Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR22 won't connect to internet


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gsk177

gsk177

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2008

Posted 13 November 2008 - 12:46 AM

OK, here is my setup.
I have wireless internet that is ran through a NETGEAR WPN824v2 and is hardwired in the house.
I can wirelessly connect 2 laptops through the NETGEAR as well as connect hardwired to every terminal in the house.

My HR22 is connected via cat cable to the terminals behind the entertainment center.
IP is 192.168.1.9
Subnet Mask is 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway is 192.168.1.1
DNS is 4.2.2.2
Network shows connected
Internet is not connected Code 22

What gives? Any suggestions?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   rudeney

rudeney

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,266 posts
Joined: May 28, 2007

Posted 13 November 2008 - 10:22 AM

Other than the IP address, are those the same addresses you see on your laptops that do work? If not, try hardcoding the gateway and DNS on the HR22 to match what is on your laptop(s). If that doesn't work, try a different DNS (OpenDNS is 208.67.222.222 or 208.67.220.220).

#3 OFFLINE   TonyDelasandro

TonyDelasandro

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2008

Posted 01 December 2008 - 08:12 PM

Other than the IP address, are those the same addresses you see on your laptops that do work? If not, try hardcoding the gateway and DNS on the HR22 to match what is on your laptop(s). If that doesn't work, try a different DNS (OpenDNS is 208.67.222.222 or 208.67.220.220).



I had a similar problem in the begining setting mine up, and I had to hardcode gateway and DNS, and now I have no problems at all....:D

#4 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 December 2008 - 03:57 PM

I also did Port Forwarding and Hardcoded the Gateway Address & the DNS!!! It worked the first time after I had failed many times trying to get the WGA54G to work.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#5 OFFLINE   MIAMI1683

MIAMI1683

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,570 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2007

Posted 02 December 2008 - 04:02 PM

Something there doesn't make sense. What is your PC's IP and numbers for dns and gateway
Sometimes it just is what it is :nono2:

#6 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 December 2008 - 04:04 PM

Are you sure that Norton's Firewall or something similar is not stopping you from getting to the Internet???
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...