Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Directv tripod mount?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   slapshot1959

slapshot1959

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 09 December 2008 - 09:19 AM

Does anyone know if Directv will include a tripod mount if requested in their installation?

I am looking to put up a dish in my condo in FL,and they don't allow anything attached to the building whatsoever.

Seems my only option is to put up some sort of tripod,though the balcony is screened in as well. I'd hate to try to do it myself,buy all the parts,and find out I can't get a signal (I do face s-sw) because of a higher angle needed down there,and the overhang from the roof.

At least this way if they come out and can't get a signal,can just cancel the order.

Or am I just better off getting Comcrap?:nono2:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 09 December 2008 - 10:49 AM

Does anyone know if Directv will include a tripod mount if requested in their installation?

I am looking to put up a dish in my condo in FL,and they don't allow anything attached to the building whatsoever.

Seems my only option is to put up some sort of tripod,though the balcony is screened in as well. I'd hate to try to do it myself,buy all the parts,and find out I can't get a signal (I do face s-sw) because of a higher angle needed down there,and the overhang from the roof.

At least this way if they come out and can't get a signal,can just cancel the order.

Or am I just better off getting Comcrap?:nono2:


\Directv will give you a tripod for your dish, however, they may charge extra for it, like maybe around $50\
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 09 December 2008 - 11:36 AM

A tripod is a custom charge. With a screened in balcony with an overhang in Florida, I'd say Comcast is in your future.

#4 OFFLINE   slapshot1959

slapshot1959

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 09 December 2008 - 11:48 AM

A tripod is a custom charge. With a screened in balcony with an overhang in Florida, I'd say Comcast is in your future.


Yeah that's probably what would have to happen.Just wanted to be able to take my receiver with me though there.
Certainly a lot less fussing around.

#5 OFFLINE   protrex

protrex

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 09 December 2008 - 02:02 PM

Metal or Nylon screen?

-Jamie

#6 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 09 December 2008 - 03:09 PM

If you get an in house HSP tech they may give you a tripod for free, and if it's just an 18" dish and your balcony faces SW, it's an easy job.

#7 OFFLINE   slapshot1959

slapshot1959

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:37 AM

If you get an in house HSP tech they may give you a tripod for free, and if it's just an 18" dish and your balcony faces SW, it's an easy job.


Not quite sure what you mean by an in house HSP tech?

I would want the Slimline so I could receive the MPEG4 HD channels.

#8 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:56 AM

Not quite sure what you mean by an in house HSP tech?

I would want the Slimline so I could receive the MPEG4 HD channels.


an In house tech is one that works directly for the HSP and is not a contracted employee. They do not have to pay for the parts that they carry or the transport costs. Contract employees pay for all the equipment that they carry.
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#9 OFFLINE   dshu82

dshu82

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2007

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:23 AM

I did this exact same thing in previous condo before moving to current house. This was after being told by installer that I did not have any line of sight. Wouldn't hurt to ask / see if they can do it, and if not, Plan B would be you doing it. Is not really that hard, depending on how handy you are. Screen, overhang, etc. had no effect on signals in my situation.
D* customer since 1997

#10 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 10 December 2008 - 04:02 PM

The biggest issue is gonna be the direction your balcony faces, do you know if you can get a SW view? Without that nothing else matters.

#11 OFFLINE   slapshot1959

slapshot1959

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 11 December 2008 - 10:03 AM

The balcony faces almost due south,it would be close.Between the angle and the direction is why I didn't want to go through all of the installation expense with nothing to show for it.




spam firewall