Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Cable local vs Dish local


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MichaelMM1

MichaelMM1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2008

Posted 12 October 2008 - 10:02 AM

I would like to make the switch from my local cable company to Dish. I live in NE Oregon. With my local cable provider I get the local Portland stations. Portland is 175 miles to the west.

When I tried to sign up for Dish with locals they said I would get the local stations out of Yakima WA. 95 miles to the NW.

I don't want the WA locals with WA news. I want the Oregon stations with the Oregon news...where I live.

Is there any way of accomplishing this? Why can the cable companies offer the Portland stations as local?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 12 October 2008 - 10:41 AM

That is not an option thought Dish Network. If you go with a HD receiver, you can hook up an OTA antenna to the box and it will intergrate your antenna channels with your sat channels although at 175 miles your are going to need one heck of a OTA setup and alot of luck.
Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#3 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 722 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 12 October 2008 - 10:46 AM

You could look up "moving" (with quotes) in this forum, but there is no 100% honest way of getting out of market channels from E*. This isn't entirely E*'s fault because they fought legislation that prohibits Satellite companies from offering out of market stations and even was sued after they continued to allow customers to chose out of market channels. The FCC determined that your county is in the Yakima market and those are the channels you are stuck with. If I were to live 10 miles north, I would be in the Harrisburg, PA market instead of the Baltimore market.

You should complain to your local US Representatives and Senators. They passed the legislation that caused this mess. It was under pressure from TV stations who didn't want the extra competition. Also, there are a few exceptions where people in certain areas are allowed to receive stations from two markets, but that is rare.

Some good news: If you get a satellite receiver (such as the 722) with an over the air (OTA) tuner, then you can get any OTA stations that you can receive and it seamlessly integrates into the program guide (with full guide data if you subscribe to locals).
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#4 OFFLINE   Miner

Miner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2004

Posted 12 October 2008 - 10:51 AM

I would like to make the switch from my local cable company to Dish. I live in NE Oregon. With my local cable provider I get the local Portland stations. Portland is 175 miles to the west.

When I tried to sign up for Dish with locals they said I would get the local stations out of Yakima WA. 95 miles to the NW.

I don't want the WA locals with WA news. I want the Oregon stations with the Oregon news...where I live.

Is there any way of accomplishing this? Why can the cable companies offer the Portland stations as local?

Thanks.


I believe that Dish can only provide the local stations that are listed as your DMA (Designated Market Area), and that is based on your address. I also believe that your cable company is bound by the same requirement, but since your DMA (Tri-Cities?) is in another state, they are able to substitute the Portland stations. As pointed out, getting either the Tri Cities or Portland via antenna would be very difficult, if not impossible. I suspect your close to the Dalles, they don't have any local stations? If they do, you could receive them over the air and then get the Tri Cities via satellite. If you were to set up a service address in the Portland DMA, you would be entitled to the Portland locals.
Miner

#5 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 12 October 2008 - 11:03 AM

From what I understand, the reasoning behind it it due to the limitation of how cable works vs. how the satellite works. Satellite is able to have tighter control of what gets broadcast where, and so is able to provide the specific locals that have the broadcast rights to your area. Because of how cable works, they have less capability to do so, and so can broadcast locals outside their area. Or at least, it is not practical for them to have the same type of control that satellite does. I don't know how correct that is, but it is the gist of what I was told. Someone else may be able to give a more technical explaination or more specific reason, but that's my understanding of it.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#6 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 12 October 2008 - 11:36 AM

D* is allowed to provide ajacant locals to some markets. E* was allowed to until the court hand down a "death penality" on that. From the way that I understand it cable can make a deal to provide any channels they wish if they have a deal to do it. All the cable providers in my area carry both the DFW locals and Sherman/Ada.
Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#7 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,752 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 12 October 2008 - 02:49 PM

I would like to make the switch from my local cable company to Dish. I live in NE Oregon. With my local cable provider I get the local Portland stations. Portland is 175 miles to the west.

When I tried to sign up for Dish with locals they said I would get the local stations out of Yakima WA. 95 miles to the NW.

I don't want the WA locals with WA news. I want the Oregon stations with the Oregon news...where I live.

Is there any way of accomplishing this? Why can the cable companies offer the Portland stations as local?

Thanks.


Since I assume that receiving the Portland OR locals OTA is DOA at your location, and you want the the Portland locals - you're stuck with cable, at least for those channels. If you are still interested in getting Dish and this particular set of locals, you're going to have to keep subscribing to the cable company for those locals. What YOU COULD do, however, is see if they offer a "lifeline" package that has only the locals you want and subscribe to Dish without locals (yes - that IS an option).
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#8 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,147 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 October 2008 - 02:52 PM

If you put in your zip code here...

http://www.directv.c...?assetId=900018

you can find out what locals Directv would offer you...

#9 OFFLINE   Galaxie6411

Galaxie6411

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 611 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 12 October 2008 - 03:18 PM

rofl, just tried that link out of curiosity if I could get as many locals and distants with direct as I do with Dish. It came back:

"We don't currently offer local channels in your area"

Anyone know if there is a similar search thing for Dish?

#10 OFFLINE   Jon Ellis

Jon Ellis

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2003

Posted 18 October 2008 - 02:53 PM

A couple of corrections and clarifications...

The FCC does not assign markets, Nielsen Media does, and the FCC requires satellite providers to use their market definitions. Nielsen assigns a county to a market based on viewing data. A county is assigned to the market that it views the most. So you can blame the other residents of your county for watching too much Yakima and not enough Portland. In reality, viewing preferences are often different in different parts of a county, but whichever side of the county has more residents tips the scales to their favorite market.

The rules for cable are very different than satellite. While cable systems can be required to carry their market's stations, there are also more loopholes that allow them to carry OOM. These include being far enough away from the in-market affiliate, whether a station is on the FCC's "significantly viewed" list for that county, and if the cable system has fewer than 1,000 subscribers. On the other hand, satellite can only carry OOM stations (as part of a locals package) if they are significantly viewed, but only DirecTV has that option since a court order stopped DISH from offering OOM stations completely. DirecTV has not exercised the SV option in most counties. The only other exception is the five remaining "SuperStations" which are specifically named in FCC rules, and can be carried almost anywhere (DISH offers them).

#11 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,931 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 20 October 2008 - 11:07 AM

Put your address into antennaweb, there may be Oregon stations closer to you than you think. You might be able to get them with an antenna. The digital OTA signals look as good as the satellite signals.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#12 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,752 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 20 October 2008 - 12:00 PM

If you can get Digital OTA signals reliably - they look BETTER than DBS or cable retransmissions ! Even the 480i ones....
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html




Protected By... spam firewall...And...