Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

firmware update


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 09 November 2008 - 12:35 PM

I have an HR20 and will be hooking it up to the new slimline SWM. I have read that the HR 20 is compatible w/the SWM with a 2041 firmware update. My question is how do I get the firmware update and how do I know when I have it?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 09 November 2008 - 12:44 PM

Your HR20 will automatically receive any updates it needs, you have no choice. You don't need to do anything other than install it and configure it properly.

Edit: Connect one lead only to sat-in 1.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#3 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 09 November 2008 - 02:40 PM

Your HR20 will automatically receive any updates it needs, you have no choice. You don't need to do anything other than install it and configure it properly.

Edit: Connect one lead only to sat-in 1.


thanks for the info

#4 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,100 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 09 November 2008 - 02:58 PM

Once you have the new dish/SWM LNB installed, connect the single line to Sat 1 and reboot. It should detect it's connected to an SWM and configure itself automagically. :)

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#5 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,998 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 09 November 2008 - 05:06 PM

Holding down the INFO key on your remote for several seconds will check the system status and you will be able to view the current software version. The HR20 has supported SWM for the past year or so (the latest version is 0x29b).

#6 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 09 November 2008 - 06:08 PM

If you have had it active at all in the last year or so it should be just fine as it will have automatically gotten updates as well.
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...