Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Says NO! to 5th Receiver. Buy Your Own


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BCMgmt

BCMgmt

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2009

Posted 08 February 2009 - 08:10 PM

Have 622-counts as 2, and 2 stand alone units. Upgrading to the 722 and wanted to use the 622 to replace the 510
in my office to get TV on my HD Big sreen monitor and still have the TV with the exercise bike. After 1 hour on phone, Loyalty Dish tells me no can do! Advised to purchase own unit on ebay and hook up. Said there would be no additional charges. i'm confused and beginning to feel stupid. Can anyone enlighten me? i'm all ears. Paying about $ 150/month for everything.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   pmsmith66

pmsmith66

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2003

Posted 08 February 2009 - 08:38 PM

This is a typical run-around for people. I know it's frustrating. I suggest you email CEO@echostar.com. These folks typically do a nice job of cutting to the chase and getting things done. Explain your situation clearly and let them know what you want. I'd be shocked if they won't do this for you. I have 2 622's and 2 612's plus a 510 on my account. All 4 HD receivers are leased...no problem. Good luck.

#3 OFFLINE   ZBoomer

ZBoomer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 529 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2008

Posted 08 February 2009 - 10:18 PM

^^^ He may or may not have luck doing that, it seems like a crap shoot. Standard policy I believe is four leased tuners, so you're way over with 6, so you're out of the ordinary.
Hopper 2000, 2x Joey 1.0 Dish Receivers, "America's Everything pack" with PlatHD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma Display on Hopper (me), Samsung 40" LCD on Joey #1 (wife), Dell ST2410 HD Monitor on Joey #2 (office.)
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K AVR Receiver, PS3, Klipsch Reference-Series Speakers

#4 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 08 February 2009 - 10:35 PM

Dish will only lease receivers to support 4 TVs. Leased receivers get a big discount over retail (free in many cases), but Dish has to have a limit. They've had this policy for at least 4 years, so it's nothing new.

This is also why people with larger systems generally choose DirecTV. Dish is cheaper for smaller systems, but more expensive as you go beyond 4 TVs. Still, if you want more, you can have it, you just have to pay for it.

There's no run-around involved; it's the same rules for everyone, and this isn't one that is often broken. In the rare cases it is, it's usually because Dish screwed up big time somewhere, and that's not the case here.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...