Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Trying to get back to normal


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:44 PM

I have reconnected my WB68 and I am getting 771 errors on FXHD, CIHD, and NGCHD. These channels were working before I disconnected the WB68 to install a SWM-8. I am not certain whether or not they worked with the SWM-8 as I had other problems that I previously posted about. I have not seen this error on any other channels. What satellites/transponders should have signal strength and which ones should most likely be at 0. I am trying to get everything back to working before reattempting the SWM-8. Below are screenshots of my signal strengths. If there is anyone in the Washington, DC area that might be able to check out my setup and help me that would be great. Otherwise, this list is incredibly helpful. Thanks.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  99a.BMP   225.05KB   58 downloads
  • Attached File  99b.BMP   225.05KB   36 downloads
  • Attached File  101.BMP   225.05KB   32 downloads
  • Attached File  103a.BMP   225.05KB   25 downloads
  • Attached File  103b.BMP   225.05KB   28 downloads
  • Attached File  110.BMP   225.05KB   28 downloads
  • Attached File  119.BMP   225.05KB   27 downloads


HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:47 PM

Check the cable/connector connected to the 18v22khz port.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#3 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 22 December 2008 - 09:42 PM

Check the cable/connector connected to the 18v22khz port.


Thanks. I'll check that one. However, I tried switching around all four of the inputs. The only thing to come out of it was that no channels worked. I'll update with what I find.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#4 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 06:16 AM

Thanks. I'll check that one. However, I tried switching around all four of the inputs. The only thing to come out of it was that no channels worked. I'll update with what I find.


You need to all ends of that cable.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#5 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:33 AM

You need to all ends of that cable.


Is it possible that something happened to the 18V22kHz port on the WB68?

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#6 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 03:52 PM

Is it possible that something happened to the 18V22kHz port on the WB68?


Unlikely.

What happens when you move the line currently on the 18v22khz port to say 13v22khz?
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#7 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 05:37 PM

Unlikely.

What happens when you move the line currently on the 18v22khz port to say 13v22khz?


I moved the line in question to the 18v port. Now I only get the odds on 101 and 99a. Now that I know the line is bad, I should be able to eliminate it by reinstalling my SWM-8 in place of the WB68. I believe the fault is between the outside of my house and the inside and not the drop from the dish. If it is the drop from the dish, I don't know how it broke. I will install the SWM and report back. Thanks for your help.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#8 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 05:40 PM

I moved the line in question to the 18v port. Now I only get the odds on 101 and 99a. Now that I know the line is bad, I should be able to eliminate it by reinstalling my SWM-8 in place of the WB68. I believe the fault is between the outside of my house and the inside and not the drop from the dish. If it is the drop from the dish, I don't know how it broke. I will install the SWM and report back. Thanks for your help.


Reinstalling the SWM is not going to fix the problem. You need to check that line from end to end for any breaks or cuts, check every fitting for corrosion and stray braids making contact with the center conductor.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#9 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 05:45 PM

Reinstalling the SWM is not going to fix the problem. You need to check that line from end to end for any breaks or cuts, check every fitting for corrosion and stray braids making contact with the center conductor.


I should also point out that when I connect the problem line into the 13v port, the WB68 makes a low humming sound. I can't imagine that is good. Could that indicate a short? Thanks.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#10 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 06:36 PM

I should also point out that when I connect the problem line into the 13v port, the WB68 makes a low humming sound. I can't imagine that is good. Could that indicate a short? Thanks.


No, humming sounds coming from the switch is not a good sign.

One last time here, then I'm done.

YOU NEED TO FIX THAT LINE before you burn out your WB68/SWM/Receivers. Moving the lines around is not going to do a damn thing.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#11 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 06:50 PM

No, humming sounds coming from the switch is not a good sign.

One last time here, then I'm done.

YOU NEED TO FIX THAT LINE before you burn out your WB68/SWM/Receivers. Moving the lines around is not going to do a damn thing.


Got it.

However there are two segments to the "bad" line. I am pretty sure that the problem is with the segment that can be eliminated by hooking the SWM up outside and using a known good line for the outside to inside run. If it turns out that the run from the dish to the ground went back, I'll have to call DirecTV since I don't have a 40' ladder.

No need to answer, point taken. I am just trying to eliminate the potential problem areas since I know what I monkeyed with when I tried to install the SWM initially.

Thanks for the help.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#12 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 28 December 2008 - 12:01 PM

I am all fixed now. I had DirecTV out. It turned out that one of the connectors on one of the ground blocks went bad. It was the only one that was left exposed when I connected my SWM-8.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS




spam firewall