Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HELP: Bad LNB, Switch or Other ???


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Tebbens

Tebbens

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 09 December 2008 - 05:19 PM

Does anyone know what the hell could be causing this....

101
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 94
0 90 0 95 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0 92 0 90
0 92 0 0 0 92 0 94

110
94 87 96

119
90 0 0 0 92 0 92 0 92 0 95

99c
All 0's

103c
0 90 0 88 0 85 0 88 0 82 0 93 0 84

Sometimes, some of the numbers above drop to 0 then come back.
I'm running 5LNB Slimline (non SWM) to a Spaun 16 port Multiswitch.

Could this be AZ/EL/TILT, LNB, Switch or maybe a bad cable ???
This is bugging the hell outta me... I can't find the problem and I don't
want to rip everything apart.

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 09 December 2008 - 05:22 PM

it could be any of the above.
have you ruled out your switch or lnb yet by bypassing the switch and hooking it up with a barrel connector?

#3 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 09 December 2008 - 05:56 PM

Sounds like one of the cables from the LNB to the switch or the switch itself. Are these signal numbers on all receivers? Try bypassing the switch with each of the 4 wires from the LNB to 1 receiver and see what you get. BTW what is a Spaun multiswitch?

#4 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 09 December 2008 - 06:05 PM

BTW what is a Spaun multiswitch?


Spaun is a brand, very expensive......

#5 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 10 December 2008 - 05:26 AM

I've had a similar dropoff with a bad coax cable and/or connector. What type of coax are you using and what are your distances from dish to splitter to receivers. Also, if you had a power booster, maybe the power's gone bad... Just some ideas. :)
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#6 OFFLINE   Tebbens

Tebbens

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 10 December 2008 - 08:35 AM

I've had a similar dropoff with a bad coax cable and/or connector. What type of coax are you using and what are your distances from dish to splitter to receivers. Also, if you had a power booster, maybe the power's gone bad... Just some ideas. :)


Belden 1694a w/Canare, and aprox 30' to switch.

I bypassed the switch and hooked up 2 HR22's (all 4 LNB outputs)
One of the tuners had all 0's.

So, thats still either the cable/connector or LNB.
I'll probable disconnect the LNB, terminate the cable and check resistance for
bad cable or connector. If everything is good, I'll replace the LNB.

Could signal like that also indicate bad allignment ??

#7 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,226 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 10 December 2008 - 09:39 AM

You get decent signals on some transponders (particularly the 103c evens) so it's unlikely to be an alignment problem.

#8 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:30 AM

I bypassed the switch and hooked up 2 HR22's (all 4 LNB outputs)
One of the tuners had all 0's.


looks like you have 1 bad cable run coming from the dish then.

#9 OFFLINE   Tebbens

Tebbens

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:12 PM

looks like you have 1 bad cable run coming from the dish then.


Could 1 of the LNB outputs be bad, or is that very unlikely?

#10 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:42 PM

take the bad cable off that isn getting sat signal and hook up a known working cable to that output just to verify that it is indeed a cable/connector




Protected By... spam firewall...And...