Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DNS Network Channels Information!!!


  • Please log in to reply
270 replies to this topic

#226 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 28 November 2010 - 08:34 PM

No, the law stipulates that you're grandfathered if you continuously have the service. Once you cancel your service (letting it lapse is the same thing) or once you move, you're out of luck. You're then treated as a brand new customer whose DNS eligibility is then dependent on your new address and whether it is covered by HD LIL or can be covered by DNS.


I hate to say it but Vader is right. The law does not take into account if you ever had them granted. It does not matter if you have them at you address and then you shut them off for some reason and decide you want them back. You lose the grandfathered status and have to apply for waivers again. If your market has HD locals then you will not get any waivers unless there is an affiliate missing in your market and then its still not a gurantee that you will get the waiver approved. It soulds like your setup the way it is is as good as you are going to get at this time.

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#227 OFFLINE   w6fxj

w6fxj

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 311 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2005

Posted 01 December 2010 - 12:32 PM

I have been Waivered for SD DNS channels for many years; 1995 to be exact! Back then I applied for and received waiver letters from KCBS, KNBC, KABC and KTTV management because I am unable to recieve their channels off the air due to mountains blocking the signals.

This morning, December 1, 2010, the guide shows SD DNS channels 380 through 389 have been "moved" to 390 through 399! For the moment I am able to get HD DNS channels for the ones I pay extra for in the 380 range. Hopefully I will be able to keep receiving those.

Edited by w6fxj, 01 December 2010 - 12:45 PM.
clarification


#228 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 01 December 2010 - 02:20 PM

I have been Waivered for SD DNS channels for many years; 1995 to be exact! Back then I applied for and received waiver letters from KCBS, KNBC, KABC and KTTV management because I am unable to recieve their channels off the air due to mountains blocking the signals.

This morning, December 1, 2010, the guide shows SD DNS channels 380 through 389 have been "moved" to 390 through 399! For the moment I am able to get HD DNS channels for the ones I pay extra for in the 380 range. Hopefully I will be able to keep receiving those.

What did they do with the CW channels (384 &385) then? I will be checking that out when i get home.

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#229 OFFLINE   w6fxj

w6fxj

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 311 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2005

Posted 01 December 2010 - 02:35 PM

What did they do with the CW channels (384 &385) then? I will be checking that out when i get home.

I never bothered to get a waiver from KTLA as they had no counterpart in NYC. If you have been getting 384 or 385 check out 394 or 395. One of those might be turned on.

#230 ONLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,567 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 01 December 2010 - 04:03 PM

What did they do with the CW channels (384 &385) then? I will be checking that out when i get home.


394/395 i believe.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#231 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 01 December 2010 - 07:36 PM

Just lookes like duplicate channels like all the other SD and HD channels. Not sure why they were moved from the 380's to the 390's but oh well. The SD channels did not go away. I didnt think they would.

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#232 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 01 December 2010 - 07:42 PM

I know the 380s were viewable on older receivers like the old DTIVOs (some, at least). Are the new 390 SD duplicates viewable on old receivers or only the newer ones? I don't have any more old units active; hence my question.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#233 OFFLINE   BrucePadgett

BrucePadgett

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 01 December 2010 - 09:38 PM

I can receive the SD distants in their new positions on my 1st-gen Sony receiver.

#234 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 01 December 2010 - 10:31 PM

The 390 HD channels, though, can't be viewed on the old receivers, can they?

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#235 OFFLINE   Yoda-DBSguy

Yoda-DBSguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,090 posts
  • LocationA Galaxy Far, Far Away.....
Joined: Nov 04, 2006

Posted 02 December 2010 - 07:17 AM

The 390 HD channels, though, can't be viewed on the old receivers, can they?


No, you must have an mpeg4 hd receiver in order to get any HD Channels via DirecTV (it's been this way for some time now).

You can still get some OTA HD channels with an old HD HR10-250 but again that's not though satellite).

#236 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 688 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 03 December 2010 - 07:11 PM

So, with the SD move to the 390's, if a DNS customer who has both east & west in SD, if an HD receiver is added, will the 390 HD east and west work? I have read you only receive one or the other. Not both with HD DNS, would this "move" change things up?

#237 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 03 December 2010 - 07:36 PM

So, with the SD move to the 390's, if a DNS customer who has both east & west in SD, if an HD receiver is added, will the 390 HD east and west work? I have read you only receive one or the other. Not both with HD DNS, would this "move" change things up?


I would say there is a decent chance at them getting turned on. They seem to be turning them on for people who have approved SD DNS. You would definatley to have HD active on your account.

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#238 OFFLINE   bigbw

bigbw

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2003

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:44 PM

No, the law stipulates that you're grandfathered if you continuously have the service. Once you cancel your service (letting it lapse is the same thing) or once you move, you're out of luck. You're then treated as a brand new customer whose DNS eligibility is then dependent on your new address and whether it is covered by HD LIL or can be covered by DNS.


I have to disagree.. I applied for and got waivers in Tucson Az many years ago. When i moved to Arkansas two years ago, I called to use movers connection. The CSR asked if I wanted the same programming.. I asked if my waivers still applied and she said yes. I was somewhat shocked, but two years later I still have DNS and the channels just changed to the 390's and they are all HD now.. Maybe a mistake, but I'm not complaining..

#239 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:46 PM

It was definitely a mistake. Consider yourself lucky that the CSR was just stupid, because waivers can in no way go with you when you move. Waivers are dependent on one's address. Change your address, waivers expire.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#240 OFFLINE   Rob

Rob

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:54 PM

I had waievers in Los Angeles in 2000, move to El Paso in 2003, still had them, moved to San Diego in 2007, still had them, moved to Anaheim in 2009, still had them, moved to Carlsbad, CA in 2010, still got them (Now all in HD) :D

Edited by Rob, 05 December 2010 - 03:00 PM.

It's only tv!

#241 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:55 PM

Never look a gift horse in the mouth, guys! :)

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#242 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,100 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 26 February 2011 - 08:50 PM

Attached is an Excel spreadsheet covering all the various incarnations of DNS service for DIRECTV at this time.

These entries have been gleaned from the master TPN_MAP which was posted on 2/23/11 in the Tips/Resources Forum.

Edited by gct, 05 March 2013 - 10:11 PM.
Refer to more current data



#243 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,100 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 05 March 2013 - 10:10 PM

The information for the previous post has been removed because it was very stale.

Please see the TPN Map thread in the 'Tips and Resources' forum for the most current DNS Information.


#244 OFFLINE   Michael H..

Michael H..

    Legend

  • Unregistered / Not Logged In
  • 191 posts
Joined: May 31, 2007

Posted 06 March 2013 - 03:30 PM

There's the rub. I pay $3.50/month per network for the SD version (as shown on my statement). No extra charge for the H versions, probably because of the HD charge (which is now free for 2 years). Once I see what happens with our locals next month, I'll have o rethink whether it's worth the extra $14/month. I suspect not.


It's $3.50 whether SD or HD for each of the E/W DNS networks, ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, CW.
Back in the day, originally a Pegasus & USSB account, they were $1.50... then $1.99... then $2.50... and now for close to 10 years, $3.50.
Since PBS only has an East (SD) feed, it's $2.50
So, $20 for all, priced separately.
Also, $20 for all, priced for RV accounts.

#245 OFFLINE   camo

camo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 621 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2010

Posted 10 January 2015 - 07:04 AM

I have a question about DNS. I qualify and have the west coast feeds however the list they go by determining if you qualify for east or west coast feeds by timezone is incorrect. I'm in the central and the list has me incorrectly in the mountain timezone so I've requested this get corrected, so directv sent me an ATSB off-air tuner however I don't have any antenna reception in my area, does it work with a second satellite signal also?  

They scheduled another second dish install and I'm really not sure why or if necessary. Are the NY eastern networks on a satellite I don't have currently?

The csr I spoke with had broken English and just kept apologizing for unknow reason. I'm afraid they really don't know what I wanted or was asking. If the NY feeds are on a different satellite it makes sense provided this tuner will integrate a second satellite signal. I'm not familiar with how the off air tuner works or even if another dish is needed.

Anyone with knowledge on this appreciated.  


2-HR24-500
SWM Slimline Dish, MRV Ethernet, media share
70" Sharp AQUOS LC70LE640U
55"LG LH90, 47"JVC LCD's 32" Vizio plasma.
Onkyo SR876 SR receiver

Dish Hopper with sling

Wireless Joey


#246 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 10 January 2015 - 01:05 PM

I have a question about DNS. I qualify and have the west coast feeds however the list they go by determining if you qualify for east or west coast feeds by timezone is incorrect. I'm in the central and the list has me incorrectly in the mountain timezone so I've requested this get corrected, so directv sent me an ATSB off-air tuner however I don't have any antenna reception in my area, does it work with a second satellite signal also?  

They scheduled another second dish install and I'm really not sure why or if necessary. Are the NY eastern networks on a satellite I don't have currently?

The csr I spoke with had broken English and just kept apologizing for unknow reason. I'm afraid they really don't know what I wanted or was asking. If the NY feeds are on a different satellite it makes sense provided this tuner will integrate a second satellite signal. I'm not familiar with how the off air tuner works or even if another dish is needed.

Anyone with knowledge on this appreciated.  

 

Unless you have a very unusual setup, another dish is not needed.  I also live in the central time zone and have DNS channels from both coasts as well.  I use a 5 LNB setup with 1 dish.  Do you know if your setp uses 3 or 5?  I doubt the DNS channels are on 110 or 119 but they could be someone else would have to reply with that information.  If they are on one of those, the most you would need is your dish upgraded with a different LNB.  Do you sub to HD as well?  If so you should already have a Slimline dish which narrows down the options needed alot.

 

As for the AM21 they sent you, that is strictly for you to plug an anteanna into it and it into your DVR so record from the antenna.  That will do nothing for a 2nd dish or DNS feeds.


Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#247 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,821 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 10 January 2015 - 01:19 PM

The SD DNS channels are on 101, the HD DNS channels are split between 99 and 103. The only HD channels on 119 are UniMas West, Mega TV, ESPN Deportes and BeIN Espanol. Nothing targetting DirecTV USA is on 110 anymore, it used to have some MPEG2 HD channels, that slot is now providing channels for DirecTV Puerto Rico.

Edited by KyL416, 10 January 2015 - 01:22 PM.


#248 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 10 January 2015 - 01:23 PM

The SD DNS channels are on 101, the HD DNS channels are split between 99 and 103. The only HD channels on 119 are UniMas West, Mega V, ESPN Deportes and BeIN Espanol. Nothing targetting DirecTV USA is on 110 anymore, it used to have some MPEG2 HD channels, that slot is now providing channels for DirecTV Puerto Rico.

 

That helps.  Thanks.  Now just need to know if he has HD already or not.  I dont think he would be required to carry an LNB for the SD DNS stations if he didnt want to.  My gut tells me he dont need to change anything.  If they have him in the wrong time zone they need to change that.  If push comes to shove, I have some contacts that could help him with this at DirecTV.


  • camo likes this

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#249 OFFLINE   camo

camo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 621 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2010

Posted 10 January 2015 - 03:18 PM

That helps.  Thanks.  Now just need to know if he has HD already or not.  I dont think he would be required to carry an LNB for the SD DNS stations if he didnt want to.  My gut tells me he dont need to change anything.  If they have him in the wrong time zone they need to change that.  If push comes to shove, I have some contacts that could help him with this at DirecTV.

Thanks guys I do have a slimline and HD. I'm in central time zone for sure at zip 69201. I guess I should call again, I had a feeling I wasn't on the same page when they were scheduling a second dish setup. Appreciate the help I might need some inside help if I can't get this straightened out. It does stink having prime time programming starting at 10pm. Sorry for being so late coming back to thread but had some weekend chores to get done. 


2-HR24-500
SWM Slimline Dish, MRV Ethernet, media share
70" Sharp AQUOS LC70LE640U
55"LG LH90, 47"JVC LCD's 32" Vizio plasma.
Onkyo SR876 SR receiver

Dish Hopper with sling

Wireless Joey


#250 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,821 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 10 January 2015 - 03:29 PM

Maybe one of joshjr's contacts can help you get it corrected, that zip code is clearly well within the central timezone. I was initially thinking it was going to be one of those border cases where you're in one time zone but the market's stations are in another.

The lookup shows Sioux Falls - unserved meaning the spot beam doesn't reach your area. Hopefully you will be able to get your locals later this year when the new satellite goes live, it has a lot of spotbeams which might provide locals to areas like your's where the current spotbeams don't reach.
  • camo likes this




Protected By... spam firewall...And...