Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

WGN HD ?


  • Please log in to reply
403 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,349 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 29 December 2008 - 03:09 PM

I also wouldn't mind if they made WGN available on a lower tier.


It is on the old grandfathered Total Choice Package a few years ago.
my setup here

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:03 AM

It is on the old grandfathered Total Choice Package a few years ago.


He's probably a new sub that could NOT get TC when he signed up. Right now, the ONLY way to get WGN on D* now is to get Choice+, which is equivalent to TC+ (also grandfathered) & more expensive than EITHER Choice or TC.

#28 OFFLINE   GlennDio

GlennDio

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 602 posts
  • LocationTampa, FL
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 08:54 AM

I was reading a website linked to a post about Canadian TV and guess what WGN HD is available on both Bell and StarChoice Canadian sat systems .... just an interesting note ....91 days or so to opening day .... not that there is any correlation between these two points that I would care about ....

#29 OFFLINE   Ice Runner

Ice Runner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2008

Posted 30 December 2008 - 09:14 AM

He's probably a new sub that could NOT get TC when he signed up. Right now, the ONLY way to get WGN on D* now is to get Choice+, which is equivalent to TC+ (also grandfathered) & more expensive than EITHER Choice or TC.


Yes. I switch to DirecTV in April.
HR22-100

#30 OFFLINE   kycubsfan

kycubsfan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 09:44 AM

91 days or so to opening day ....


Assuming they are indeed waiting for a count of WGN Cubs games for '09 before committing, that information should be forthcoming within the next few weeks.

I fully understand that there's little else of value on WGN besides the baseball. If nothing else, they should work a deal that would allow the WGN-HD feeds to be used on MLBEI. DirecTV's claim as the HD/sports leader rings somewhat hollow for me with 70 Cubs games a year languishing in downrezzed SD hell.

#31 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,349 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 30 December 2008 - 01:07 PM

Assuming they are indeed waiting for a count of WGN Cubs games for '09 before committing, that information should be forthcoming within the next few weeks.

I fully understand that there's little else of value on WGN besides the baseball. If nothing else, they should work a deal that would allow the WGN-HD feeds to be used on MLBEI. DirecTV's claim as the HD/sports leader rings somewhat hollow for me with 70 Cubs games a year languishing in downrezzed SD hell.


They also used to carry a lot more of Bulls Basketball, but that was back when da Bulls had MJ, Scottie, etc. Now they only carry about 18 games, about half of what they used to carry.
my setup here

#32 OFFLINE   BigJ52

BigJ52

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 313 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 02:51 PM

I know most here are Cubs fans (myself included) but WGN HD America is just not Cubs games it's a pretty good amount of White Sox games as well. Along with I think a few of the Bulls.

#33 OFFLINE   iceturkee

iceturkee

    DINFOS Trained Killer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,206 posts
  • Locationdaytona beach, fl
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 02:52 PM

but not all the bulls and blackhawk games that are on the local wgn are carried by wgn america. i believe its different for the cubs and white sox!

#34 OFFLINE   Msguy

Msguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,572 posts
Joined: May 22, 2003

Posted 31 December 2008 - 06:39 PM

I have a friend who lives in Winnipeg Canada. And I can confirm that up there not only do they have WGN America in HD on there cable system they also receive The Chicago Version of WGN in HD up there. They get to see the 5 p.m. broadcast of WGN News that is supposed to be shown to Chicago only. Now here in America Why can't we receive those channels in HD? Why are there rules so different? Also they can receive distant networks. I know this because my friend receives Both Distant Networks of ABC, CBS, FOX, and NBC from Minneapolis and Seattle.

#35 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,499 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 31 December 2008 - 06:44 PM

No excuses anymore Directv.

Being rather low on available bandwidth is a pretty good excuse.

#36 OFFLINE   Pepster

Pepster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 31 December 2008 - 06:51 PM

I have a friend who lives in Winnipeg Canada. And I can confirm that up there not only do they have WGN America in HD on there cable system they also receive The Chicago Version of WGN in HD up there. They get to see the 5 p.m. broadcast of WGN News that is supposed to be shown to Chicago only. Now here in America Why can't we receive those channels in HD? Why are there rules so different? Also they can receive distant networks. I know this because my friend receives Both Distant Networks of ABC, CBS, FOX, and NBC from Minneapolis and Seattle.


I live in N.Y.C. & I can see the Chicago news on WGN every day. The difference between the national version of stations such as WGN AND TBS (WTBS to the people in Atlanta) & local versions of those same stations isn't the news. The local versions are required to carry a certain amount of other local community related programming not aired on the national level.

#37 OFFLINE   dvdmth

dvdmth

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,049 posts
  • LocationDenver, CO
Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted 31 December 2008 - 10:42 PM

I live in N.Y.C. & I can see the Chicago news on WGN every day. The difference between the national version of stations such as WGN AND TBS (WTBS to the people in Atlanta) & local versions of those same stations isn't the news. The local versions are required to carry a certain amount of other local community related programming not aired on the national level.


I don't think all of WGN's newscasts are available nationally.

#38 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 01 January 2009 - 12:43 PM

I live in N.Y.C. & I can see the Chicago news on WGN every day. The difference between the national version of stations such as WGN AND TBS (WTBS to the people in Atlanta) & local versions of those same stations isn't the news.


Your info on both stations is incorrect...

TBS is NO longer an OTA station in ANY form - it is strictly a national cable channel, JUST like TNT, FX, etc. The "local" version of TBS is NO longer WTBS, but is now called WPCH, "Peachtree TV" & is NOT a superstation any longer - EXCEPT for being shown on Canadian cable & satellite systems, who ARE allowed to show this station. It is not on ANY cable systems outside the Atlanta DMA.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WPCH-TV


As far as WGN, the "america" feed that YOU get in NYC does NOT show their local morning news that runs 5-9AM CST, NOR do you see their 5:30PM CST early evening news.
The local version also runs CW prog, which the america feed does NOT at all. (WPIX-11 already carries this & would not allow another CW affiliate on your cable system)
The america feed does NOT always show the same sports that the local feed does. (eg: Blackhawks games on WGN local are not shown on the america feed)
Also, many of the syndicated prog on the local feed (such as Maury, Regis & Kelly, etc.) is replaced with other syndicated prog that is cleared for national cable distribution, OR the prog is shown at different/later times on the america feed. (eg: Steve Wilkos is shown late night on the america feed, while it's shown in the afternoon on the local feed)

The WGN local feed does NOT clear their prog for national distribution, since it was NOT intended to be distributed OUTSIDE the Chicago DMA in the US. But just like WPCH, it IS allowed to be distributed in Canada, due to differing rules that Canadian distributors CAN redistribute US OTA stations, & WGN America does NOT meet that criteria.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WGN-TV

And BTW, I get BOTH versions of WGN, so I very much know the prog differences between them... ;) :D

Edited by dishrich, 01 January 2009 - 01:25 PM.


#39 OFFLINE   kycubsfan

kycubsfan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 01 January 2009 - 02:46 PM

Being rather low on available bandwidth is a pretty good excuse.


It's a poor allocation of bandwidth to consign so many major league games to the terrible resolution we see on 307. It's bad even by SD standards.

#40 OFFLINE   Msguy

Msguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,572 posts
Joined: May 22, 2003

Posted 03 January 2009 - 01:02 PM

I am thinking the Cubs and for that matter the White Sox will soon quit having games on WGN. I think they will be headed to Comcast Sportsnet Chicago exclusively in the coming years and maybe having the 25 or so games a season locally on WCIU Channel 26 "The U" The reason I say this is because The Atlanta Braves moved their games off of TBS Superstation last year. I think that will be the direction the Cubs and White Sox soon will take because local teams want you to watch their feed and not a distant superstation. Baseball wants you to pay the premium price for their package of "All" the games who still have blackouts.:nono:

#41 OFFLINE   JohnH

JohnH

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,802 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 03 January 2009 - 01:45 PM

Not to mention Tribune may sell the Cubs.

#42 OFFLINE   Ice Runner

Ice Runner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2008

Posted 03 January 2009 - 01:48 PM

There's no doubt. Tribune WILL sell the Cubs.
HR22-100

#43 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,214 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 03 January 2009 - 02:31 PM

Does anyone know if DTV will offer the national version of WGN in HD ?

With the Bulls games starting up I wanted to know if this is in the works

Thanks


You're arn't missing a thing. HDlite!

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#44 OFFLINE   DodgerKing

DodgerKing

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,045 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2008

Posted 03 January 2009 - 02:35 PM

Being rather low on available bandwidth is a pretty good excuse.


Low on bandwidth? How and why do you think they add all of those PPV's a couple of months back?

#45 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,208 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 05 January 2009 - 10:07 AM

I checked with my contact at WGN if there's been any progress with DirecTV adding WGN America HD and the response was "No commitment from them - yet".

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#46 OFFLINE   BigJ52

BigJ52

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 313 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2007

Posted 05 January 2009 - 01:24 PM

I checked with my contact at WGN if there's been any progress with DirecTV adding WGN America HD and the response was "No commitment from them - yet".


Thanks for the update RAD. Hopefully it gets done but Directv doesn't seem too eager to add any station right now unless they own it (MLB Network)

#47 OFFLINE   dgordo

dgordo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,010 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2004

Posted 05 January 2009 - 02:12 PM

I am thinking the Cubs and for that matter the White Sox will soon quit having games on WGN. I think they will be headed to Comcast Sportsnet Chicago exclusively in the coming years and maybe having the 25 or so games a season locally on WCIU Channel 26 "The U" The reason I say this is because The Atlanta Braves moved their games off of TBS Superstation last year. I think that will be the direction the Cubs and White Sox soon will take because local teams want you to watch their feed and not a distant superstation. Baseball wants you to pay the premium price for their package of "All" the games who still have blackouts.:nono:


I've been saying this for at least a year and a half on here and I was told I was wrong. Glad to see someone else understands that the cubs will have no incentive to keep games on a tribune station under new ownership.

#48 OFFLINE   kycubsfan

kycubsfan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 05 January 2009 - 06:39 PM

I've been saying this for at least a year and a half on here and I was told I was wrong. Glad to see someone else understands that the cubs will have no incentive to keep games on a tribune station under new ownership.


The Cubs see a great incentive in keeping games available nationally. Whether the current arrangement will survive the ownership transition is another matter.

#49 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,349 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 January 2009 - 06:55 PM

It's a poor allocation of bandwidth to consign so many major league games to the terrible resolution we see on 307. It's bad even by SD standards.


That channel is SDLite.:lol:
my setup here

#50 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,214 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 06 January 2009 - 11:54 AM

I've been saying this for at least a year and a half on here and I was told I was wrong. Glad to see someone else understands that the cubs will have no incentive to keep games on a tribune station under new ownership.


At least the Honeymooners are in HD.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever





Protected By... spam firewall...And...