Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Old receivers, lack of features


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tharron

tharron

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 04:13 PM

Curiouse, I'm *really* getting excited with potential new features, but..

I've got an HR20-100, an H20-100, and like, 3 old D11-100's. If I want to replace the H20-100 with a newer HD receiver, or even replace the SD D11-100's with newer receivers, is there any course to DO that? I mean, I paid for the H20-100 when I had it installed a few years back (paid as in, they charged me for the pleasure of getting it, as I dont own it).

Just curious if there was any sort of standard route without getting nailed for a hundred bucks each time.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,460 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 14 November 2008 - 04:16 PM

Just got my wifes D11-500 replaced. They sent me a H21-100 and it had all the cables including a HDMI only thing was no BBC but got that shiped the next day.

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HD-A30 w/ Harmony 880
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-200

HR24-100

H25-100

Marantz NR1603 A/V 7.1

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#3 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 04:21 PM

You can probably convince DirecTV to give you a service credit for the price of the new receiver and pick one up a Best Buy. That' how I justified upgrading from an H20 to an HR20. Next step is to see what I can get for an R15 to go HR2X.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#4 OFFLINE   tharron

tharron

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 04:30 PM

Just got my wifes D11-500 replaced. They sent me a H21-100 and it had all the cables including a HDMI only thing was no BBC but got that shiped the next day.


But how did you do it? Call and asked nicely? Accidentally, say, 'dropped it on it's head'?

#5 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 14 November 2008 - 04:47 PM

Curiouse, I'm *really* getting excited with potential new features, but..

I've got an HR20-100, an H20-100, and like, 3 old D11-100's. If I want to replace the H20-100 with a newer HD receiver, or even replace the SD D11-100's with newer receivers, is there any course to DO that? I mean, I paid for the H20-100 when I had it installed a few years back (paid as in, they charged me for the pleasure of getting it, as I dont own it).

Just curious if there was any sort of standard route without getting nailed for a hundred bucks each time.


Other than the ethernet port on the H21/H23, and SWM compatibility of the D12 there is no additional features in those boxes vs what you currently have.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#6 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,642 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 14 November 2008 - 04:49 PM

Just got my wifes D11-500 replaced. They sent me a H21-100 and it had all the cables including a HDMI only thing was no BBC but got that shiped the next day.


But how did you do it? Call and asked nicely? Accidentally, say, 'dropped it on it's head'?

I'd suspect that he asked if they could upgrade the SD unit to an HD unit and DirecTV did....

But as for swapping an H20 for an H21 or 23, I'd suspect they'd be less inclined to do that outright.

#7 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 06:18 PM

Other than the ethernet port on the H21/H23, and SWM compatibility of the D12 there is no additional features in those boxes vs what you currently have.


Don't forget the OTA thing. No ATSC tuner in the newer boxes. Folks look for recon H20s.



Joe

#8 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,460 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 14 November 2008 - 06:24 PM

But how did you do it? Call and asked nicely? Accidentally, say, 'dropped it on it's head'?


Called them and asked nicely. Just told them i wanted to upgrade her reciver only paid the shiping cost and no new commitment either

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HD-A30 w/ Harmony 880
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-200

HR24-100

H25-100

Marantz NR1603 A/V 7.1

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#9 OFFLINE   tharron

tharron

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 07:12 PM

Other than the ethernet port on the H21/H23, and SWM compatibility of the D12 there is no additional features in those boxes vs what you currently have.


Mostly, I'm really hoping that MRV can work with those ethernet ports. I have 6 receivers, and I REALLY don't want to have 6 DVRs in the house.. :-D

#10 OFFLINE   tharron

tharron

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 07:13 PM

Don't forget the OTA thing. No ATSC tuner in the newer boxes. Folks look for recon H20s.

Joe


Don't have an OTA connected to mine, honestly. I'm out in the boonies, and everything OTA I could receive is on DirecTV already.

#11 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 14 November 2008 - 08:04 PM

Don't have an OTA connected to mine, honestly. I'm out in the boonies, and everything OTA I could receive is on DirecTV already.


Glad that worked.

I found out the hard way there were no OTA ports on the newer boxes. When I opened the boxes there were no OTA ports. My customer wondered who would know if I didn't. You would think someone would have mentioned it.......you know.......... on a "Need To Know" basis.

I await surprises with these SWMs.......but not enough to turn myself in to the local HSP.

Joe




spam firewall