Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

61.5


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   packerfan31

packerfan31

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Oct 14, 2008

Posted 09 November 2008 - 09:23 PM

I recently had dish install another dish for me to get the 61.5 orbital position so I can get my locals in HD which are on that satalite. They did get me locked on that satalite. Once I can get a signal for a satalite like the 61.5 do I have to worry about that satalite moving and not getting a signal. Will a satalite stay in that position in sky.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   DNSFSS

DNSFSS

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2008

Posted 09 November 2008 - 09:27 PM

If that were the case, all satellite companies would be out of business. Although I'm not exactly sure what your question is....:confused:

I recently had dish install another dish for me to get the 61.5 orbital position so I can get my locals in HD which are on that satalite. They did get me locked on that satalite. Once I can get a signal for a satalite like the 61.5 do I have to worry about that satalite moving and not getting a signal. Will a satalite stay in that position in sky.


Please note that none of my opinions here are necessarily the opinion of my employer (DISH Network) or of Echostar Holdings Corporation (EHC). For these opinions, please visit DishNetwork.com or Echostar.com.

#3 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 09 November 2008 - 09:50 PM

I recently had dish install another dish for me to get the 61.5 orbital position so I can get my locals in HD which are on that satalite. They did get me locked on that satalite. Once I can get a signal for a satalite like the 61.5 do I have to worry about that satalite moving and not getting a signal. Will a satalite stay in that position in sky.


Your signal will not be lost due to satellite movement. Your signal will drift slightly up and down, however, but this is normal operation.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#4 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,941 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 10 November 2008 - 05:45 PM

I've had a 61.5 dish since 1999 and it hasn't fallen out of the sky yet. It did lose some of it's transponders, but there now is another, newer satellite taking up the slack (the former "Rainbow 1").
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...