Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New Dish 722K Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ozzie 33

Ozzie 33

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2009

Posted 12 February 2009 - 04:43 PM

Has anybody heard of a new model of receiver called the VIP 722 K? A customer service rep on the loyalty desk told me I could get the NEW 722 K receiver but when the installer came it was the same 722 receiver that has been out. The installer said it has not been released yet. He gave no details of it other to say he thought it had a larger hard drive.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 12 February 2009 - 04:50 PM

On the tech chat Monday night I believe they said the 722k would be released in a few more weeks. The main feature on it that I recall hearing about is an additional OTA tuner. The OTA tuner is on an optional add-in card and the card has two tuners instead of one, like the 722 has.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#3 OFFLINE   Ozzie 33

Ozzie 33

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2009

Posted 12 February 2009 - 04:59 PM

I assume OTA "means over the air." What will that allow me to do? Watch both TV's from local broadcast signals?

Edited by Ozzie 33, 12 February 2009 - 05:03 PM.
added info


#4 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 12 February 2009 - 05:21 PM

Yes, OTA means Over the Air which is just receiving your local digital channels with an antenna. With the 722 you have 2 sat tuners and 1 OTA tuner so you have three total tuners to watch and/or record from. For example you could record three things at once.

With the 722k you have the extra OTA tunner, so you have a total of 4 tuners to watch or record. I assume you can record 4 things at once with it. I think I heard one OTA tuner can be used by TV2 which is not possible with the 722.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#5 OFFLINE   Ozzie 33

Ozzie 33

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2009

Posted 12 February 2009 - 05:32 PM

Thanks ChuckA. I'm a slow learner but learning a lot here.

#6 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 12 February 2009 - 06:52 PM

Pictures and other info at http://www.dishuser.org/722k.php
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#7 OFFLINE   jlluck

jlluck

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 12 February 2009 - 08:20 PM

Looking at those picts of the 722k, I didn't see the two OTA connections. Did I miss them? Two OTAs would be the best and really help me out.

#8 OFFLINE   TheChef

TheChef

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2008

Posted 12 February 2009 - 08:25 PM

The k models generally have a few extra features above their standard model, but generally share the fact that the ota port is not built into the receiver. You have to buy an additional piece to install if you so choose.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish Network's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#9 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 February 2009 - 10:04 PM

Looking at those picts of the 722k, I didn't see the two OTA connections. Did I miss them? Two OTAs would be the best and really help me out.


If you look at the last pic, just to the left of the two satellite inputs, there is a blank cover held on with two black screws in opposite corners. If you remove the cover, you can insert the separate tuner module.

It only has a single OTA F-connector for input, and splits the signal internally for the 2 tuners.

Here's a pic:

Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   chainblu

chainblu

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: May 14, 2006

Posted 12 February 2009 - 10:50 PM

Thing is, even if the 722k started showing up in warehouses today, most wouldn't go out until the existing supply of 'regular' 722's hit the road.

#11 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 03:37 PM

All the information I've seen says that OTA tuner 2 would be available to TV2 via RF channel 3 or 4. I am interested in exactly how this will work, because the 622/722 currently distribute the satellite channels to TV2 via RF stereo on channels selectable in the UI. TV1 and TV2 can both be sent out over coax on different user definable channels.

How will this ch 3/4 modulator interface with that connection?

Jeff Burris
Salina, Kansas

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#12 OFFLINE   jlluck

jlluck

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 69 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 08:18 PM

Can this extra be added to the 722 and basically turn a 722 into a 722k?

#13 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,450 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 February 2009 - 11:06 PM

Can this extra be added to the 722 and basically turn a 722 into a 722k?


The 622/722 receivers have the single OTA tuner integrated. No room or facility in those models for expansion. The 722K is a re-design that allowed for them to make it a separate module, and they made it a dual OTA tuner as well.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#14 OFFLINE   RickDee

RickDee

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: May 23, 2006

Posted 14 February 2009 - 02:22 PM

All the information I've seen says that OTA tuner 2 would be available to TV2 via RF channel 3 or 4. I am interested in exactly how this will work, because the 622/722 currently distribute the satellite channels to TV2 via RF stereo on channels selectable in the UI. TV1 and TV2 can both be sent out over coax on different user definable channels.

How will this ch 3/4 modulator interface with that connection?

Jeff Burris
Salina, Kansas


According to the documentation for the 222k, the OTA module provides an output on channel 3/4 to TV1 only. TV2 is the same as it is now.

Download MT2 OTA Module file http://www.dishnetwo...odule_Guide.pdf and the 222k Chap 11 file, http://www.dishnetwo..._222k_Chp11.pdf see page 98.

#15 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 16 February 2009 - 11:18 AM

According to the documentation for the 222k, the OTA module provides an output on channel 3/4 to TV1 only. TV2 is the same as it is now.

Download MT2 OTA Module file http://www.dishnetwo...odule_Guide.pdf and the 222k Chap 11 file, http://www.dishnetwo..._222k_Chp11.pdf see page 98.


Thank you. This is exactly the information I was looking for!

Jeff

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#16 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 16 February 2009 - 11:48 AM

Can this extra be added to the 722 and basically turn a 722 into a 722k?


I serious doubt it. The 722 does not have the expansion port on the back.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>




spam firewall