Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My Move from H10-250 to HR23-700 --- Installer do it right?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   altan

altan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 11:51 AM

Finally took the plunge and upgraded from the old DirecTivo HR10-250. The installer did something strange, but when I questioned him he stated it was absolutely normal.

I had the 3 LNB dish that originally was used with the HR10-250. It had 4 outputs and 2 went to the HR10-250 and the other two went to the Sony T60.

The installer stated this dish was fine for the new HR23-700 and only replaced the NLB. He replaced it with a "new model" that apparently receives 3 of the 5 sats (I may have that wrong). My new HR23-700 seems to work fine, as does my old SD only Sony T60. He told me the HR10-250 would no longer receive DTV HD channels (and it doesn't) and explained that was part of the upgrade.

(he also installed a multiswitch so I could use my original 2 boxes plus the new HR23-700).

Is this normal (the LNB replacement)?

Also, the 103c sat readings are very low. He also told me this is normal. They read 60,23,60,26,60,24,59,26,63,26,59,27,63,27 and a bunch of N/A.

Thanks!

... Altan
Like pinball? Check out my pinball site (http://www.aaarpinball.com)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:00 PM

Finally took the plunge and upgraded from the old DirecTivo HR10-250. The installer did something strange, but when I questioned him he stated it was absolutely normal.

I had the 3 LNB dish that originally was used with the HR10-250. It had 4 outputs and 2 went to the HR10-250 and the other two went to the Sony T60.

The installer stated this dish was fine for the new HR23-700 and only replaced the NLB. He replaced it with a "new model" that apparently receives 3 of the 5 sats (I may have that wrong). My new HR23-700 seems to work fine, as does my old SD only Sony T60. He told me the HR10-250 would no longer receive DTV HD channels (and it doesn't) and explained that was part of the upgrade.

(he also installed a multiswitch so I could use my original 2 boxes plus the new HR23-700).

Is this normal (the LNB replacement)?

Also, the 103c sat readings are very low. He also told me this is normal. They read 60,23,60,26,60,24,59,26,63,26,59,27,63,27 and a bunch of N/A.

Thanks!

... Altan


the installer cheated, and he is way wrong.
he used the old dish which is not recommended. second the readings are bad, way bad. they should be over 70s not low 60s
call directv and have them file an installer issue over this.
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#3 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:04 PM

Well it seems like he was trying to give you a slimeline 3...i think thats what they call it. its being used in alot of markets now. it picks up signal from the 103, 99, and 101.

Your not suppose to use the old dish at all...he should of replaced the WHOLE dish with a new one. I say call directv and have them reschedule the install, if it hasnt been closed by him, or setup a Service call for another tech.

i dont know about the signal but it does seem low but also on the hd sat, i think i read somewhere, it can be lower than normal but not in the 20's

#4 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:21 PM

The installer pulled a fast one on you....not cool. As has been stated, the entire dish, and not just the LNB was supposed to be replaced. While your solution is something that people on this forum have tinkered with over the past few months (mainly for tailgating, as the dish you were supposed to have received is quite a bit more cumbersome than the old dish you have), it is definitely NOT supported by DirecTV and should never have been done at your house. Give them a call and have a new installer come out to install the proper dish. I would also ask to receive some kind of programming credit for wasting your time. There are many good installers out there (many are on this forum), but there are also many bad ones as well....you got stuck with the latter. With your current setup, since you have such low signals, they will likely work only when the weather is ideal. When you get a rain/snow/windstorm those channels are going to start to pixelate....and the HD ones are always the first to go.

#5 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:32 PM

When you get a rain/snow/windstorm those channels are going to start to pixelate....and the HD ones are always the first to go.


Yeah, clb4g9 is right about that...I know the Local installer (next one) will fix it.

#6 OFFLINE   altan

altan

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:43 PM

Thanks guys. Do only the odd transponders matter for this setup on 103? Or are the readings of 20 just really bad?

... Altan
Like pinball? Check out my pinball site (http://www.aaarpinball.com)

#7 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 01:43 PM

I say even and odd transponders matter, plus the signal being that low (20's) is bad if your suppose to get those transponders.

#8 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,908 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 30 December 2008 - 02:08 PM

I have seen posts which indicate that Directv's criteria for proper installation is a level of 70 or above for all CONUS transponders. 80 or greater is usually possible.

#9 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,040 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 30 December 2008 - 02:25 PM

Anything that low, signal wise, would be unacceptable to me. All the transponders I receive range from 88 - 100 in clear weather, on 99, 101, 103, 110 and 119.

Given the rest of that nonsense about reusing your old dish, I would conclude that the installer is incompetent, a lying cheat, or both.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#10 OFFLINE   altan

altan

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 04:11 PM

Thanks to all for their insight. After being stuck home the entire day with this install problem, I'm told the installer will call me shortly (after initially being told he would call me shortly 2 1/2 hours ago) to schedule a time tomorrow to fix the install. Keeping fingers crossed...

Also thanks to [Mod Edit: Redacted name] for helping out.

... Altan

Edited by Doug Brott, 31 December 2008 - 03:28 PM.
redacted name to protect privacy

Like pinball? Check out my pinball site (http://www.aaarpinball.com)

#11 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 08:56 PM

Did they call you man?

#12 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 31 December 2008 - 09:40 AM

I would still call D* after this is all sorted out and request some sort of programming credit. The installer really did a number on you, and you've wasted a lot of time to deal with what should've (from what I can tell) been a fairly routine install.

#13 OFFLINE   altan

altan

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2007

Posted 31 December 2008 - 03:16 PM

Turey, no... he never called me :( I called the installer twice yesterday and was told both times I would get a call back. Didn't happen.

I called again this morning and, while never speaking to the installer supervisor, was told a guy would come by a little after 4PM today. I was away from my house when I got a call that the installer showed up just a little before noon. I headed back home...

But... it looks like it turned out well. He replaced the dish while I was out and the signal strength looks appropriate now.

clb4g9, I agree DTV should give me a credit (they wasted most of my day), but it's so painful to call them I'm not going to bother. When I called DTV about the installer issue initially, I was very firmly told the best they could do was schedule the repair for 10 days later!!! After all, it was the first available time. Only after repeatedly indicating this was truly unacceptable, did they contact Mastec.

For the record, here is what I have...

101 degree

1 - 8, 99 99 96 9697 100 96 100
9 - 16, 97 100 97 92 98 100 95 100
17 - 24, 97 98 97 95 98 100 96 100
25 - 32, 97 98 96 92 99 100 96 100

99© degree

1 - 8, 95 95 95 96 95 95 95 96
9 - 16, 95 95 96 96 97 97 na na

99(s) degree

1 - 8, 0 0 84 0 0 0 na na
9 - 16, na na na na na na 0 86
17 - 24, 0 0 89 88 59 53 0 0
25 - 32, na na na na na na na na

103(s) degree

1 - 8, 99 41 94 79 77 59 na na
9 - 16, na na na na na na 95 97
17 - 24, 74 60 0 98 0 0 96 0
25 - 32, na na na na na na na na

103© degree

1 - 8, 97 97 95 96 95 96 95 96
9 - 16, 95 96 95 96 96 97 na na
17 - 24, all na
25 - 32, all na

I'm in the Atlanta area. What transponder should I look at for the spot beams?

... Altan

Edited by altan, 31 December 2008 - 03:48 PM.
fixed typo, added clarification

Like pinball? Check out my pinball site (http://www.aaarpinball.com)

#14 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 01 January 2009 - 02:23 PM

Don't worry about it; your strengths are GREAT. Glad to hear it was worked out.

#15 OFFLINE   clb4g9

clb4g9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2007

Posted 02 January 2009 - 09:43 AM

altan, I understand your pain....getting through to the right person can be quite the pain. But if you do get a chance sometime in the near future when you have an hour-ish to kill, if you call the D* number and say "cancel service" when you get asked where you want to go, you get put through to retention generally, and usually fairly quickly. They seem to be the best (from what I have been able to tell) at doling out program credits for situations like this. Either way, your signals look great, and hopefully you won't have any more issues. Good Luck!




spam firewall