Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

A letter from DN for satelitte antenna upgrade (free).


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ext1sxb

ext1sxb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 06:55 PM

I got a letter from Dish Network that informing me:
"Due to improvements in our technology it is necessary to upgrade your DISH Network satellite antenna. To ensure that you continue to enjoy your International television programming, DISH Network will professionally install and upgrade your antenna for FREE*’

*Restrictions may apply.”

I have 2 Dish500 dishes in the central NJ. One is pointing to 110W and 119W. Another is pointing to 61.5W. I have DP34 switch. My subscription packages are AT 250, International Package, TurboHD, and NY Locals. My receivers are ViP622 and DVR522.

Does anybody know which dish I will be getting?
What kind of “Restrictions” may apply?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,719 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:10 PM

My "guess" is that they want to set you up for the Eastern Arc for your HD programming.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#3 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:11 PM

Not sure why you need an upgrade. Sounds like they want to hook you for another 24 month commitment.

61.5 gets you your hd, 110/119 gets you the rest.

#4 OFFLINE   rjousuf

rjousuf

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:15 PM

Dish is moving most if not all of the international channels to 118 satellite. I believe since you have international and hd progamming, you will get the 1000 plus dish and i think a sw44 switch. With that one dish you will get 110, 119, 118(international), 129(HD). Restrictions might be the view of 118 or 129 satellite from your location, whihc might prevent the dish from installation. But if you have clear view of south there should be no problem.

#5 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:16 PM

Probably is getting one of the dishes upgraded to a 500+ for satellite 118.7 for his internationals. If that's what it is, no commitment, completely free. If he doesn't need 61.5 for HD locals, possibly a 1000+ to replace both dishes.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#6 OFFLINE   ext1sxb

ext1sxb

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:48 PM

My "guess" is that they want to set you up for the Eastern Arc for your HD programming.


My DVR522 is not 'MPEG4 ready'. Because of this fact, it can not be the 'Eastern Arc' dish.

Probably is getting one of the dishes upgraded to a 500+ for satellite 118.7 for his internationals. If that's what it is, no commitment, completely free. If he doesn't need 61.5 for HD locals, possibly a 1000+ to replace both dishes.


More than likely, the '500+' will be the case (my HD locals (NY) are on 61.5W). In this case, my concern is DP34 switch. I think it will be replaced with DPP44. Will it be for free?

#7 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 603 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 23 December 2008 - 08:18 PM

need new glasses I guess. I agree with Rjousuf...the international channels you're now getting are probably going to be moved fron 61.5 to the 118.75, thus the new dish without a charge. A 1000+ (110/118.75/119/129) maybe or 500+ with a 61.5.

#8 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 23 December 2008 - 08:46 PM

My DVR522 is not 'MPEG4 ready'. Because of this fact, it can not be the 'Eastern Arc' dish.



More than likely, the '500+' will be the case (my HD locals (NY) are on 61.5W). In this case, my concern is DP34 switch. I think it will be replaced with DPP44. Will it be for free?


All equipment needed to make it work will be free.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#9 OFFLINE   ext1sxb

ext1sxb

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2006

Posted 23 December 2008 - 08:57 PM

Thanks to everybody!!! I scheduled an appointment for Monday. Let see what will happen.

#10 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 24 December 2008 - 04:19 PM

And you're correct that it will be a DPP44. The legacy SW44 can't be used with DishPro LNBs and only has 2 satellite inputs.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#11 OFFLINE   ext1sxb

ext1sxb

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2006

Posted 29 December 2008 - 02:05 PM

I got 'DISH 500 Plus' and DPP44 as a replacement for 'DISH 500' and DP34. The reason for the upgrade was that two new channels were added to my International Package (I was not informed by Dishnetwork, only the installer told me), and new channels are on 118W only.




spam firewall