Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

CID & Wireless Phone Jack


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   neocharles

neocharles

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2008

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:15 AM

Here's what I'm looking at. My room doesn't have a phone jack (sad, yes I Know), but I'd like to take advantage of the caller ID on the Receiver (along with putting a phone in my room.)

I Noticed Best Buy carries this:

RCA - Wireless Phone Jack (Model: RC940)
Click here for Link


Will that work properly with the D*TV box?
Living Room: HR21-100 via HDMI to Sony KDF-50E2000 Utilizing direct RJ11
Bedroom: H21-100 via Component to Samsung LN32A330
Networked: Yes; Both Units Connected via WGA600N

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Bronco70

Bronco70

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: May 14, 2008

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:46 AM

It should work.

#3 ONLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,655 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 20 December 2008 - 01:10 PM

Agreed. That should work. You might be able to find suitable wireless phone extenders for less $$$, though.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   firefighter4evr

firefighter4evr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2008

Posted 20 December 2008 - 01:11 PM

Here's what I'm looking at. My room doesn't have a phone jack (sad, yes I Know), but I'd like to take advantage of the caller ID on the Receiver (along with putting a phone in my room.)

I Noticed Best Buy carries this:

RCA - Wireless Phone Jack (Model: RC940)
Click here for Link


Will that work properly with the D*TV box?


Some work, and some don't... its just like using vonage with it.... all you can do is try it.. if it work great if not, you could always take it back:grin:

My Setup

Slimline 3-LNB Dish
WB68 Muti-Switch
Living Room: R16-300
Master Bedroom: D12-500
Kids Bedroom: D12-500


Proudly Non Comcastic since 2007

#5 OFFLINE   neocharles

neocharles

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2008

Posted 20 December 2008 - 01:26 PM

Agreed. That should work. You might be able to find suitable wireless phone extenders for less $$$, though.


I work there... so It'll work out :hurah:
Living Room: HR21-100 via HDMI to Sony KDF-50E2000 Utilizing direct RJ11
Bedroom: H21-100 via Component to Samsung LN32A330
Networked: Yes; Both Units Connected via WGA600N

#6 OFFLINE   CindyJ

CindyJ

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2008

Posted 20 December 2008 - 01:28 PM

Here's what I'm looking at. My room doesn't have a phone jack (sad, yes I Know), but I'd like to take advantage of the caller ID on the Receiver (along with putting a phone in my room.)

I Noticed Best Buy carries this:

RCA - Wireless Phone Jack (Model: RC940)
Click here for Link


Will that work properly with the D*TV box?

I have an RCA wireless jack attached to my HR20-700. Works great for PPV but CID doesn't work at all.

#7 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,106 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 20 December 2008 - 01:36 PM

I have an RCA wireless jack attached to my HR20-700. Works great for PPV but CID doesn't work at all.


Same here, attached to my HR22-100 in the living room. Mine's an old one I've had for at least 7 or 8 years, maybe longer. Phone connection has always worked but nada on the CID.

Now that an internet connection works for PPV and such, I don't bother with it at all any longer. I unplugged it four or five months ago and haven't looked back.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#8 OFFLINE   Bronco70

Bronco70

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: May 14, 2008

Posted 20 December 2008 - 09:41 PM

I used one of these years ago to enable instant ppv. It worked fine.

CID seems to be a separate issue. My theater D* DVR is connected to a hardwired phone connection. It passes the phone connection test, but when a call comes in I get the message to call the phone company to sign up for caller ID.

Have had CID for years. And CID works fine on two other D* IRD's in the house, also hardwired.

I have no clue as to the issue. There are a few threads on DBS that address this problem. I care not since movie time in the theater is sacrosanct, within reason :) .

The adapter should work for a standard phone connection.

I also use X-10 stuff for lighting control. Cheap stuff bought from Rat-Shack 10 or so years ago. Works fine most of the time. At times certain channels will not operate. A little research suggested that power line phase was the problem.

Life is too short to figure out some of this stuff.

Joe

#9 OFFLINE   MRinDenver

MRinDenver

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Feb 03, 2003

Posted 21 December 2008 - 12:13 PM

Wireless jack works fine for CID for me, on two HRs, even with Vonage.
“The easy confidence with which I know another man’s religion is folly teaches me to suspect that my own is also.” -- Mark Twain

#10 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 21 December 2008 - 12:18 PM

Get a wireless *modem* jack, not just a wireless phone jack. The modem jack isn't any more expensive but has more bandwidth to allow the receiver's modem to properly dial out. Some phone jacks may work, but you'll have a better chance with a modem jack. Even then it's still not 100%.

I personally have a modem jack and use Vonage thru it and all my receivers except my old DirecTivo's work just fine.

#11 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 21 December 2008 - 01:33 PM

I don't think that model works for CID you want one that is a MODEM jack. It will work for telephones and connecting the satellite but dosen't send CID information. Search for a RCA RC930 modem jack.

#12 OFFLINE   neocharles

neocharles

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2008

Posted 21 December 2008 - 06:27 PM

CID works fine, crappy though when it comes to voice quality. Phone test passes, and I don't use PPV, so I assume it will be okay.
Living Room: HR21-100 via HDMI to Sony KDF-50E2000 Utilizing direct RJ11
Bedroom: H21-100 via Component to Samsung LN32A330
Networked: Yes; Both Units Connected via WGA600N

#13 OFFLINE   VLaslow

VLaslow

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,285 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 21 December 2008 - 10:00 PM

I use the older models and they work quite well. No issues.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...