Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Adding a Box in a different area


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   newguy4000

newguy4000

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2008

Posted 07 November 2008 - 02:47 PM

Hi, I am moving from Minnesota to North Carolina and took one of my satellite boxes with me. It seems like every channel works fine except for the local channels. I wanted the local channels from Minnesota but they don't come in. Does anyone have any idea why these don't and/or how to fix them??
thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,378 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 07 November 2008 - 02:49 PM

Your local channels were fed to you via "spot" beams which only cover the area where you lived.

Wecome to DBSTalk!
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,346 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 November 2008 - 02:57 PM

This issue exists by design and cannot be fixed or worked around.

Understand that you are in violation of your customer agreement because you haven't told DIRECTV of the change of address. The rules allow for exactly one service address per account.

http://directv.com/D...assetId=P400042

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,813 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 07 November 2008 - 04:42 PM

Once you officially change your service address, you will get the proper local channels for your new location. As others have noted, there are both technical and legal reasons why you can't get another city's local chanels.

Carl

#5 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 08 November 2008 - 04:19 PM

Once you officially change your service address, you will get the proper local channels for your new location. As others have noted, there are both technical and legal reasons why you can't get another city's local chanels.

Carl

+1 and remember all rcvrs must be at the same address
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider




spam firewall