Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

number of dishes on a roof


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 968 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 11 February 2009 - 10:44 AM

What is the record number of dishes dishnetwork had to install for a customer

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 11 February 2009 - 10:53 AM

There should never be a situation where more than 2 dishes are needed, though someone could *choose* to use more, for example, to solve a line-of-site issue.

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,975 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:03 AM

What is the record number of dishes dishnetwork had to install for a customer

I would guess that if you tried to pick the worst combination, you could need three dishes.

I suppose that if you were trying to shoot through a 2' hole in a wall, you might need four if you subscribed to just the right internationals and HD.

#4 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,975 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:05 AM

There should never be a situation where more than 2 dishes are needed, though someone could *choose* to use more, for example, to solve a line-of-site issue.

Or if someone wanted some PI content that was only available on an one satellite.

#5 OFFLINE   renpar61

renpar61

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:21 PM

I have three dishes. The installer said it was the only way to do it. :rolleyes:
When he came there was one E* dish from the former owner of my townhouse, another one from my neighbor who didn't use it because switched to cable, and a new one was installed. They are all Dish 500. I wasn't (and still I am not) very happy with 2 dishes on the garage roof and one more on the deck, but apparently there was no alternative.
I thought the installer was lazy and instead of removing/replacing the existing ones, he went for the easy route.
Are there any disadvantages (PQ) in combining signals from three dishes?
Do you think I can ask E* to streamline the installation?

#6 OFFLINE   renpar61

renpar61

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:27 PM

Did I win anything? :hurah:

#7 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:30 PM

At the direcTV side there would be a hypothetical change of a 3 dish setup. Never seen one though.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#8 OFFLINE   nismo

nismo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 04:26 PM

Did an HD upgrade this past summer to add 61.5 to existing 119/110. The problem was the big elm tree had blocked 119 and left 110 marginal. Customer agreed to have 3 dishes all spread out on his roof in order for it to work. -Had to even move the orginal dish just to gain 110. Had this needed 118.7, it would truly be a dish farm.

As far as signal quality, it's likely better since each dish/orbital is peaked individually.

#9 OFFLINE   jerry downing

jerry downing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 534 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Mar 07, 2004

Posted 11 February 2009 - 04:34 PM

We have apartment buildings around here with a dozen or more dishes. There should be some way to use one or two sets of dishes for everybody.

#10 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 05:16 PM

Had a cust today with 3 dishes, 118.7, 110/119 and 61.5 but the last one was out of commission?
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#11 OFFLINE   Jason Nipp

Jason Nipp

    Analog Geek in a Digital World

  • Super Moderators
  • 10,040 posts
  • LocationNorthern Illinois
Joined: Jun 10, 2004

Posted 11 February 2009 - 05:28 PM

I have had my fair share.

I'm down to two now, both I mounted near ground level.


http://www.dbstalk.c...22&d=1139422154

#12 OFFLINE   Richard King

Richard King

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 21,331 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2002

Posted 11 February 2009 - 06:07 PM

I have three dishes, by choice. I installed them all myself, so Dish was not involved. I have an 18" Dish 300 pointed at both 61.5 and 110, and a 24" dish at 119.
The Pump Don't Work 'cause the Vandals Took the Handles.

#13 OFFLINE   JohnH

JohnH

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,802 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 11 February 2009 - 06:41 PM

30" each 148, 119, 110 and 61.5. 1 meter for H2 and 72.7. AT9 and 30" for D*. 76 CM each G16 and G18. 7.5' C/Ku and 10' C/Ku. :)
All installed myself and all on the roof, flat as it is.

#14 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 06:54 PM

Not sure where this came from. No, it's not me lol

#15 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 11 February 2009 - 07:02 PM

We have apartment buildings around here with a dozen or more dishes. There should be some way to use one or two sets of dishes for everybody.


There's a way, but it means that the apartment complex owners must pay for the installation, upgrades, and maintenance, and work with a company to manage connects and disconnects. Most complexes don't want to spend the time and money, and end up letting their customers have their own dishes.

And, no, it would NOT be possible to do it any other way. Without management and rules, you'd have tenants disconnecting other tenants, people "upgrading" or completely removing dishes that others needed, etc. And since most smaller apartment complexes don't want to pay for anything, and since all MDU jobs are subcontracted out, there's not much money in them to make it worth doing all the work.

#16 OFFLINE   Papote

Papote

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2005

Posted 11 February 2009 - 07:09 PM

3 Five foot dishes...
Getting pretty common here in Puerto Rico with HD channels (110, 119, 61.5).
Then again we have cement roofs...

#17 OFFLINE   HDftw

HDftw

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:44 PM

Not sure where this came from. No, it's not me lol


I think he's trying to steal tv :lol:

#18 OFFLINE   Mr. Vega

Mr. Vega

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 12 February 2009 - 12:00 AM

i've seen 2 single LNB Direct dishes used to pick up 110 and 119 from Dish. i would have thought LNB technology would be proprietery.

#19 OFFLINE   PTown

PTown

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 12 February 2009 - 07:19 AM

i've seen 2 single LNB Direct dishes used to pick up 110 and 119 from Dish. i would have thought LNB technology would be proprietery.


Some is, some isn't.

#20 OFFLINE   ShapeShifter

ShapeShifter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2008

Posted 12 February 2009 - 09:49 AM

I have had my fair share.

All I see is the dreaded red X. :crying:

I tried typing the picture URL directly into my browser, and got a message that I don't have permission to view that page. It looks like maybe you've stored the picture in a place that we mere mortals can't see it?

AT250, Locals, Platinum HD
Dish 500 (110 & 119) plus wing dish (61.5)
Living room: ViP612 to Yamaha receiver and JVC 42" 1080i 16:9 plasma
Bedroom: ViP612 to JVC 32" 1080i 16:9 CRT
Motorhome: ViP722, to Sharp 32" 1080i 16:9 LCD (TV1) and SD 4:3 CRT (TV2)





Protected By... spam firewall...And...