Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Any Progress on Channels I Get?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Ken S

Ken S

    RIP

  • Registered
  • 6,201 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2007

Posted 21 December 2008 - 10:10 AM

Thanks for repeating what I said........(grin)

That's why I don't understand this "issue", or why it's an issue. "Channels I Get" is the list of channels available (if I subscribe to them) when the receiver scans the incoming signals. Doesn't mean I'll get all those channels (if I haven't subscribed to them).

As a subscriber (who pays the bill), I should know which channels I'm suppose to get. Knowing that, it's easy to use one or both of the custom lists to tailor my own list of channels I REALLY get.

On my H20, My Custom1 is the list of all the channels I REALLY get. Custom2 is the list of OTA channels I'm pulling in.......




I was agreeing with you and implying its current title is correct...it's the functionality that is flawed.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   russdog

russdog

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 453 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 21 December 2008 - 11:03 AM

To be fair to DirecTV, there has indeed been some recent improvement in the CIG. But they still have a long ways to go. In the past month or so, they have taken care of most channels in the 200-380 range.

To be fair to D*, it's a $billion-company, yet people make excuses for them like they're a charity outfit employing the mentally disabled.
To be fair to me, the problem about the channel guide is the same as always, including multiple channels within that range.
My hunch is that they're just ignoring their db's lineup problems re: TC+.
I bet if somebody at D* actually looked into it, they could have it fixed within a couple hours, tops.

#23 OFFLINE   cebbigh

cebbigh

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 517 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2005

Posted 21 December 2008 - 08:48 PM

With dish if you block a channel it is as if it did not exist. I really wish DTV would do the same. Why? Because it makes search for movies on hd channels I care about much more efficient. Booleans are fine, but are a lot of work to get to a less efficient solution. They may think it is smart from a marketing perspective to make you see channels you don't subscribe to. I just find it irritating and it seems like an easy thing for them to change.
Chuck
TV: Mitsubishi 57" 1080p DLP (WD-Y577)
DTV: HR20-100 & HR21-700
BLU-RAY (Panasonic BD-35)
Netflix/Roku player

#24 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,434 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 21 December 2008 - 08:59 PM

With dish if you block a channel it is as if it did not exist. I really wish DTV would do the same. [...] They may think it is smart from a marketing perspective to make you see channels you don't subscribe to. I just find it irritating and it seems like an easy thing for them to change.

Ding, Ding, Ding! We have another winner! /steve
/steve

#25 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,211 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 21 December 2008 - 09:55 PM

I've subscribed for two years and "Channels I Get" has never worked properly.

What I don't understand is that if I select a channel that I don't get that is in the guide I get a "channel not purchased" error message. I would think that if the DirecTv software is smart enough to put up this message it should also be smart enough to not list the channel in the guide to begin with.

DirecTV has made an attempt to gray out the channels I don't get in the guide but they haven't been completely successful. I would really prefer that they not show them at all.

I've obviously learned to live with the defect, but it is especially annoying when running searches.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#26 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:01 AM

Directv's Marketing Department wants you to be able to see them in hopes that you will eventually decide to include them in your lineup of channels to watch so they can receive more Revenue. That is why they don't fully remove them but just grey them out. Also, if they add channels or move them around via the position on the satellite they will show back up and that is irritating but they will not show up in your Custom Guide which is why I recommend Custom Guides.

That is why I have 2 Custom Guides that I use so I don't have to see those channels I don't want or need to see.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#27 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,832 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:07 AM

The problem is that often many of the channels you don't get are not grayed out but look the same as the ones you do get.

We need more than two favorites lists, also, IMHO.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#28 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:12 AM

We definitely need more than TWO Favorite Channel Guides for sure!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#29 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,434 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:34 AM

I've obviously learned to live with the defect, but it is especially annoying when running searches.

Yes, because when you select a show to record on a channel you don't get from SEARCH results, it tells you it may not record, but allows you to schedule it anyway. I guess they do that thinking you'll schedule it and then call and subscribe to the channel? /steve
/steve

#30 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,639 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 22 December 2008 - 11:24 AM

I've subscribed for two years and "Channels I Get" has never worked properly.

What I don't understand is that if I select a channel that I don't get that is in the guide I get a "channel not purchased" error message. I would think that if the DirecTv software is smart enough to put up this message it should also be smart enough to not list the channel in the guide to begin with.

DirecTV has made an attempt to gray out the channels I don't get in the guide but they haven't been completely successful. I would really prefer that they not show them at all.

I've obviously learned to live with the defect, but it is especially annoying when running searches.


I've been here since 1995, and it worked perfectly with TiVo. I was able to set autorecords with no problems whatsoever.

Fortunately, I am sometimes saved by games search. The autorecord tries to record on a channel I don't get, then it realizes that I don't get the channel and it searches for a channel I do get.

Nevertheless, it is frustrating to get all sorts of movie results in a search from Showtime 3 and Encore, which persist in the guide regardless of my package. Outside of hockey games, I cannot set any kind of autorecord without having to delete the ones from channels I dont' get.

As to favorites, that is fine if we could key our searches and autorecords to favorites, but that function has never been enabled on the HR2x series.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#31 OFFLINE   ub1934

ub1934

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
  • LocationUpState NY
Joined: Dec 30, 2005

Posted 22 December 2008 - 11:39 AM

Should show only the channels that are in the package i pay for

#32 OFFLINE   Jashobeam

Jashobeam

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2005

Posted 10 January 2009 - 02:50 PM

To me this is a huge issue. It makes both the search/DOD functions crippled. I hate having to weed through listings for shows on channels I don't have in my package.


Same here. I hate it. It makes searching for shows I will actually watch if I could find them frustrating.

#33 OFFLINE   Jashobeam

Jashobeam

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2005

Posted 10 January 2009 - 02:53 PM

With dish if you block a channel it is as if it did not exist. I really wish DTV would do the same.


Me, too. When my child learns to read I'm going to have to do all my searches with her not in the room. A simple search for an old comedy can come up with a list of vulgar show titles on channels I wish I could completely block so they never show up in searches or even on the All Channels option. Block should mean block.

#34 OFFLINE   BillyBob_jcv

BillyBob_jcv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2006

Posted 10 January 2009 - 10:53 PM

I would like to see some useful functions in the Custom list - like: "Add/Delete All PPV", and "Add/Delete All XM", Shopping, Non-English, etc. And the choices made should apply *everywhere* - guide, search, autorecord, etc. Does DTV Marketing really believe that after 10+ years of subscribing, one day I might wake up and decide I really do want to watch something on Galavision, GOD TV or GEMS? :rolleyes:

#35 OFFLINE   Tubaman-Z

Tubaman-Z

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 498 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 11 January 2009 - 10:58 AM

Me, too. When my child learns to read I'm going to have to do all my searches with her not in the room. A simple search for an old comedy can come up with a list of vulgar show titles on channels I wish I could completely block so they never show up in searches or even on the All Channels option. Block should mean block.

Jashobeam, I completely agree. While my wife and I were watching a football game a couple of weeks ago I searched for the new season of "24" (Search by title) to add it to the series links. I have the adult blocks turned on. Well...the list of titles that came up that started with '2' contained far more porn content than non-porn. Admittedly "24" was on the list, but I find it reprehensible that D*'s blocking protocols are so poor.

Kevin

My top 5 wishlist: 1) Free MRV HR to HR 2) Fix Channels I Receive so that it is accurate 3) > 50 SeriesLink 4) Usage of both internal and external drives concurrently 5) Support for other video providers as DoD (i.e. Hulu, CBS)   

DirecTV HR21-200, 2008 (DirecTV anniversary gift)
DirecTV HR20-100 (2TB eSATA), 2007
DirecTV since 1995

<><





spam firewall