Welcome to DBSTalk

Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.

Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

A couple horrible days as a technician!!!

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   avmaster

avmaster

Legend

• Registered
  • 125 posts

Posted 04 December 2008 - 02:52 PM

Direct tv tech here, I have been doing this for just over 2 years, I take pride in my workmanship, and I have had very few problems. Until this week!!

First off, about 2 weeks ago I did a simple relocate in a double wide trailer, i had to crawl under it in a cavern of darkness to move the line for them(mistake number one) Appearantly somehow a vent got knocked off or was previously damaged before I got there. They never call me or my office instead an A/C guy comes out and charges the customer $290 for replacing a little section of vent. A simple mistake that could happen to any tech.

The very next day, another customer that I attempted to do a wall fish for 3 weeks ago, I tried to no avail to run this line, spent 1.5 hours in a vaulted ceiling near the edge drilling through numerous layers of studs trying to run the line, I basically told the customer It was next to impossible due to the structure, and left a wall plate in the customers room covering the hole of course with no cable attached, of course the customer was fine with this at the time. Now, this week just one day after the previously mentioned incident they call in and claim I have 'damaged' their wall by putting a wall plate where they wanted the cable run.