakob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2006

Posted 08 October 2008 - 09:27 AM

Hopefully it was a random, rare occurrence. I have had my 722 for 16 months now and this has happened to me twice.

#3 OFFLINE   smackman

smackman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 08 October 2008 - 09:37 AM

I make it a habit to do a "soft reboot" at least 1 time a week.
I have trouble with Closed Caption not working at times and a "soft reboot" always fixes it.
I have had a 622 for 2 years and I have had your issue maybe 2 times.
Smackman THE KING OF SMACK: Dish Customer since 2000
VIP 722

#4 OFFLINE   rvrman

rvrman

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2007

Posted 13 October 2008 - 06:32 AM

Thanks guys!
I'll follow your lead.

#5 OFFLINE   Bizket

Bizket

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 01:26 PM

I make it a habit to do a "soft reboot" at least 1 time a week.
I have trouble with Closed Caption not working at times and a "soft reboot" always fixes it.
I have had a 622 for 2 years and I have had your issue maybe 2 times.


What is the difference between a 'soft' reboot and a 'hard' reboot?

Thanks.

#6 OFFLINE   smackman

smackman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 14 October 2008 - 01:30 PM

What is the difference between a 'soft' reboot and a 'hard' reboot?

Thanks.


Soft reboot; Holding power switch down for approx 5 seconds; Receiver will reboot

Hard reboot; unplugging 622 electrical cord for approx 20 seconds then plug back up.
Smackman THE KING OF SMACK: Dish Customer since 2000
VIP 722

#7 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,124 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 14 October 2008 - 01:30 PM

What is the difference between a 'soft' reboot and a 'hard' reboot?

Thanks.

Soft reboot is done by pushing and holding the "power switch" on the box until the box shuts down and starts to reboot. Hard reboot is when you disconnect power to the box by unplugging it or other system such as turning off a switch on a power strip if it's plugged in there.




spam firewall