Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Able to get HD channels since installing new smart card...or is it falling leaves?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hackwriter

hackwriter

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2005

Posted 02 November 2008 - 02:15 PM

I've had problems getting some of the HD channels since getting my receiver. The installer said that one of my big oak trees is in the way of the signal. I've been able to get CNN, Food Network, HBO, Discovery, Showtime, and a few others intermittently, and my locals in HD consistently. I got the new smart card (my 722 didn't have a card at all before) on Friday, installed it Saturday, and suddenly I can get all the HD channels. The oak still has a fair amount of leaves still on it. I'm wondering if the smart card may have helped my signal. Does anyone know what the new card does?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 02 November 2008 - 04:39 PM

The new card allows DISH to use a new encryption system to prevent the hackers from stealing the signal.

It could be that just enough of the signal is getting through the tree to allow you to watch the channels you were missing. If the tree is the problem you are going to have the same problem (or worse) in the spring. I would call dish and get the problem fixed now so you don't have to worry about it again. It could be as simple as moving the dish or you may need another dish (pointing at the 61.5 satellite) to fix your problem.
Bill R

#3 OFFLINE   Wildman63

Wildman63

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 03 November 2008 - 05:44 PM

Don't want to poop in your mess kit, but I had to move a dish when a tree grew into the path to birds. The offender was a 50+ ft fir that caused the problem at our house. The dish(es) have been working fine on the garage roof for a couple of years. It's not as pretty an installation now, but it works.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...