Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Analog Channels 14 and 15 on MFH2 system


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MFH2Master

MFH2Master

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2008

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:40 PM

Any one in here has been seen a problem when you has a Head End system with channel 14 and 15 and you want to inject this into a mfh2 system so customer can have analog services and digital. when you do this you will get a lot of snow on these two channel.is any solution for this out there or any way to fix this with out move these two channel to another frequency.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   DtvSlave

DtvSlave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 04 December 2008 - 08:19 PM

Are there any local channels in the area the broadcast on channel 14 or 15? If so you might have a leak in the system and you are getting bleed through

#3 OFFLINE   MFH2Master

MFH2Master

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2008

Posted 04 December 2008 - 08:24 PM

This is happening in two different property's, system is proper terminated and there is no open port any where in the system. and no is not any local channel on that same frequency

#4 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,455 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 04 December 2008 - 09:06 PM

Must be something in the system since by default any analog signals below 860 or so MHz should be acceptable to the SWM.
More info on your system?
Are you just adding 14 & 15 or are these the only channels of many others affected.
How are you "injecting". Thru MFH-6 , into swm individually or after swm's.

one quick thought if into mutiple MFH-6 units is "over amplification"
? attenuate, try diplexing after swm's.

Others may have more advice.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#5 OFFLINE   MFH2Master

MFH2Master

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2008

Posted 04 December 2008 - 09:15 PM

This are the only channel with the issue everything else is fine.
system description

SCU ( MFH1) feeding a MST774 and this feeding the FMC-6 Chassis, analog cable is going into Off air input in the FMC-6 and from the FMC-6 going to the SWM-8 and them to customer Units, we also try to go direcly to SWM-8 and diplexing after the SWM-8.....

#6 OFFLINE   woodybeetle

woodybeetle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2008

Posted 11 December 2008 - 10:22 AM

This are the only channel with the issue everything else is fine.
system description

SCU ( MFH1) feeding a MST774 and this feeding the FMC-6 Chassis, analog cable is going into Off air input in the FMC-6 and from the FMC-6 going to the SWM-8 and them to customer Units, we also try to go direcly to SWM-8 and diplexing after the SWM-8.....


What is the signal level of your channels in question before and after you inject them, remember the Swm looses approx 11 dB for insertion. The average headend distribution allows for approx 5 dB at the tap, once inserted you have -6 dB, then the cable loss of approx 3 dB gives you -9 dB and the splitter in the unit (4 way) --7 loss, totaling -15(fuzzy channels),

Also verify that your headend has the appropriate balance and slope to the riser system.
If you have any questions feel free to PM me.:)
Daniel D. Corum
DDCESI/Idiot Proof Television




Protected By... spam firewall...And...