Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

In Line signal amplifier question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Mike Kilduff

Mike Kilduff

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2008

Posted 04 December 2008 - 05:20 PM

Hey guys,

I have a run from sat about 140 feet give or take a few to receiver and thinking of buying one of these amplifiers just incase as I'm doing a pole mount underground line run, and just thinking of all possibilities now rather than later.

At what point in line is it best to hook these babies up? I would like to do the run -sat to ground block(grounded of course) then ground block to amplifier -then about a 59 foot cable run to the receiver. Hows this sound? They are pretty affordable so may just order one, is there any down side?

Thanks,

Mike

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 04 December 2008 - 05:21 PM

No need for an amp for those distances. Did 275 without amps.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#3 OFFLINE   rudeney

rudeney

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,266 posts
Joined: May 28, 2007

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:23 AM

The biggest problem with long runs is not a loss of signal, but a drop in the voltage that the tuners supply to the LNB. If you have problems (which you shouldn't at 140 feet), you might try a powered multiswitch or a locker. If you are using a SWM8 or SWM LNB, then you should have no issues at all. PI to SWM-LNB can officially be 150 feet and SWM to tuners is an additional 150 feet.

#4 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 05 December 2008 - 09:45 AM

As the others have said, that distance should be no issue.

Just make sure to use solid copper core RG6 or better cable.
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.




spam firewall