Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

flat coax cable

rsn's

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:18 PM

is the flat coax cable used for windows and doors ok to use with HD equipment?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:20 PM

is the flat coax cable used for windows and doors ok to use with HD equipment?

there are some that are rated for HD, so if it is rated as such then yes
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#3 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:27 PM

there are some that are rated for HD, so if it is rated as such then yes


were would I find one thats rated for HD? Also would it work with the SWM

#4 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:35 PM

were would I find one thats rated for HD?

solidsignal
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:21 PM

If you're using a SWM, you don't need the HD version, BUT... do not use the flat cable on a patio door or anywhere the flat cable is going to sustain damage, because the power inserter will be pumping lots of DC power through it and it could potentially be a fire hazard. Go through a window, and try to use the window as little as possible and be gentle on the cable.

I don't do an install that requires flat cables on a patio door, because the customer (or their friends/family/guests) always slam the door and damage the flat cable, causing endless service calls.

#6 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:53 PM

If you're using a SWM, you don't need the HD version, BUT... do not use the flat cable on a patio door or anywhere the flat cable is going to sustain damage, because the power inserter will be pumping lots of DC power through it and it could potentially be a fire hazard. Go through a window, and try to use the window as little as possible and be gentle on the cable.

I don't do an install that requires flat cables on a patio door, because the customer (or their friends/family/guests) always slam the door and damage the flat cable, causing endless service calls.


Exactly,

If they would just make them about two feet long the damage to the fitting area might be eliminated.

I charge extra to use them and give the customer two spares.

Joe

#7 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:00 PM

Exactly,

If they would just make them about two feet long the damage to the fitting area might be eliminated.

I charge extra to use them and give the customer two spares.

Joe



the sad thing is that I bet that they could make a device that converted the signal into light pulses, you could mount two of them on either side of some glass and that should work
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#8 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 04 December 2008 - 12:14 AM

the sad thing is that I bet that they could make a device that converted the signal into light pulses, you could mount two of them on either side of some glass and that should work


Drills are cheaper.

There must be a wi fi way to do this stuff.

Joe

#9 OFFLINE   Rockaway1836

Rockaway1836

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 514 posts
  • LocationMyrtle Beach
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 04 December 2008 - 03:53 AM

Years ago Toshiba made something called a glass link. It was expensive and never really caught on. The closest thing to it that I could find on the net isn't made anymore either.
http://www.smarthome.com/7816.html

#10 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:43 AM

Still would have to get power to "outside" tho..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#11 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 04 December 2008 - 09:30 AM

Years ago Toshiba made something called a glass link. It was expensive and never really caught on. The closest thing to it that I could find on the net isn't made anymore either.
http://www.smarthome.com/7816.html


very cool....surprised it didn't catch on.....

#12 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 04 December 2008 - 11:27 AM

Power is the reason; sat coax not only passes RF signal, but also DC power. Most solutions that would require power on the outside cause the same problems as having the cable; it's easier to drill.

#13 OFFLINE   avmaster

avmaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: May 29, 2008

Posted 04 December 2008 - 04:06 PM

screw flat cables, I will not use them. They are tacky and they break too easily.

#14 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 05 December 2008 - 11:14 AM

screw flat cables, I will not use them. They are tacky and they break too easily.



what would you do if you lived at an apartment that won't allow you to drill?

#15 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 05 December 2008 - 11:56 AM

Drill anyway, and either repair the hole yourself or pay out of the deposit for it to be repaired when you leave. That's what most tenants do. They won't through you out of the place for a (sealed) hole in the wall.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...