Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

swm legacy and swm port 2


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Marcuse1

Marcuse1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 09 February 2009 - 09:20 PM

I have a swm 8.

Can I hook up a OTA HD att to the swm 8 and watch it on a tv without a directv box over the legacy port?

Also, just what is the 2nd swm port used for? If I use all 8 channels on the 1st port, can I get any more on the 2nd.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 09 February 2009 - 09:25 PM

I have a swm 8.

Can I hook up a OTA HD att to the swm 8 and watch it on a tv without a directv box over the legacy port?

EDIT: No, the OTA will not work through the legacy ports. It only works through the SWM1 and SWM2 ports.

Also, just what is the 2nd swm port used for? If I use all 8 channels on the 1st port, can I get any more on the 2nd.

The SWM can still only support 8 Channels. You can think of the first and second ports as 2 outputs from a splitter. You can have any combination of up to 8 channels between the 2 outputs.


Thanks.


My replies in blue ;)

Edited by Grentz, 09 February 2009 - 10:13 PM.

-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#3 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:05 PM

Grentz...you sure?

I thought that the OTA port was ONLY diplexed to the SWM ports, and not the legacy ports.

The OP could use the SWM 2 port, as you describe however.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,849 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:06 PM

I have a swm 8.

Can I hook up a OTA HD att to the swm 8 and watch it on a tv without a directv box over the legacy port?
Thanks.

OTA Does NOT come out the legacy ports, as I remember.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,849 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:07 PM

The OP could use the SWM 2 port, as you describe however.

"Good twist", as "it should work" and I've never read/thought about using it that way. :)
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 477 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:10 PM

As I recall, if you use the SWM8's built-in OTA port, the OTA signal does not appear at the legacy outputs, only at the SWM ones.

You can, of course, rig up an external diplexer to overcome this.

Keith

#7 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:13 PM

Whoops, my bad. Misread the post and did not realize he was meaning the legacy port for OTA, thought he was still saying the SWM port.

You guys are correct, no OTA through the legacy ports from what I have heard.

That's what I get for skimming the post :P
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,849 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:15 PM

That's what I get for skimming the post :P

Eveline Woods speed reading? :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 09 February 2009 - 10:17 PM

Eveline Woods speed reading? :lol:


Something like that :lol:
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#10 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 10 February 2009 - 08:30 AM

If I plug an OTA antenna into my SWM-8, how do I access the OTA signal? Do I need a high frequency splitter between the wall and my HR20-700? Or could I just patch the SWM2 port to my spare cable run straight into the OTA tuner?

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#11 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,946 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 10 February 2009 - 08:36 AM

If I plug an OTA antenna into my SWM-8, how do I access the OTA signal?

Through diplexers at each capable receiver.

#12 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 10 February 2009 - 09:22 AM

Through diplexers at each capable receiver.


Any specific type of diplexer?

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#13 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,946 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:52 AM

Any specific type of diplexer?

Any conventional DBS satellite diplexer.

#14 OFFLINE   Marcuse1

Marcuse1

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:59 AM

When I look at Directv's "SWM facts" powerpoint presentation, it says this:

OTA channels CANNOT be diplexed down the SWM cable.
The 8 channel has a built in diplexer on the Module for use on the Legacy output ports only.

This is what prompted my original question and seems to be contrary to what you guys have been saying.

#15 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:23 PM

Yes, it is a mistake in the document as has been confirmed by many users diplexing with the SWM8.

The SWM8 diplexer only diplexes into the SWM ports.
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#16 OFFLINE   rudeney

rudeney

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,266 posts
Joined: May 28, 2007

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:59 PM

My advice to anyone wanting to diplex OTA with a SWM8 is to not use its OTA input, but instead, use another diplexer downstream of the SWM8. There seems to be considerable signal loss of OTA within the SWM8.

#17 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 11 February 2009 - 01:46 PM

My advice to anyone wanting to diplex OTA with a SWM8 is to not use its OTA input, but instead, use another diplexer downstream of the SWM8. There seems to be considerable signal loss of OTA within the SWM8.


I would agree as well. Most seem to get better results diplexing separately and it really does not add all that much expense or additional installation steps.

People seem to have the best luck with the Channel Master diplexer set. Note that one piece is just for the insertion side and the other is just for the splitting out side.

Inserter/Combiner:
http://www.solidsign...?prod=CM4002IFD

Splitter:
http://www.solidsign...?prod=CM4001IFD
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...