Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

KA/KU 3 LNB On Triple Sat


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   s57061b

s57061b

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 04:56 PM

Has anyone tried putting a KA/KU 3 LNB on a triple sat dish . If so how did it work.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 04:58 PM

Has anyone tried putting a KA/KU 3 LNB on a triple sat dish . If so how did it work.


yes someone has, and yes it worked.
see here http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=139735
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#3 OFFLINE   s57061b

s57061b

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:10 PM

thanks the link helped

#4 OFFLINE   peevy

peevy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2007

Posted 27 December 2008 - 04:07 PM

Did one last week because the Triple sat was on side of roof, and they had a metal roof, so we are not allowed to mount to metal. I had been told that it would work and to my surprise,,, all sats were above 90. She had purchased her own HR21 and was not receiving all hd.

#5 OFFLINE   avmaster

avmaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: May 29, 2008

Posted 28 December 2008 - 12:32 PM

They will work, but you cannot peak the dish nearly as well as you can on a slimline.

I was thinking a good hybrid would be the Phase 3 using a dish network 1000.2 reflector, it would be interesting to try it. The 1000.2 is about 6" wider than the phase3and the AZ/EL should bolt right up to it.

Of course, none of these are ever going to pass any DirecTV QC, and you would probably get beaten like a readheaded stepchild if you ever did it as a professinal installer.

#6 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 28 December 2008 - 01:03 PM

This a service call and chargeback waiting to happen. A good chance of a beating as well from the guy that actually has to do it RIGHT the 2nd time. :nono2:
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#7 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 28 December 2008 - 08:04 PM

This a service call and chargeback waiting to happen. A good chance of a beating as well from the guy that actually has to do it RIGHT the 2nd time. :nono2:


Absolutely!

It's one thing to do this for your own house, when YOU are responsible and YOU know what the limitations are. It is absolutely unthinkable to set up a customer that way, and is in no way supported by DirecTV. As an installer, you need to either be able to do the job all the way right, or not at all. In-between is "Chargeback Land."




Protected By... spam firewall...And...