Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Turned off Channels 80, 88 and 86 today


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 16 January 2009 - 04:05 PM

I see that DTv did turn off channels 80, 88 and 86 today, just as they said they would.
I believe I will drop the 380, 388 and 386 channels soon, I never watch them, and can see no reason to pay the 2.99 monthly for each of these SD channels, although I see they do not charge for the Fox channel 388.
Any suggestions.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,965 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 16 January 2009 - 04:13 PM

they're on here.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#3 OFFLINE   Pepster

Pepster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 16 January 2009 - 04:29 PM

they're on here.


I think that channels 80 "CBS", 82 "NBC", 86 "ABC" & 88 "FOX" are just MPEG 2 duplications of channels 2, 4, 7 & 5 respectively for those of us in the N.Y.C. market. I think those impacted are people who get the N.Y.C. stations as part of distant networks because the local area doesn't get their stations from DirecTV yet. We see the stations in their normal channel assignments as well as (380, 382, 386, 388 which are SD) plus (390, 392, 396, 398 HD).

Edited by Pepster, 16 January 2009 - 05:40 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 16 January 2009 - 04:39 PM

I see that DTv did turn off channels 80, 88 and 86 today, just as they said they would.
I believe I will drop the 380, 388 and 386 channels soon, I never watch them, and can see no reason to pay the 2.99 monthly for each of these SD channels, although I see they do not charge for the Fox channel 388.
Any suggestions.

Where in Kansas do you live?
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,564 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:32 PM

I suspect that the OPs area just got their HD locals via DirecTV and thus the DNS versions were turned off.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 17 January 2009 - 06:05 AM

Kansas Zephyr, I live in SE Kansas.

#7 OFFLINE   celticpride

celticpride

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 967 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 17 January 2009 - 11:25 AM

strange i only pay $1.99 for each of my dns channels, are you sure you pay $2.99? unless maybe im grandfatered into a lower price since ive had these sd dns channels since 1995 i did have the hd dns channels for about 1 year for the same charge until directv took away the east coast hd channels and just left me with the sd channels.

#8 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 17 January 2009 - 12:55 PM

I just don't understand why I can receive these channels as Significantly Viewed channels(in my area, 2-WCBS,4-WNBC,5-WNYW) in SD and not in HD. Makes absolutely ZERO sense.

I suspect that the OPs area just got their HD locals via DirecTV and thus the DNS versions were turned off.


Not sure about that. I think there was something to the Jan 16th date. Not sure what tho. I have had HD locals for YEARS and always had 80,82,86,88 in HD... until Friday.

#9 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,564 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 17 January 2009 - 02:05 PM

The $2.99 is for both the NY and LA DNS stations. $1.99 is just for one coast. These are the ones in the 380s.

I still have the 380s along with the east coast HD, both the MPEG2 80s and the MPEG4 390s.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#10 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 17 January 2009 - 09:45 PM

Kansas Zephyr, I live in SE Kansas.

Could you give up which county?
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#11 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 18 January 2009 - 05:42 AM

Kansas Zephyr, no problem, Montgomery county.
jdspencer is right, I failed to say the $2.99 is for the east and west coast feeds.
I still am seriously thinking about changing my programing.

#12 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:18 PM

Kansas Zephyr, no problem, Montgomery county.

That should put you in the Tulsa DMA...so you should not have access to the NY/LA network feeds...and why D* turned them off, since Tulsa locals are on D*.

I'm surprised you still have the west coast still working.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#13 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 21 January 2009 - 02:14 PM

I have had them since primestar days.
Also, I am in the Tulsa DMA - and have Tulsa!

#14 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,349 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 21 January 2009 - 03:35 PM

I have had them since primestar days.
Also, I am in the Tulsa DMA - and have Tulsa!


How can you be in the Tulsa DMA in Kansas? I live in the NE corner of Oklahoma in Miami and I am in the Joplin/Pittsburg DMA market.

#15 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 22 January 2009 - 05:45 AM

I have no idea.
Tulsa has always been our channels.
Since you are in Miami, is Joplin your channels?

#16 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 22 January 2009 - 05:47 AM

Sorry about my reply, obviously i missed the part about Joplin/Pittsburg being your channels.

#17 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 22 January 2009 - 05:58 AM

Sorry about my previous post, obviously I missed the part about your channels are Joplin/Pittsburg.

#18 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,349 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:49 AM

Sorry about my previous post, obviously I missed the part about your channels are Joplin/Pittsburg.


Its all good. I spent 2 hours on the phone yesterday getting the run around from D*, FCC, FTC, Neilson, Titantv, and a local affiliate. No one knows who assignes the DMA markets. Everyone says the FCC and they dont know anything. They told me that they were not over Sat and Cable lol. They referred me to the FTC lol. It was interesting.

I can not believe that Coffeyville is 20 miles closer to Joplin's DMA and they get Tulsa locals. Thats crap and I want in on it. My local market is from 2 different states and neither of which I live in.

#19 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 22 January 2009 - 10:06 AM

I know of several people who would love to have Pittsburg/Joplin but they cannot change from Tulsa.
Who know what thinking goes into these things!

#20 OFFLINE   311Man

311Man

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 276 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2007

Posted 30 January 2009 - 04:39 PM

With the upcoming Directv price increase the DNS channel will go from $2.99 to $3.50. If you have all channels in both the East & West feeds the total goes from $12/mo to $14/mo.




spam firewall