Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
564 replies to this topic

#181 OFFLINE   bhanks

bhanks

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2006

Posted 31 July 2009 - 04:31 PM

It wouldn't work on my HR20-700, does work but don't need on my HR22-100.

I am trying to order one from Walmart, but cannot find one of the 4
recommended hard drive models.

Walmart has an amazing number of hard drives to choose from:
52 Western Digitals and 46 Seagates.

Anyone have an idea which 1TB will work on my HR20-700,
If not how about a 500gb that will work?

Thanks, any help will be greatly appreciated

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#182 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,873 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 August 2009 - 05:06 PM

I have one of these, and can probably speak for many others. They work great, but I am not inclined to go open mine up and take it apart to find out what chip it has. Sorry. They aren't that expensive. You can get one for about $35 if you keep an eye out on prices.

What I found at Fry's - is it the 'chosen' one ?

#183 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,025 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 03 August 2009 - 05:17 PM

What I found at Fry's - is it the 'chosen' one ?

Yep, Antec MX-1.

Don't know where the Veris name is coming from but it was on both my boxes.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#184 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,692 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 03 August 2009 - 05:44 PM

Yep, Antec MX-1.

Don't know where the Veris name is coming from but it was on both my boxes.

Veris is the company name....Antec is the model series, and MX-1 the specific model.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#185 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,873 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 August 2009 - 05:46 PM

OK, it's time to tear down the box ! !Devil_lol

#186 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,873 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 03 August 2009 - 11:07 PM

The enclosure has been dissected; what it worthy:
- it have one universal [SATA and USB] chip: SATALink SPIF225A-HL231 (LQFP48) from SunplusIT
- the chip "Support Serial-ATA generation 1 transfer rate of 1.5Gb/s"
- "It has a USB high-speed device port and a SATA 1.5G host port"

So, notes for all MX-1 users:
- you don't need SATA-2 [3 Gbps] disks
- if such SATA-2 disk had bad history of negotiation down to SATA-1, try use a jumper if it possible ( if not - cross your fingers)
- MX-1 eSATA port what is connecting to your DTV DVR working at 1.5 Gbps speed, only.

Now you know all requirements and could use it with your preferable disks accordingly.

#187 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,727 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 18 August 2009 - 11:27 AM

Has anyone every used the Fantom eSATA drive on their HR2x? Made by Micronet and on sale at Buy.com this week.

I'm picking up two, one for my Cablevision DVR and the other to play with on one of my HR2x DVRs, and it if doesn't work, I have some extra general purpose storage.

From another thread - curious if anyone's used the Fantom eSATA drive on an HR2x DVR ...

#188 OFFLINE   jdmac29

jdmac29

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 401 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 01 September 2009 - 01:11 PM

For those who use the antec mx1 does the esata cable that comes with it work o.k. with the hr series? I have not ordered my hard drive yet but just want to clarify that if I need to order a new cable.

#189 OFFLINE   TJStaar

TJStaar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2006

Posted 01 September 2009 - 01:17 PM

Mine is working fine.

#190 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,025 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 01 September 2009 - 01:19 PM

For those who use the antec mx1 does the esata cable that comes with it work o.k. with the hr series? I have not ordered my hard drive yet but just want to clarify that if I need to order a new cable.

As I recall the cable that comes with the Antec MX-1 works well. My two do.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#191 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 23 September 2009 - 12:30 PM

I am sure this has been asked and answered before but I could not find it discussed.

I currently have an 750 GB external drive hooked up to my HR21. I am running out of space. Can I copy the files on my current external to a new, larger external (via my PC) and start using it with the current settings and recordings accessible on the same DVR?

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#192 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 23 September 2009 - 12:45 PM

I am sure this has been asked and answered before but I could not find it discussed.

I currently have an 750 GB external drive hooked up to my HR21. I am running out of space. Can I copy the files on my current external to a new, larger external (via my PC) and start using it with the current settings and recordings accessible on the same DVR?


http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=148760

Should have all the info you need, you will need the gparted boot disk referenced in the nice writeup. It specifically references doing it with the internal drive, but replacing the external is even easier since there is no removal and re-install of the internal drive, the copy procedure part is exactly the same.

#193 OFFLINE   Robert Simandl

Robert Simandl

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2004

Posted 30 September 2009 - 09:55 PM

Chalk up another user of the Vantec NexStar3. Been using this enclosure with my HR20 and a Seagate 750g drive for about a year and half now, no issues.

Just tried another NexStar3 with an old WD 400g drive for the other HR20 in the bedroom and had nothing but problems (constant freezing and spontaneous rebooting), then I discovered this thread and saw my problem might be the 1.5gbps drive. Replaced it with another Seagate 750g and all's well so far (1 day later).

#194 OFFLINE   t_h

t_h

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 818 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2008

Posted 01 October 2009 - 12:06 PM

Veris is the company name....Antec is the model series, and MX-1 the specific model.


Close. Antec is the company name, Veris is the model series and MX-1 is the model.

#195 OFFLINE   blackbimmer

blackbimmer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2009

Posted 23 December 2009 - 08:52 PM

I'm looking at the 2TB Hitachi drive on newegg. Anyone have any experience with these? They are a little cheaper than the WD green drives, but what I like the most is the 3 year warranty on them? The drive is the Deskstar HD32000.

I'm thinking of placing that in the Eagle Consus CSTESU2 enclosure and hooking up to my HR22-100. Thoughts??

#196 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,873 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 December 2009 - 09:09 PM

I would prefer CinemaStar line - quiet, cooler, DVR type ...

#197 OFFLINE   gdavisloop

gdavisloop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2007

Posted 01 February 2010 - 03:27 PM

If you own (not lease) an old HR20, there is an easy alternative to "replacing" the internal hard drive.

You can leave the internal hard drive in place and just lay the new drive on top of it.

Use a paper envelope as an insulator. (very important!)

Unplug the cables from the internal hard drive and plug them into your new hard drive.

Of course, you cannot close the cover if you do this! But it's a really easy way to have multiple "internal" drives, and avoid all the potential cabling/casing/power supply problems.

--Gary

#198 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 February 2010 - 03:43 PM

I know of one guy who extended the Power Cable and Sata Drive Cable so he could extend them outside of the DVR and then he just plugged and unplugged the drives he wanted to watch and kept a log of what was on each Drive!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#199 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,873 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:42 PM

If he would use PC bracket with 2x eSATA connectors and two internal short [L] cables what connects to HR's PCB and internal drive.
Adding to that eSATA-eSATA cable what would serve dual purpose - loop back original disk or connect to external disk enclosure.

#200 OFFLINE   famcunning

famcunning

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2010

Posted 27 February 2010 - 04:32 PM

I am using the Antec MX-1 enclosure with the WD 20EADS drive and am having problems. The picture will frequently freeze and pixilated. This is with a new HR23.

Any suggestions?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...