Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

- - - - -

why am I not getting 16:9 HD picture on Ch. 352 News Mix channel?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_quietmouse_*

Guest_quietmouse_*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 15 January 2009 - 08:22 PM

why am I not getting 16:9 HD picture on Ch. 352 News Mix channel?
I have two HR21s and one HR20 HD DVRs... they only get a 4:3 SD picture
on channel 352....???:confused:



(picture below is from DirecTV's own website)
http://cdn.directv.c.../d-news_mix.jpg

Posted Image


Edited by quietmouse, 15 January 2009 - 10:11 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,645 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 15 January 2009 - 08:33 PM

Because that's either a mockup of a new version of the news mix that's not being broadcast yet or it's a cropped version of what's being broadcast.

Right now, the Mix channels are all SD

#3 OFFLINE   jleupen

jleupen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 15 January 2009 - 08:36 PM

It looks like that channel will be HD at least temporarily for the Inauguration next week. It is mentioned in this thread:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=103232&page=32
5 LNB Dish & Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
OTA Antenna in Attic

Family Room: HR22-100 > Samsung 46" UN46B6000 LED
Media Room: HR20-100 > Samsung 55" UN55C6300 LED
Bedroom: H20-100 > Samsung 22" LN22B360 1080p LCD

#4 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 15 January 2009 - 09:24 PM

When they do special mix channels (sporting events, etc.) they tend to do them in HD. For some reason they have the full time mix channels all in SD though still.
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#5 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 January 2009 - 10:11 PM

For some reason they have the full time mix channels all in SD though still.

They would have to give up two HD PPV channels in order to do the Mix channels in HD full-time. Clearly, this is unacceptable.

#6 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,832 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:43 AM

They would have to give up two HD PPV channels in order to do the Mix channels in HD full-time. Clearly, this is unacceptable.


I know you're being sarcastic, but I agree. I might actually watch one of the PPVs, as opposed to a Mix channel which I find useless.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#7 OFFLINE   bscott

bscott

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2004

Posted 16 January 2009 - 08:39 AM

why am I not getting 16:9 HD picture on Ch. 352 News Mix channel?
I have two HR21s and one HR20 HD DVRs... they only get a 4:3 SD picture
on channel 352....???:confused:



(picture below is from DirecTV's own website)
http://cdn.directv.c.../d-news_mix.jpg

Posted Image


I have noticed that to. Press the "format" button on your remote until you see stretch. I believe D* broadcasts those channels natively as a SD 4:3 signal so unless your format is set to stretch it will display as 4:3. Other's here are correct. They tend to mess with the signal when they do special events like the election coverage, the upcoming inauguration and other sports specials like the Masters golf and Tennis events and then it will go 16:9. It would be terrific if they would just make these permanently HD but I can't vouch for how much bandwidth it would take to do it and what they would have to sacrifice possibly to enable it.

Edited by bscott, 16 January 2009 - 08:47 AM.


#8 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:17 AM

Currently ch 352 is SD. There is no blue background behind the screen. It is also not interactive. You can switch between the screens to hear the audio, but you can't select the highlighted channel.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#9 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 16 January 2009 - 01:51 PM

There is no blue background behind the screen.

Because they're showing an ad instead.

It is also not interactive. You can switch between the screens to hear the audio, but you can't select the highlighted channel.

Must be something up with your receiver, because I am able to select channels.

#10 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,517 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:27 PM

I know you're being sarcastic, but I agree. I might actually watch one of the PPVs, as opposed to a Mix channel which I find useless.


Chance of me watching either approaches zero. :)

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#11 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:36 PM

Because they're showing an ad instead.

Must be something up with your receiver, because I am able to select channels.

Still the same ad, but is in SD.

However, the interactivity is working now.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#12 OFFLINE   GP245

GP245

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 268 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 21 February 2009 - 10:18 AM

I can't figure this out.

When tuning-in the various Mix Channels, on my H21-100, when first tuned in, each of the 8 screens appears in 4.3, after a moment, they widen into 16.9. Then when I start to change channels, the screens go back to 4.3.

That's fine with me - but here is my problem:

On my HR21-100, the screens are always in 4.3, they never widen to 16.4.

Why on one set (both set are HD LCDs, both receivers set-up the same way)
do I get 16.9 and not on the other?

Stange!

#13 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 583 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 21 February 2009 - 12:16 PM

I can't figure this out.

When tuning-in the various Mix Channels, on my H21-100, when first tuned in, each of the 8 screens appears in 4.3, after a moment, they widen into 16.9. Then when I start to change channels, the screens go back to 4.3.

That's fine with me - but here is my problem:

On my HR21-100, the screens are always in 4.3, they never widen to 16.4.

Why on one set (both set are HD LCDs, both receivers set-up the same way)
do I get 16.9 and not on the other?

Stange!

perhaps your "bad" receiver is set to the incorrect TV shape

try going into the display menu and see if it's set to a 16:9 TV

#14 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 21 February 2009 - 01:09 PM

Why on one set (both set are HD LCDs, both receivers set-up the same way) do I get 16.9 and not on the other?

The H21 currently has a bug where channels with interactive content are stretched, regardless of how you have 4:3 content set to display. It will be fixed soon.




spam firewall