Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to: Copy and Replace Internal Hard Drive


  • Please log in to reply
619 replies to this topic

Poll: I have read the disclaimer and I understand that this process in NOT recommended (598 member(s) have cast votes)

I have read the disclaimer and I understand that this process in NOT recommended

  1. YES - I agree I will not tamper with my leased equipment (414 votes [69.23%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 69.23%

  2. NO - I agree to accept full financial responsibility for breaking my Customer Agreement (184 votes [30.77%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 30.77%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#241 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 05 November 2010 - 04:34 PM

When I ran the fsck I'm told use xfs_check or xfs_repair. I had already done it, but ran it again.

What I entered was:
xfs_repair -t -L -r /dev/sdb3 /dev/sdb2

Than I did the restore process and got the same results. I can't think of anything else to try, it would appear my original drive has deteriorated so much it cannot be read accurately.

Did you run xfs_check first? What was the output?

For xfs_repair, I believe you would need to specify an interval to use the -t option, like -t 1 for one minute intervals. I wouldn't think you would want to delete the log file -L unless you had too. What was the output of xfs_repair?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#242 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 05 November 2010 - 04:54 PM

Did you run xfs_check first? What was the output?

For xfs_repair, I believe you would need to specify an interval to use the -t option, like -t 1 for one minute intervals. I wouldn't think you would want to delete the log file -L unless you had too. What was the output of xfs_repair?

I didn't run the check. The output of the xfs_repair is in the attached file. It spans 2 iphone pics and in the second you see the results of the attempted restore before the error messages started. They are the same as previous pics.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0446[1].jpg
  • IMG_0448[1].jpg

johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#243 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 05 November 2010 - 05:04 PM

I recently upgraded one of my HR20-100s from 750GB to a 1.5TB. Here are a few things I learned in the process.

I started with the current stable gparted live (0.7.0-3). The dump/restore starts ok but then stalls. After a couple of hours I looked at /proc/<pid>/io and it was clear neither xfsdump nor xfsrestore were doing anything. I was able to kill xfsdump (which was good because it allowed me to cleanly dismount my original disk) but not xfsrestore.

I tried one more time but got errors about the incomplete restore so I decided the safest course was to have the HR20-100 format the drive. To do this I used dd to zero out the first part of the disk:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=8K count=512


and then booted the HR20 with the drive connected. (And just to be safe, I removed the original disk before this step.)

It's a pain that you have to wait for the HR20 to boot before you can perform a clean shutdown. A trick I found is that if the DVR is not connected to the satellite it quickly gives an error and then you can use the front panel buttons (menu and arrow keys) to reboot.

As noted, If the disks are different sizes you can use the gparted window to see which one is sda or sdb. But when you have both disks mounted, you can also tell but looking at viewer/messages*. The original disk will have more than one of these and they will contain timestamps spanning multiple days but the new disk will one have one messages file with a short range of timestamps.

One final trick is to mount the original disk read/only:

mount -t xfs -o ro -o rtdev=/dev/sdb3 /dev/sdb2 /mnt/hr20


It'll protect you if you get the xfsdump|xfsrestore backwards and the filesystem won't be marked unclean if the system crashes.

Ultimately, I burned a 0.3.7-7 gparted live CD, reinitialized my new disk and was able to complete the copy without errors. I think xfsdump said the backup was about 500GB and it took slightly less than 3 hours for the process to complete.

I like the tip about leaving the DVR disconnected from the satellite because the DVR boot process sure is long. I wish the original instructions would get updated with working versions of gparted like I linked in post 220. Additionally, if the instructions were updated to include progress reporting (i.e. xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J -p 600 - /mnt/fap) people would be able to spot problems much earlier.
hdparm -i /dev/sd? (where ? is the letter of one of the drives) will give model number and serial number info, which is another way to distinguish drives of the same size.
Just to clarify, getting the xfsdump|xfsrestore backwards will not destroy your recordings. Normally, it would be the target file system that would be left unclean during an aborted copy, so I'm not sure the -o ro on the source drive buys you any additional safety.

#244 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 05 November 2010 - 05:17 PM

I didn't run the check. The output of the xfs_repair is in the attached file. It spans 2 iphone pics and in the second you see the results of the attempted restore before the error messages started. They are the same as previous pics.


Try using the DVR to fix the original disk using the instructions in this post:

http://www.dbstalk.c...294#post2504294

Follow that with a graceful shutdown, and retry the copy procedure. If that doesn't work try xfs_check, and report back. You can also try xfs_repair without deleting the log after that.

#245 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 08:42 AM

Try using the DVR to fix the original disk using the instructions in this post:

http://www.dbstalk.c...294#post2504294

Follow that with a graceful shutdown, and retry the copy procedure. If that doesn't work try xfs_check, and report back. You can also try xfs_repair without deleting the log after that.

It just so happens that yesterday the receiver did do a scan on it's own. When I booted it up with the original esata drive attached it said there was a problem with it and did a scan. When the receiver did boot up, it was running on the internal drive. So that's been done.

I'll try your cut and past and do an xfs_check, than a repair without deleting the log, and then the restore. Try to do cut and pastes for everything.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#246 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 11:03 AM

I'm running the xfs_check now. I first entered
xfs_check /dev/sdb2
and nothing seemed to be happening, so I reran it with the verbose command and now I'm getting a million messages. It's beein running for at least a couple of hours. I'm seeing messages like "setting block nnnn to free1" and "setting rtblock nnnn to rtfree." The "setting" implies it's making changes, is that true?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#247 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 01:36 PM

Holy crap, it's still running. I guess it runs as long as a successful restore would.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#248 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 November 2010 - 02:26 PM

Do you have first messages of the run ?

I'm worried about a rtdev [sdb3] activation - if it not happened during first stage of xfs_check, you're in big trouble ...

Edited by P Smith, 06 November 2010 - 02:38 PM.


#249 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 02:34 PM

Post 226 and 242 contain my iphone photos of a restore (226) and an xfs_repair. Let me know what you think.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#250 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 November 2010 - 02:37 PM

I'm concern about current run of xfs_check.

#251 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 02:40 PM

Do you have first messages of the run ?

I'm worried about a rtdev [sdb3] activation - if it not happened during first stage of xfs_check, you're in big trouble ...

I just re-read this and I misunderstood, you are asking about the xfs_check.

When I first started it, nothing appeared on the screen and I wasn't sure if it was running or for how long it would run. So I ran it again in the same terminal screen with the verbose option. There have been a bazjillion mesages and I've mentioned them above.

I wonder if this means I've got to checks running? It still is running.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#252 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 06 November 2010 - 02:57 PM

It just so happens that yesterday the receiver did do a scan on it's own. When I booted it up with the original esata drive attached it said there was a problem with it and did a scan. When the receiver did boot up, it was running on the internal drive. So that's been done.


I'm not sure how extensive the test it does on it's own is, but there are more tests you can invoke yourself here:
http://www.dbstalk.c...471#post2614471

Do you have first messages of the run ?

I'm worried about a rtdev [sdb3] activation - if it not happened during first stage of xfs_check, you're in big trouble ...


He posted that one of the messages is "setting rtblock nnnn to rtfree." Wouldn't that mean it is dealing with real-time blocks as well?

#253 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 November 2010 - 03:09 PM

I'm not sure how extensive the test it does on it's own is, but there are more tests you can invoke yourself here:
http://www.dbstalk.c...471#post2614471



He posted that one of the messages is "setting rtblock nnnn to rtfree." Wouldn't that mean it is dealing with real-time blocks as well?


That's the point - if it got the linked rtdev partition then such messages in bulk are telling about big issue; if not - then releasing those block would destroy all recordings if xfs_check will allowed to write.

#254 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 03:44 PM

Ok, it finished. I was able to do the cut and past and here are the results:
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001174405120 54539117
inode 54539117 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001191182336 54539118
inode 54539118 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001207959552 54539119
inode 54539119 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001224736768 54539120
inode 54539120 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001241513984 54539121
inode 54539121 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001258291200 54539122
inode 54539122 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001275068416 54539123
inode 54539123 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001291845632 54539124
inode 54539124 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001308622848 54539125
inode 54539125 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001325400064 54539126
inode 54539126 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001342177280 54539127
inode 54539127 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001358954496 54539128
inode 54539128 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001375731712 54539129
inode 54539129 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001392508928 54539130
inode 54539130 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001409286144 54539131
inode 54539131 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001426063360 54539132
inode 54539132 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001442840576 54539133
inode 54539133 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001459617792 54539134
inode 54539134 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001476395008 54539135
inode 54539135 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001493172224 54539744
inode 54539744 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001509949440 54539745
inode 54539745 add link, now 1
dir 63217025 block 0 entry 0000000001526726656 54539746
inode 54539746 add link, now 1
inode 63217025 parent 12583040

These are the last lines displayed. As I mentioned before, when I did the check without the verbose command, nothing was displayed and after about 5 minutes I ran it with the verbose command. I would interpret that to mean nothing was displayed at the start without the verbose command. I started getting messages immediately after starting check with verbose. Of course thoe lines came so quickly I would not have seen any unique messages at the beginning.

Should I try the restore again or the fix or is it a lost cause?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#255 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 03:48 PM

If you tell me to do the fix would you specify the exact command and parameters? If you tell me to restore, specify that too if it's different from the initial instructions in post 1.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#256 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 06 November 2010 - 04:10 PM

If you tell me to do the fix would you specify the exact command and parameters? If you tell me to restore, specify that too if it's different from the initial instructions in post 1.


Might as well try the restore again. If you haven't done it already, delete the partitions off the new drive while in gparted, use the DVR to repartition it, and do a graceful shutdown. Then do the dump/restore as before, but add the -p 600 for progress reports every 10 minutes.
xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J -p 600 - /mnt/fap

#257 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 04:42 PM

Might as well try the restore again. If you haven't done it already, delete the partitions off the new drive while in gparted, use the DVR to repartition it, and do a graceful shutdown. Then do the dump/restore as before, but add the -p 600 for progress reports every 10 minutes.
xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J -p 600 - /mnt/fap

Is that just a case of telling gparted to delete each partion separately or is there a special command?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#258 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 06 November 2010 - 04:45 PM

Yes, delete each partition separately, then click apply. Just be sure to select the correct drive first.

#259 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 November 2010 - 04:57 PM

Just be sure to select the correct drive first.

Heh, heh, heh. Yeah, I think so.:) The wife wants to watch a movie now. I hope to try this later tonight.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#260 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 06 November 2010 - 05:02 PM

Are going to reattach the old drive to the DVR so she can watch the movie? If so, check that all of your recordings are still there.




spam firewall