Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

EHD Priority with 2 Connected


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dbrakob

dbrakob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2006

Posted 10 October 2008 - 09:16 AM

Hope someone may have the answer. I have an EHD connected to my 722 via the back usb port. If I were to get a second EHD setup for my 722 what would happen when I connected that to the front usb port? Does one have priority? or would this cause problems?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   EXTACAMO

EXTACAMO

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 316 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2007

Posted 10 October 2008 - 09:53 AM

I'm pretty sure you can only connect one EHD.

#3 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 10 October 2008 - 09:58 AM

As EXTACAMO said you can only connect one at a time. You can use a USB switch to connect several external drives and select the drive you wish to use. Do a search on this board to find information on USB switches that some of us use.
Bill R

#4 OFFLINE   dbrakob

dbrakob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2006

Posted 10 October 2008 - 10:01 AM

So anybody know what would happen if I connected the second to the front USB port? Would my DVR freeze up, would I get an error message or would one have priority and still be useable?

#5 OFFLINE   EXTACAMO

EXTACAMO

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 316 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2007

Posted 10 October 2008 - 10:07 AM

I don't know. You could try it and see what happens. Then report your results here. I think I read some where on this board that only one USB port is active for data transfer at any one time.

#6 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 10 October 2008 - 10:25 AM

You get an error message saying you can only use one USB device at a time. I tried using an EHD and a PocketDish at the same time one day. The receiver was not harmed (lock up or anything) and the error message went away when I unplugged the second device.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E




Protected By... spam firewall...And...