Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to: Copy and Replace Internal Hard Drive


  • Please log in to reply
619 replies to this topic

Poll: I have read the disclaimer and I understand that this process in NOT recommended (598 member(s) have cast votes)

I have read the disclaimer and I understand that this process in NOT recommended

  1. YES - I agree I will not tamper with my leased equipment (414 votes [69.23%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 69.23%

  2. NO - I agree to accept full financial responsibility for breaking my Customer Agreement (184 votes [30.77%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 30.77%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#41 OFFLINE   RandCfilm

RandCfilm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 17 March 2009 - 06:35 PM

[...]

I am hoping all stays well in the weeks to follow...thx much!
Regards...[..]


When you'll load it up to 80-90% come back and post results.

Can attest to the copy procedure and the storage. I'm at 16% left and countless shows saved for the summer drought.
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 800GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.3f
(3) HR21-100
...(1) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
...(1) with AM21 & internal 1TB Seagate
...(1) Stock
RandCfilm

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,699 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 March 2009 - 07:19 PM

I have no question to the procedure (since it came as my idea first ;) ) - the question is how his DVR will handle enormous number of records in own DB and will be enough memory to serve it fast as usual.

#43 OFFLINE   oldpianos

oldpianos

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 04 April 2009 - 12:29 PM

My 750gb FAP started giving me concerns w/ hiccups and whatnot. So, I got the MX1 and a WD 1TB Caviar Black drive. Following the directions, I was able to copy everything from the 750 to the 1TB w/o problem. Two big thumbs up!

I demand justice. But if there must be injustice, please let it be in my favor.

#44 OFFLINE   manowell

manowell

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 22, 2007

Posted 09 April 2009 - 07:37 AM

I'm about to add a couple of HD DVRS, I'm assuming the current HR-22 units. I'd like to upgrade the hard drives, which I did on my HR-20 following the instructions here Way Back when it was new.

If I'm not trying to copy over recorded shows, I *assume* this is still a "just install the new hard disk" exercise, the HR-22 will recognize the space and rock on. Is that correct?

Is there a list of tested/recommended SATA hard drives? I'd like 1.0 or 1.5 TB. Any have better acoustic (low noise) features?

#45 OFFLINE   mudball

mudball

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2008

Posted 13 April 2009 - 09:15 AM

I've been struggling with this off-and-on for several months. I'm trying to copy and replace the original HD in my HR-21 with a 1TB. I've followed the procedure and can get as far as booting up on GParted which only sees and mounts the new drive (which was formatted on the HR-21 per the procedure, followed by a graceful shutdown, etc.). I have tried by installing both drives in the computer and booting GParted, and by any combination I can think of internal/external connection of the two drives. My last attempt was to hook both the new drive in its external enclosure and the HR-21 still mounted in the DVR for power, but with the data cable connected via ESATA... Any suggestions welcome...

#46 OFFLINE   daniellee

daniellee

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 13 April 2009 - 09:45 AM

I've been struggling with this off-and-on for several months. I'm trying to copy and replace the original HD in my HR-21 with a 1TB. I've followed the procedure and can get as far as booting up on GParted which only sees and mounts the new drive (which was formatted on the HR-21 per the procedure, followed by a graceful shutdown, etc.). I have tried by installing both drives in the computer and booting GParted, and by any combination I can think of internal/external connection of the two drives. My last attempt was to hook both the new drive in its external enclosure and the HR-21 still mounted in the DVR for power, but with the data cable connected via ESATA... Any suggestions welcome...


Can you tell if the original HR21 drive is actually spinning-up when connected to the PC? If not, check your version of GParted – older versions will not work. This is the only thing I can think of.
-Danny

AU9S Slimline Dish -> SWM-16
(1) HR20-700, (1) HR20-100, (1) HR21-100, (1) HR21-200, (1) HR21-700 (all DECA network with internet connection)
See my kitchen wall cabinet setup here

#47 OFFLINE   mudball

mudball

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2008

Posted 13 April 2009 - 12:39 PM

It seems to be spinning up... especially when I connected it via ESATA while still connected to the HR21 power. I've tried GParted Live 0.3.7-7 and 0.3.7-9.

#48 OFFLINE   daniellee

daniellee

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 13 April 2009 - 03:40 PM

It seems to be spinning up... especially when I connected it via ESATA while still connected to the HR21 power. I've tried GParted Live 0.3.7-7 and 0.3.7-9.


The power source shouldn’t make any difference – the command for the drive to start spinning comes down the SATA cable and is issued as part of the boot process of the GParted/Linux Live CD. While most drives (your new drive for instance) come setup to start spinning when power is applied, the stock drives in the HR2x DVRs are a special case. You may have to put your ear directly on the drive to tell for sure if it is spinning.

Does your PC have a Power On Self Test (POST) that lists recognized drives? If so, do both drives show up there?
-Danny

AU9S Slimline Dish -> SWM-16
(1) HR20-700, (1) HR20-100, (1) HR21-100, (1) HR21-200, (1) HR21-700 (all DECA network with internet connection)
See my kitchen wall cabinet setup here

#49 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 14 April 2009 - 06:32 AM

Does your PC have a Power On Self Test (POST) that lists recognized drives? If so, do both drives show up there?

If you check this and don't see the drive on your first boot, check again after rebooting from GParted.

#50 OFFLINE   RandCfilm

RandCfilm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 14 April 2009 - 04:53 PM

If you check this and don't see the drive on your first boot, check again after rebooting from GParted.

2nd this, the first boot starts the drive spinning and Gparted does not see the drive. Once you get to the menu, select restart and then the drive continues to spin during the reboot and Gparted picks it up the second time around.
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 800GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.3f
(3) HR21-100
...(1) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
...(1) with AM21 & internal 1TB Seagate
...(1) Stock
RandCfilm

#51 OFFLINE   mudball

mudball

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2008

Posted 20 April 2009 - 06:19 AM

Finally... SUCCESS! As suggested, I confirmed that the original drive was running (using a stethoscope). As it was, I had compound problems that were frustrating me... mostly of my own making. I think I was trying to hard to bring everything up at once (Boot the PC and power up both drives). I finally got it through my head that I could (should) power up the drives first, then worry about booting GParted. I could only see the new drive again, as before, so rebooted per ntrance's and RandCFilm's suggestions.... (never did see either drive in POST). Still wasn't seeing the new drive.... Swapped cables on my SATA board... found the new one... problem with jumper settings on the board... got that straightened out and POOF! both magically appeared!

This got me into the actual copy procedure where I ran into the superblock error issue... By this time I was not in the mood to tear things apart and try my 400th graceful shutdown so I used the "xfs_repair -L -r /dev/sd?3 /dev/sd?2" command that ntrance suggested in a post back in March. Worked just fine!

I really appreciate all the help!

Next time it'll go much smoother, I'm sure!

#52 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,699 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 April 2009 - 09:21 AM

And what SATA board you used ? What is the jumper purpose ?

#53 OFFLINE   mudball

mudball

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2008

Posted 21 April 2009 - 10:07 AM

Cheapest one I could find at the time... Rosewill RC212 from New Egg. The board has 4 SATA connectors - 2 internal / 2 external (to the PC case). The jumpers allow you to select any combination of 2.

#54 OFFLINE   jangelj

jangelj

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 24 April 2009 - 10:55 AM

mudball, thanks so much for the info about how to get around the superblock error. it worked for me. i was not able to do a graceful shutdown because the hr21 kept detecting an HD problem and would not get me to the menu to do a restart.

despite the hd error, the copy did seem to work, I won't know till i get home and set the unit back up.

#55 OFFLINE   Sk33t3r

Sk33t3r

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2008

Posted 27 April 2009 - 09:08 PM

I think I may tackle this tomorrow with a seagate 1tg baracuda drive. How long does the copy take?

#56 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 27 April 2009 - 10:37 PM

In the prior version of this thread, hoyty76 reported copying 603 GB in 9937 seconds. My transfer rate has been about half that, or slower, depending on which computer and SATA controller I use, with the laptop PCMCIA SATA card being the slowest.

#57 OFFLINE   Sk33t3r

Sk33t3r

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2008

Posted 30 April 2009 - 07:37 PM

Frys has 1.5TB Baracuda Seagate on sale for $119, I picke done up and poped it in my HR21 earlier today. I didnt copy my other drive yet but I may. When I took the box apart, I notice the 2 chips with heatsinks were hot as hell.

#58 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,699 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 April 2009 - 08:33 PM

Hell means 50 C ? Try to use thermocouple for measure the temperature.

#59 OFFLINE   WillieWildcat

WillieWildcat

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2007

Posted 22 May 2009 - 07:13 AM

Copy procedure went just fine.

Plugged the new, copied Seagate 1.5TB drive in to the HR21 and all I get is the Blue Screen Storage Error on the DVR.

Do I need to reformat the new drive and recopy everything to try it all over again?

*Sigh*
2 DirecTV R10 DVRs
1 HR21-700 HD DVR 1.5GB Internal
2 D10 Receivers
3 Sirius Receivers

#60 OFFLINE   WillieWildcat

WillieWildcat

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2007

Posted 23 May 2009 - 06:50 AM

Never mind, I'm guessing with the awful sounds coming from the new Seagate Barracuda HDD, that I have a bad drive. What a PITA!
2 DirecTV R10 DVRs
1 HR21-700 HD DVR 1.5GB Internal
2 D10 Receivers
3 Sirius Receivers




spam firewall