Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

PlayOn: Watch Hulu, YouTube, CBS, CNN, ESPN, and Netflix on your TV using your HR20?


  • Please log in to reply
568 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cnmsales

cnmsales

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,296 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 23 November 2008 - 09:54 PM

So I have been using this product for a while now to stream stuff to my xbox from hulu and cbs. Tonight I got a wild hare and tried it on the hr20, guess what, it works. NICE. Some good stuff on it too. Check it out.


http://www.themediamall.com/playon

Thought others might be interested, especially if you dont have a xbox or ps3.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   FranklyFred

FranklyFred

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 23 November 2008 - 11:39 PM

Works well, did you figure out a way to get the media mall GUI to show up using HR20-100 Would like to check out the radio feature

#3 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 24 November 2008 - 07:52 AM

nice, i will have to try it when i get home.
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,828 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 November 2008 - 08:18 AM

This has worked on DIRECTV HD DVRs for some time, and in fact some of our members are working with The Media Mall to further improve it. There are some trickplay issues and some speed issues but it is, as we say, getting better all the time.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   skylox

skylox

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:02 AM

SO, I just checked out the site. Now wich one do I pick to install?
Active TV or PLayOn?
Sorry this mifht be a dumb question.

Thanks
HR22-100 x2 (HDMI), New Slimline 3LNB, TVs: 42" Vizio 1080p LCD and 32" 720p JVC LCD, Sony 5.1 HTIB, PS3, Wii, Xbox360 Elite, 2 Harmony Remote
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/476174851.png"></a>

#6 OFFLINE   rahlquist

rahlquist

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,631 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:11 AM

SO, I just checked out the site. Now wich one do I pick to install?
Active TV or PLayOn?
Sorry this mifht be a dumb question.

Thanks


PlayON

The only stupid question is the one that goes unasked.

#7 OFFLINE   skylox

skylox

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:16 AM

Thanks. Now do I then just install it on my computer and then just access my pc from my HR22?
HR22-100 x2 (HDMI), New Slimline 3LNB, TVs: 42" Vizio 1080p LCD and 32" 720p JVC LCD, Sony 5.1 HTIB, PS3, Wii, Xbox360 Elite, 2 Harmony Remote
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/476174851.png"></a>

#8 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,828 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:19 AM

Install it on your computer, leave the computer on, and if your DVR is networked, you should be able to go to "Music, Photos, and More" in the Menu and see the content menu.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:20 AM

Poo, Windoze only

#10 OFFLINE   skylox

skylox

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:21 AM

Ok cool, Thanks guys
HR22-100 x2 (HDMI), New Slimline 3LNB, TVs: 42" Vizio 1080p LCD and 32" 720p JVC LCD, Sony 5.1 HTIB, PS3, Wii, Xbox360 Elite, 2 Harmony Remote
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/476174851.png"></a>

#11 OFFLINE   PressureContent

PressureContent

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: May 05, 2008

Posted 24 November 2008 - 09:57 AM

Tried is and it works good. Although the performance seems slightly better on my 360 than the HR21-700.

#12 OFFLINE   EricRobins

EricRobins

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 463 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2005

Posted 24 November 2008 - 11:51 AM

I have used the PlayOn software for a few weeks. It runs pretty well, and is a nice piece of software, but I am not sure its worth the $30 they are charging for it.

I wonder how much of my performance issues stem from the fact that the machine I have it installed on is a PC from early 2002 (about 1.6, 768 mb ram).

#13 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 24 November 2008 - 12:00 PM

I've used it a bit and it seems to work well. I still have some what of a problem paying for something they are still calling beta. Beta says it is still in testing and not ready to be sold but they are still trying to sell it to me.

#14 OFFLINE   Bushwacr

Bushwacr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2007

Posted 24 November 2008 - 04:30 PM

I have used the PlayOn software for a few weeks. It runs pretty well, and is a nice piece of software, but I am not sure its worth the $30 they are charging for it.

I wonder how much of my performance issues stem from the fact that the machine I have it installed on is a PC from early 2002 (about 1.6, 768 mb ram).


I believe the minimum specs are 1.8Gz machine and 512 Ram. At those specs you have to run it in whatever the Minimum mode is which is not good.

I get no problems on a dual core AMD 4400 or 5600 and 2G Ram at Max. It needs power to decode; though not as much as other software I run.

Edit: You might try the "Process entire video before start" setting to eliminate the pressure of decoding and streaming at the same time.

#15 OFFLINE   fluffybear

fluffybear

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,115 posts
  • LocationPeachtree City, GA.
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 24 November 2008 - 05:27 PM

Thank You for pointing me to this program! It works fairly well and am looking forward to an evening of watching Lour Grant and S.W.A.T., 2 shows I miss deeply.

Proud DirecTV customer since July, 1994

My Q3 2014 Set-Up


#16 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:28 AM

I'm home sick today so I got this up and running and it works great! Watched all kinds of stuff including full length feature films on Hulu. This works sooooo much better then anything else I've ever tried. And it's very simple to use and install.

I'll register this for sure assuming I keep using it.

#17 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,935 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:38 AM

So I have been using this product for a while now to stream stuff to my xbox from hulu and cbs. Tonight I got a wild hare and tried it on the hr20, guess what, it works. NICE. Some good stuff on it too. Check it out.


http://www.themediamall.com/playon

Thought others might be interested, especially if you dont have a xbox or ps3.


Thanks cnmsales!
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#18 OFFLINE   psweig

psweig

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,070 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2006

Posted 25 November 2008 - 09:44 AM

My God, I'm watching old episodes of Beauty and the Beast ! Thank you cnmsales.
:) :) :)
Antique
___________
slimline, WB68
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR23-700 (passed away, hard drive in lieu of flowers), Panasonic TC-32LX85, Two receivers HDMI (Toslink audio to Sherwood R7502 7.1 A/V Receiver in living room). One receiver component.
Wired network, from Dell 530S, 2.2Dual, 3gig mem, vod enabled, AT&T 2WIRE Broadband Router in computer room. 3 mgbit download speed.
Three composite hookups to RCA RF modulator to 20" Toshiba SD TV in bedroom and 13" Samsung TV in computer room.
Added blu-ray panasonic xmas 2008, added D-link switch in living room, Roku player, March 2009.

#19 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,538 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 25 November 2008 - 10:18 AM

There have been several threads on this software and I am really surprised there hasn't been a very enthusiastic response to it. I've been on it for about 3 months and paid the $30.00 for the software. If you get a chance, take a look at 24:Redemption on Hulu. The PQ is outstanding. I'd probably pay $50 for the software, so I think I got a deal.

Earlier betas showed that they are also working to add a music/photos/videos player from your PC. They cleaned that menu off, but it is still in the works.

#20 OFFLINE   87vert

87vert

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2008

Posted 25 November 2008 - 10:57 AM

how does this compare to tversity?




spam firewall