Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Switch for "1 to 2" HDMI?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JimDillon1

JimDillon1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 04:27 PM

I've got 2 HD TVs set up for HDMI attachment to my ViP722. One main one in the living room and one downstairs in the workout room. I have a 12 foot HDMI cable strung to the downstairs unit. The problem is I've been unable to find a "1 to 2" HDMI switch. All the HDMI switches I've found enable multiple perpherals to attach to one TV, (eg "2 to 1" or "3 to 1"), but not visa versa.

Currently I'm manually plugging and unplugging the HDMI cables into a "2 to 1" switch, but I'm afraid of plug fatigue over the long term. Does anyone have knowledge of a good (and reasonalby priced) "1 to 2" HDMI switch?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 14 October 2008 - 04:50 PM

Jim,

What you are looking for is called a HDMI distribution amp. There are a few companies that sell them but they are not cheap. MCM Electronics (http://www.mcmelectronics.com) sells a 1 x 2 model (that is what you need) for $99.95. The part number is 33-10540. You might be able to get one cheaper by searching the net.
Bill R

#3 OFFLINE   Cmnore

Cmnore

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 05:12 PM

Try this:http://www.monoprice...101&cp_id=10113
ROOM 1:
Win7 HTPC - Athlon64 X2 4850e@2.5Gb/ ASUS M3A78-T/BDHD-DVD/ATI HD4670 - 1080p HDMI
HR22-100/AM-21
Sony KDS-60A2000 SXRD LCOS TV
Sony STR-DA5ES/Sony DVP-NS3100ES SACD/DVD

ROOM 2:
XPx64 HTPC - Athlon64 X2 5400+@ 3.2 Gb/ Biostar 790GX A2+/ATI HD4670 - 1080p HDMI
HR21-700/AM-21
Toshiba 42 inch LCD TV

BONUS ROOM:
R22/AM-21
Sony 27" CRT TV
GARAGE:
R22 SD-DVR
Sony 20" CRT TV

SHARED:
SWM-8/slimline DTV dish
Actiontec ADSL wired gateway
Linksys EG005 gigabit switch/OGV200

#4 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 05:55 PM

I've got 2 HD TVs set up for HDMI attachment to my ViP722. One main one in the living room and one downstairs in the workout room. I have a 12 foot HDMI cable strung to the downstairs unit. The problem is I've been unable to find a "1 to 2" HDMI switch. All the HDMI switches I've found enable multiple perpherals to attach to one TV, (eg "2 to 1" or "3 to 1"), but not visa versa.

Currently I'm manually plugging and unplugging the HDMI cables into a "2 to 1" switch, but I'm afraid of plug fatigue over the long term. Does anyone have knowledge of a good (and reasonalby priced) "1 to 2" HDMI switch?

Thanks!


I'm sure you've thought of this, but since all the outputs on the VIP722 are hot at the same time, you could get a high def signal using component cables on the set that is closest to the receiver.

#5 OFFLINE   digital223

digital223

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2002

Posted 14 October 2008 - 05:56 PM

Jim,

What you are looking for is called a HDMI distribution amp. There are a few companies that sell them but they are not cheap. MCM Electronics (http://www.mcmelectronics.com) sells a 1 x 2 model (that is what you need) for $99.95. The part number is 33-10540. You might be able to get one cheaper by searching the net.


Although I would like one, I do not own an A/V Receiver, and have not researched them.
I do know their rear panels have mutilple HDMI inputs....but not sure if there are multiple HDMI out. Assuming there was could the Jimdillon1 [original post] send HD content from his VIP722 to both of his tv's via the A/V receiver ?

#6 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:06 PM

Although I would like one, I do not own an A/V Receiver, and have not researched them.
I do know their rear panels have mutilple HDMI inputs....but not sure if there are multiple HDMI out. Assuming there was could the Jimdillon1 [original post] send HD content from his VIP722 to both of his tv's via the A/V receiver ?



I can't speak for all receivers, but I know that Harmon Kardons have multiple inputs and only one HDMI output.

#7 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:09 PM

HDMI splitters from Monoprice:

http://www.monoprice...101&cp_id=10113

#8 OFFLINE   digital223

digital223

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2002

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:12 PM

I can't speak for all receivers, but I know that Harmon Kardons have multiple inputs and only one HDMI output.


I am aware most A/V receivers have only 1 HDMI output...........
But I stated, assume there were multiple HDMI outputs would it send hd content to both TV's.

#9 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:42 PM

I am aware most A/V receivers have only 1 HDMI output...........
But I stated, assume there were multiple HDMI outputs would it send hd content to both TV's.


Sorry I misunderstood!

Isn't HDMI output always capable of HD content?

#10 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:44 PM

HDMI splitters from Monoprice:

http://www.monoprice...101&cp_id=10113


Does something like this degrade PQ at all?

#11 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:51 PM

No degradation in PQ; that's one of the benefits of a digital signal, but it's also why you need a splitter with active electronics.

#12 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 06:59 PM

No degradation in PQ; that's one of the benefits of a digital signal, but it's also why you need a splitter with active electronics.


Thanks! This is very useful information to know.

#13 OFFLINE   JimDillon1

JimDillon1

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2008

Posted 15 October 2008 - 06:21 AM

Thanks for all the great insight.... very active forum, glad to have joined. I added a signiture with my configuration as some were guessing when the advice was given.

1) With the Onkyo I only have one HDMI output, so no dice there.
2) On the component out suggestion - I do have BlueRay / 1080p capability so I really want to maintain that with HDMI (I've heard component out is not full 1080p - true?)

I think I'm going to bite the bullet and spend the $100 on a proper switch. Thanks all for your advice!
--------------------------------------------------------
MAIN
Dish Network ViP722
Sony KDS55A3000 LCOS Rear Projection
Playstation 3
Onkyo TX-SR605 Receiver
Polk Audio RM6750 5.1 Speakers

DOWNSTAIRS
SHARP LC-37SB24U LCD
Panasonic DMR-ES45V DVD/VCR
JVC RX-554V Receiver

#14 OFFLINE   JimDillon1

JimDillon1

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2008

Posted 15 October 2008 - 07:58 AM

Thanks Cmnore! Just ordered the splitter you recommended for $67.
--------------------------------------------------------
MAIN
Dish Network ViP722
Sony KDS55A3000 LCOS Rear Projection
Playstation 3
Onkyo TX-SR605 Receiver
Polk Audio RM6750 5.1 Speakers

DOWNSTAIRS
SHARP LC-37SB24U LCD
Panasonic DMR-ES45V DVD/VCR
JVC RX-554V Receiver

#15 OFFLINE   Cmnore

Cmnore

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2008

Posted 15 October 2008 - 10:41 AM

Congrats!
ROOM 1:
Win7 HTPC - Athlon64 X2 4850e@2.5Gb/ ASUS M3A78-T/BDHD-DVD/ATI HD4670 - 1080p HDMI
HR22-100/AM-21
Sony KDS-60A2000 SXRD LCOS TV
Sony STR-DA5ES/Sony DVP-NS3100ES SACD/DVD

ROOM 2:
XPx64 HTPC - Athlon64 X2 5400+@ 3.2 Gb/ Biostar 790GX A2+/ATI HD4670 - 1080p HDMI
HR21-700/AM-21
Toshiba 42 inch LCD TV

BONUS ROOM:
R22/AM-21
Sony 27" CRT TV
GARAGE:
R22 SD-DVR
Sony 20" CRT TV

SHARED:
SWM-8/slimline DTV dish
Actiontec ADSL wired gateway
Linksys EG005 gigabit switch/OGV200

#16 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 15 October 2008 - 12:55 PM

Thanks for all the great insight.... very active forum, glad to have joined. I added a signiture with my configuration as some were guessing when the advice was given.

1) With the Onkyo I only have one HDMI output, so no dice there.
2) On the component out suggestion - I do have BlueRay / 1080p capability so I really want to maintain that with HDMI (I've heard component out is not full 1080p - true?)

I think I'm going to bite the bullet and spend the $100 on a proper switch. Thanks all for your advice!


We had discussed the component/1080p issue in another thread. I don't personally have any relevant experience but other posters here (who obviously know more than I do) believe that component is capable of 1080p.

For me, the switch is still a great idea because running an HDMI cable into another room is far easier than running the three jacks for a component along with a toslink for sound.

#17 OFFLINE   JimDillon1

JimDillon1

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2008

Posted 23 October 2008 - 08:29 AM

http://www.monoprice....01&cp_id=10113

WARNING!!! Careful when buying the above splitter. It seemed to have serious incompatibilities with my setup. I connect the 722 and my PS3 though the Onkyo SR605, then to the splitter and then to the two TVs. Weird results - the PS3 worked fine while the 722 output to both TVs was wacked... the output to the Sony did not work at all, the output to the Toshiba was missing audio.

I did notice that the switch is HDMI 1.2a, and I probably should have made sure it was 1.3a compatible. Both the Onkyo and PS3 are 1.3a compatible, I have been unable to find the HDMI version for the 722. (however, should not the HDMIs been backward compatible?).

Anyway, I'm returning this and looking now for an HDMI 1.3a compliant splitter. I'll let you know what I find.
--------------------------------------------------------
MAIN
Dish Network ViP722
Sony KDS55A3000 LCOS Rear Projection
Playstation 3
Onkyo TX-SR605 Receiver
Polk Audio RM6750 5.1 Speakers

DOWNSTAIRS
SHARP LC-37SB24U LCD
Panasonic DMR-ES45V DVD/VCR
JVC RX-554V Receiver

#18 OFFLINE   lujan

lujan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,202 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2004

Posted 23 October 2008 - 12:13 PM

I haven't had good luck with splitters of any type. You don't get any of the new audio formats with the splitters (such as TrueHD, DTS HD Master, etc.). I also had trouble getting plain old DD 5.1 with an HDMI splitter. I now connect one TV via component and the other via HDMI.
171 Blu-ray
83 DVD
63 HD DVD

#19 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 23 October 2008 - 05:34 PM

http://www.monoprice....01&cp_id=10113

WARNING!!! Careful when buying the above splitter. It seemed to have serious incompatibilities with my setup. I connect the 722 and my PS3 though the Onkyo SR605, then to the splitter and then to the two TVs. Weird results - the PS3 worked fine while the 722 output to both TVs was wacked... the output to the Sony did not work at all, the output to the Toshiba was missing audio.

I did notice that the switch is HDMI 1.2a, and I probably should have made sure it was 1.3a compatible. Both the Onkyo and PS3 are 1.3a compatible, I have been unable to find the HDMI version for the 722. (however, should not the HDMIs been backward compatible?).

Anyway, I'm returning this and looking now for an HDMI 1.3a compliant splitter. I'll let you know what I find.



Thanks for posting this information, Jim. Very, very helpful.

#20 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 24 October 2008 - 07:02 AM

audio.

Anyway, I'm returning this and looking now for an HDMI 1.3a compliant splitter. I'll let you know what I find.


I still say that you should get a HDMI distribution amp. They work in a lot of situations where splitters won't.
Bill R




Protected By... spam firewall...And...