Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

PlayOn: Watch Hulu, YouTube, CBS, CNN, ESPN, and Netflix on your TV using your HR20?


  • Please log in to reply
568 replies to this topic

#521 OFFLINE   Alexandrepsf

Alexandrepsf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 738 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2005

Posted 03 July 2009 - 04:41 PM

FYI that PlayOn was updated and the Revision 3 plugin also updated.

And in case you didn't know there is already a community of Plugin writers springing up. Right now I'm streaming various things like Comedy Central, FoodNetwork, The Onion, HGTV, PBS, VH1, CNET, NASA and all of the TWiT network.

Check it out: http://www.playonplugins.com/

Do note that the plugins are still alpha testing but they do work quite well. The PlayOn devs have endorsed the Plugin site so it's all good.

Hi,

I installed the player and downloaded HGTV and Adult Swim plugin. I restarted Playon and can see them in the list of the plugins, but when I go on my TV I only see the list of the official links, how can i access the plugins when they are installed?

Thanks for your help,
Alex
DirecTV since 2002
HR34-100
HR22-104
HR23-100
Deca BB
Samsung SmarTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#522 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,731 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 July 2009 - 05:16 PM

Hi,

I installed the player and downloaded HGTV and Adult Swim plugin. I restarted Playon and can see them in the list of the plugins, but when I go on my TV I only see the list of the official links, how can i access the plugins when they are installed?

Thanks for your help,
Alex

When you go to Music, Photos & More, go to My Computers and then look for your PC name where PlayOn is isntalled. In my case, when I select that server I see the following at the right:

Netflix
Amazon OD (Beta)
Hulu
CBS
YouTube
CNN
ESPN
FoodNetwork
HGTV
Revision3
SharedMedia (Beta)

(The items in bold are the three plugins I downloaded and saved to c:\Program Files\MediaMall\plugins)

Pressing SELECT on any of the names above will go out to the network or internet to obtain a current list of titles for your selection, so there will be a lag, but then you should see the list populate and can press SELECT to play any available title.

Hope this helps ...

#523 OFFLINE   Alexandrepsf

Alexandrepsf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 738 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2005

Posted 03 July 2009 - 05:23 PM

When you go to Music, Photos & More, go to My Computers and then look for your PC name where PlayOn is isntalled. In my case, when I select that server I see the following at the right:

Netflix
Amazon OD (Beta)
Hulu
CBS
YouTube
CNN
ESPN
FoodNetwork
HGTV
Revision3
SharedMedia (Beta)

(The items in bold are the three plugins I downloaded and saved to c:\Program Files\MediaMall\plugins)

Pressing SELECT on any of the names above will go out to the network or internet to obtain a current list of titles for your selection, so there will be a lag, but then you should see the list populate and can press SELECT to play any available title.

Hope this helps ...


Hi Drew,

Long time no talk. Hope all is good with you.

I can see the installed plugins in PlayOn Settings Plugin option, and they are all enabled, but on my screen I only see:
Netflix
Amazon OD (Beta)
Hulu
CBS
YouTube
CNN
ESPN

The other two installed plugins are not there. Not sure what I need to do to have them on my TV.

Thanks,
Alex
DirecTV since 2002
HR34-100
HR22-104
HR23-100
Deca BB
Samsung SmarTV

#524 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,731 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 July 2009 - 05:37 PM

Alex - I'm well, thanks! Hope you are as well!

Since you can see the custom plugins in the PC app, you should be able to see them via the DVR, so I think I'm out of ideas. The only one I have, which I doubt would have any affect, is to restart the DVR. Sorry - that's all I can think of. I'm very new to PlayOn myself. :(

#525 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 03 July 2009 - 06:15 PM

Try bringing up the Playon Settings on your PC and click the stop button to stop the server. Wait say 30 seconds and then start it again (may take 15-20 seconds for it to start). Then verify the plugins are enabled.

Also possible you have out of date plugins. Be sure you have the latest version of the plugins and that they are compatible with the recent Playon update. The most recent update of PlayOn last week broke every single plugin because the API changed so the authors would have had to update them.

And this is why I actually much prefer getting the feeds via OPML instead of the plugins because you don't need to worry about all those plugins staying up to date. You can use the Podcast plugin to serve up the OPML files or even better get the new Playon Apps plugin for it. Both are updated to the latest API.

#526 OFFLINE   DJPellegrino

DJPellegrino

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 05 July 2009 - 08:13 AM

Hi Drew,

Long time no talk. Hope all is good with you.

I can see the installed plugins in PlayOn Settings Plugin option, and they are all enabled, but on my screen I only see:
Netflix
Amazon OD (Beta)
Hulu
CBS
YouTube
CNN
ESPN

The other two installed plugins are not there. Not sure what I need to do to have them on my TV.

Thanks,
Alex


Alex, you also need to ensure that in the plugins tab, that they are enabled by ensuring the checkmark is in the box. Stop and start play-on and you should be good to go unless you have outdated plugins.
Press Here for my setup info

#527 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 06 July 2009 - 12:59 PM

PlayOn is awesome!!!

I first started using WMP11 to stream to my HR22 but found out that the DirecTV box doesn't like WMP and won't play anything using WMP11. My Sammy TV loves WMP and plays almost everything.

I then tried TVersity and although this works well with my HR it doesn't work with my Sammy TV.

The problem with TVersity is that it is NOT Vista friendly and it does not like WMP. I can't believe this app COMPLETLY DISABLES WMP!!! For those 2 reasons alone I feel it is not worth the trouble. I actually find it hard to believe anyone is willing to use it with those incompatibilities. People are moving away from XP and Microsoft will no longer support XP in 2010. Vista is the new OS and we are quickly moving away from that to Windows 7.

If TVersity wants to be a player in the market they really need to think things over and step into the present. I would not recommend this software to anyone.

I then decided to try Nero's Media Home and although this works well with my HR it doesn't work with my Sammy TV. But at least with Nero you don't have to disable UAC and it works with WMP.

My last try with PlayOn shows a clear winner here. Not only does it work great with my Sammy it works great with my HR22. It is loaded with features and does not interfere with WMP11. I have access to all my local files and they all play (mp4, mvk, flv) of course it plays all other extensions as well.
I don't have to disble UAC and the install is as smooth as silk. The only drawback it that it costs money!!!

Given all of the positives with PlayOn, I guess they are going to get my money :rolleyes:

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64


#528 OFFLINE   rook

rook

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2008

Posted 20 July 2009 - 09:34 AM

Anybody know if PlayOn plays backed up DVD's that are stored on HD in VOB?
HR21 w/ 1tb esata Hard drive
HR22 Stock

#529 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,911 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 20 July 2009 - 11:30 AM

For some reason my Netflix instant queue will not play in PlayOn? Anyone else having this issue? Hulu and the rest of the features work ok

I have an R22-200.
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#530 OFFLINE   dnelms

dnelms

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 20 July 2009 - 11:34 AM

Anybody know if PlayOn plays backed up DVD's that are stored on HD in VOB?


Get the Local Files plugin at playon plugins. Only problem is that it will only play VOB files one at the time. ALso, the new beta of Playon has something similar with the same limitation. The developer of the plugin is very responsive to suggestions.

#531 OFFLINE   mworks

mworks

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 20 July 2009 - 11:45 AM

A couple tips for those having trouble with local video files and playon.

First download media info. It is a small free app that will let you see all the details of the video file.
http://mediainfo.sou...ownload/Windows

Compare what you see with some of the standard formats. It does not mean that your file has to match, but these are some of the standard file formats that work across most hardware and software so if you have a choice you know what to get. Resolutions is one where many people run into problems because people use non standard sizes. I have some xvid files in really weird sizes .


Resolutions
------------------------
2.35 640 x 272 Anamorphic Widescreen
1.85 640 x 344 or 720 x 388
1.78 640 x 360 or 720 x 404 16:9
1.33 640 x 480 or 720 x 540 4:3
720p 1280 x 720 16:9
1.33 1280 x 960 4:3
1080i 1920 x 1080 16:9


Video Disc
-----------------
VCD NTSC MPEG1 352 x 240 29.97fps 1152Kbps
VCD PAL MPEG1 352 x 288 25fps 1152kbps
SVCD NTSC MPEG2 480 x 480 29.97fps 2500kbps
SVCD PAL MPEG2 480 x 576 25fps 2500kbps
DVD NTSC MPEG2 720 x 480 29.97fps 6000Kbps
DVD PAL MPEG2 720 x 576 25fps 6000Kbps


DivX home theater profile standard
-------------------------------------
720 x 480 30fps or 720 x 576 25fps
40500 Macorblocks per second
4000 kbps Maximum average bitrate
8000 kbps Maximum peak bitrate during any 1 second
385KB Minimum VBV buffer size
Bidirectional encoding is supported
Interlaced video is supported

DivX High Def Profile standard
--------------------------------------
1280 x 720 30fps
108000 Macorblocks per second
8000 kbps Maximum average bitrate
32000 kbps Maximum peak bitrate during any 1 second
768KB Minimum VBV buffer size
Bidirectional encoding is supported
Interlaced video is supported


You need a codec for each format that you intend to play back. Playon uses the windows media SDK for codecs, so you need codecs that are WMP functional , some codec packs do not set this up correctly.
Latest WMP codecs that I know works, current as of July 7,2009

http://download.cnet...4-10662709.html


It is important to remove all other codec installs before installing the above codecs.

Good luck !

Edited by mworks, 20 July 2009 - 11:50 AM.


#532 OFFLINE   rook

rook

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2008

Posted 20 July 2009 - 12:04 PM

Get the Local Files plugin at playon plugins. Only problem is that it will only play VOB files one at the time. ALso, the new beta of Playon has something similar with the same limitation. The developer of the plugin is very responsive to suggestions.


Why would I want to play more than one file at a time? I don't see that as a limitation.
HR21 w/ 1tb esata Hard drive
HR22 Stock

#533 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,731 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 20 July 2009 - 07:25 PM

Why would I want to play more than one file at a time? I don't see that as a limitation.

A single movie on a DVD can be split across multiple VOB files, so unless you didn't mind starting and stopping multiple times, you'd want a player/service that would basically mimic a DVD player and let you select which "title" to play, not which VOB to play.

#534 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:51 AM

Hey, mworks, thanks for the codecs link. I installed some a couple years ago and been looking for more up to date ones.

PlayOn still working well here. Do note that with both Netflix and Hulu that sometimes you need to try 2-3 times for it to "kick in".

Most of what I use it for other then Hulu is the various video podcasts around the net and I'm now going back to using Miro a lot and then use the local files ability of PlayOn to stream them locally from the Miro download area. Then I can watch the shows either on my computer or thru PlayOn. Works great.

#535 OFFLINE   Bushwacr

Bushwacr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2007

Posted 21 July 2009 - 11:37 AM

A couple tips for those having trouble with local video files and playon.

First download media info. It is a small free app that will let you see all the details of the video file.
http://mediainfo.sou...ownload/Windows

Compare what you see with some of the standard formats. It does not mean that your file has to match, but these are some of the standard file formats that work across most hardware and software so if you have a choice you know what to get. Resolutions is one where many people run into problems because people use non standard sizes. I have some xvid files in really weird sizes .


Resolutions
------------------------
2.35 640 x 272 Anamorphic Widescreen
1.85 640 x 344 or 720 x 388
1.78 640 x 360 or 720 x 404 16:9
1.33 640 x 480 or 720 x 540 4:3
720p 1280 x 720 16:9
1.33 1280 x 960 4:3
1080i 1920 x 1080 16:9


Video Disc
-----------------
VCD NTSC MPEG1 352 x 240 29.97fps 1152Kbps
VCD PAL MPEG1 352 x 288 25fps 1152kbps
SVCD NTSC MPEG2 480 x 480 29.97fps 2500kbps
SVCD PAL MPEG2 480 x 576 25fps 2500kbps
DVD NTSC MPEG2 720 x 480 29.97fps 6000Kbps
DVD PAL MPEG2 720 x 576 25fps 6000Kbps


DivX home theater profile standard
-------------------------------------
720 x 480 30fps or 720 x 576 25fps
40500 Macorblocks per second
4000 kbps Maximum average bitrate
8000 kbps Maximum peak bitrate during any 1 second
385KB Minimum VBV buffer size
Bidirectional encoding is supported
Interlaced video is supported

DivX High Def Profile standard
--------------------------------------
1280 x 720 30fps
108000 Macorblocks per second
8000 kbps Maximum average bitrate
32000 kbps Maximum peak bitrate during any 1 second
768KB Minimum VBV buffer size
Bidirectional encoding is supported
Interlaced video is supported


You need a codec for each format that you intend to play back. Playon uses the windows media SDK for codecs, so you need codecs that are WMP functional , some codec packs do not set this up correctly.
Latest WMP codecs that I know works, current as of July 7,2009

http://download.cnet...4-10662709.html


It is important to remove all other codec installs before installing the above codecs.

Good luck !


No!!!!! MediaMall has clearly stated numerous times that they do not use and can't use external codecs. They use their own internal set and do not use the DirectShow interface.

#536 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 30 July 2009 - 08:02 AM

I know I'm late to this party. However, I finally downloaded and installed Playon. Wow, this thing is great! Nothing like checking out YouTube on a big screen TV. Very impressive video quality. If you have not downloaded this yet, go for it!

#537 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,044 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 05 August 2009 - 07:04 AM

I just installed PlayOn and the local files plug in. The web stuff (hulu etc.) works, although as someone else posted, sometimes I have to try it two or three times to get it to start, but not a big deal. I can't get any of my local videos or pictures to show up using the regular PlayOn functionality (I know it's still beta) - it says no files found or whatever.

My question is that I can get videos to play through the local files plug in, but it squishes my 16:9 videos into 4:3 pillar boxed. Does anyone know how to fix that? And it only gives me an option for videos, it doesn't give an option for audio or images. Is there something I'm misssing?

#538 OFFLINE   Ric

Ric

    Godfather

  • Gold Members
  • 474 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2002

Posted 05 August 2009 - 08:38 AM

I just upgraded Playon to the 7/29 release and now receiver won't access it anymore. Still works on Xbox - not sure what the issue is with receiver - anyone else having a problem with latest release?

#539 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 05 August 2009 - 12:04 PM

I just installed PlayOn and the local files plug in. The web stuff (hulu etc.) works, although as someone else posted, sometimes I have to try it two or three times to get it to start, but not a big deal. I can't get any of my local videos or pictures to show up using the regular PlayOn functionality (I know it's still beta) - it says no files found or whatever.

My question is that I can get videos to play through the local files plug in, but it squishes my 16:9 videos into 4:3 pillar boxed. Does anyone know how to fix that? And it only gives me an option for videos, it doesn't give an option for audio or images. Is there something I'm misssing?


The latest PlayOn has local files access built in, no need for the older user created Plugin unless it has a feature you need not available by default.

#540 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,044 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 05 August 2009 - 03:04 PM

The latest PlayOn has local files access built in, no need for the older user created Plugin unless it has a feature you need not available by default.


The feature I need is that it actually plays the videos. As I said, I can't get the built-in local file player to work - when I go into it on the HR it shows no files available or whatever it says. So I need to use the plug-in.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...