Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DTV Analog Shutoff Why Should I Care...


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   space86

space86

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 514 posts
Joined: May 03, 2007

Posted 12 February 2009 - 09:02 PM

I have Dish Network why should I care if the date has been changed
to June?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 February 2009 - 09:12 PM

*Most* people have no reason to care. The only ones who really DO need to care are those who either get their TV via OTA antenna, or those who aren't getting a specific local channel because their provider is waiting for that channel to move to its post-transition frequency/transmitter.

#3 OFFLINE   jkane

jkane

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 08:37 AM

You care because the cost to your local stations to keep two transmitters going is going to effect where they spend their money on better things like local news and such.
- Jeff
922, 722, 501.

#4 OFFLINE   ZBoomer

ZBoomer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 529 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2008

Posted 13 February 2009 - 10:31 AM

It's amazing to me with the absolute media blitz we've suffered for darn near a year about the DTV transition the Govt says many people aren't ready yet, don't know about it, blah blah.

Man, if you watch TV, and isn't that the target audience, how can you NOT know? It really shows how out of touch so many people are, just amazing. And these people VOTE.
Hopper 2000, 2x Joey 1.0 Dish Receivers, "America's Everything pack" with PlatHD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma Display on Hopper (me), Samsung 40" LCD on Joey #1 (wife), Dell ST2410 HD Monitor on Joey #2 (office.)
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K AVR Receiver, PS3, Klipsch Reference-Series Speakers

#5 OFFLINE   nmetro

nmetro

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 729 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 13 February 2009 - 11:10 AM

Actually, you care because satellite and cable providers have to carry the SD and HD variants of network channels for four more months. Also, this delays replacing the analog with digital signal for local stations carried by satellite and cable providers. Finally, while multiple signals are being maintained, this delays adding new national programming content and national HD.

#6 OFFLINE   HobbyTalk

HobbyTalk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,659 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 11:36 AM

Actually, you care because satellite and cable providers have to carry the SD and HD variants of network channels for four more months. Also, this delays replacing the analog with digital signal for local stations carried by satellite and cable providers. Finally, while multiple signals are being maintained, this delays adding new national programming content and national HD.


If I'm not mistaken, Dish will still have to carry both SD and HD signals because the majority of subscribers still have SD. The change over to digital will not affect that. AFAIK, the vast majority of LIL channels that Dish carries have already been switched over to the digital broadcast signal.
DirecTV HR34 - 3 HR25's
Panny 42PX77U - Slingbox Pro
tgif: let's RV

#7 OFFLINE   plasmacat

plasmacat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 11:50 AM

You care because you will have to rescan for your local OTA channels. The question now is when.

#8 OFFLINE   jkane

jkane

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 12:17 PM

Ah .... SD is NOT equal to analog. HD is not the very definition of digital. The DBS companies carry a "digital" signal whether it's SD or HD They are not required to carry one, the other, or both, just that they carry one. And it is always digital. Even after the switch, they are only required to carry SD and not HD unless they want to.

That is a curious question! What if they decided to carry ONLY the HD feeds! Hmmmmm. Who would complain first and loudest?
- Jeff
922, 722, 501.

#9 OFFLINE   HobbyTalk

HobbyTalk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,659 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 01:22 PM

Well, OK they don't HAVE to carry both SD and HD versions of a LIL channel but if they want to offer both they will have to carry both.
DirecTV HR34 - 3 HR25's
Panny 42PX77U - Slingbox Pro
tgif: let's RV

#10 OFFLINE   siper66

siper66

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2008

Posted 13 February 2009 - 01:39 PM

I thought I read somewhere that once the switchover happens, stations can devote more "power" to the digital signal, thus providing a wider coverage area. We may be able to pick up some additional OTA channels that we couldn't recieve before here in the Columbus, Ohio area. ( Dayton, Mansfield, ZAnesville) Is this true? This would be a good reason to care about the analog shutoff..

#11 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 13 February 2009 - 02:58 PM

I thought I read somewhere that once the switchover happens, stations can devote more "power" to the digital signal, thus providing a wider coverage area. We may be able to pick up some additional OTA channels that we couldn't recieve before here in the Columbus, Ohio area. ( Dayton, Mansfield, ZAnesville) Is this true? This would be a good reason to care about the analog shutoff..


This will be true for some stations, because some are currently restricted to lower-power transmissions so as to not interfere with existing analog broadcasts in adjacent cities. But it isn't universally true that all stations will up their power. Many have been broadcasting in full power digital for years.

#12 OFFLINE   Pepster

Pepster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 13 February 2009 - 03:36 PM

I have Dish Network why should I care if the date has been changed
to June?


Many stations also have substations not available on either DirecTV or Dish Network.........and NEVER will be on either of the 2, but can be viewed in the local markets via an OTA. The transition may broaden the spectrum that those stations have to work with so that they can add even more content.

#13 OFFLINE   Jon Ellis

Jon Ellis

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2003

Posted 13 February 2009 - 05:55 PM

You might care if you don't subscribe to your locals. I work at the FOX affiliate in Duluth. We made an early switch to digital-only, and I've taken a number of calls from DISH Network customers who thought they didn't need to do anything because they have satellite, but it turns out they were watching local stations with the rabbit ears. They are bummed to hear they either have to pay an extra $5/month or buy a converter box.

There have also been some problems with DirecTV customers who don't have the proper dish setup to receive the local channels in our market.

#14 OFFLINE   Glen_D

Glen_D

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 13 February 2009 - 10:56 PM

I live in a market where the FOX and MY Network affiliates will cease analog on February 17, and the rest apparently will delay until June. But some of the stations that will delay have reduced their analog power, others cannot broadcast at full digital power until the transition is complete, others say they plan to add sub-channels when they shut down analog.

So this doesn't mean much of anything for those who rely on Cable or satellite for their local channels, but for the OTA crowd, it looks like they need digital tuners on the 17th if they want to receive all the local channels. Plus with some stations operating on reduced analog or digital power during the transition, people in fringe areas will probably need both digital and analog tuners in the interim.

#15 OFFLINE   robert koerner

robert koerner

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 522 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2005

Posted 14 February 2009 - 09:38 AM

Don't know about you. But, I'm indifferent to the change over date. Delaying it so that the government can catch up with the demand for coupons so that more people can use there SD TVs is fine with me.

Bob
Bob, a novice in electronics.

#16 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,798 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 14 February 2009 - 09:42 AM

You care because you will have to rescan for your local OTA channels. The question now is when.

This is the answer!

#17 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,952 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 14 February 2009 - 10:00 AM

You care because you will have to rescan for your local OTA channels. The question now is when.


Or how many times you will have to rescan...
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#18 OFFLINE   ZBoomer

ZBoomer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 529 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2008

Posted 14 February 2009 - 04:10 PM

^^^ Why will you have to re-scan? The Dish OTA tuners only pick up digital signals, so they won't care or notice when the analog signals go off.
Hopper 2000, 2x Joey 1.0 Dish Receivers, "America's Everything pack" with PlatHD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma Display on Hopper (me), Samsung 40" LCD on Joey #1 (wife), Dell ST2410 HD Monitor on Joey #2 (office.)
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K AVR Receiver, PS3, Klipsch Reference-Series Speakers

#19 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,459 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 February 2009 - 04:12 PM

^^^ Why will you have to re-scan? The Dish OTA tuners only pick up digital signals, so they won't care or notice when the analog signals go off.


Lots of local stations will be changing their broadcast frequencies when they switchover... so they might be on channel 57 digital today, but 27 digital on Wednesday.

You'd need to rescan to pick up those changes.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#20 OFFLINE   ka8zay

ka8zay

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2009

Posted 14 February 2009 - 05:02 PM

I can say in Dayton WHIO is broadcasting digital on a backup antenna that is smaller and lower to the ground compared to the main broadcast antenna. They have been waiting on the change over date to take down the old analog antenna and replace it with a new perm digital antenna. So in this market as soon as the change happens it will be for the better.

#21 OFFLINE   biz

biz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2004

Posted 14 February 2009 - 05:59 PM

Dish doesn't offer our locals in HD. (Actually Dish locals are really locals from 70 miles away). I use rabbit ears and the tuner in my 622, with no issues for network HD.

Dish is in dispute with Fisher, so having rabbit ears has been a blessing.

I'm assuming that I'm good. So those stations are going digitial, but we'll get SD or will we finally get HD for those. (some already made the switch and are not going back due to equipment issues, others are switching anyhow).

#22 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,184 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 14 February 2009 - 06:04 PM

Lots of local stations will be changing their broadcast frequencies when they switchover.

Not if they switch over before the new cutoff date of June 12.
In most cases the FCC is requiring they remain on current RF channel until then.

.. so they might be on channel 57 digital today, but 27 digital on Wednesday.

You'd need to rescan to pick up those changes.


Kevin

2 Hoppers
2 Hoppers 2.0

#23 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,459 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 14 February 2009 - 07:26 PM

Not if they switch over before the new cutoff date of June 12.
In most cases the FCC is requiring they remain on current RF channel until then.

I'd challenge that statement. Both of the stations in my market that are moving to their analog channels managed to get STAs to do so before transition. The before transition part being clearly stated in the STAs (special temporary authority).

The media bureau will want to approve such moves to make sure they don't create interference with remaining analog channels but unless the station's digital signal is much larger than their analog coverage they should be trivial to approve.

#24 OFFLINE   angiecopus

angiecopus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: May 18, 2004

Posted 15 February 2009 - 06:21 AM

I can say in Dayton WHIO is broadcasting digital on a backup antenna that is smaller and lower to the ground compared to the main broadcast antenna. They have been waiting on the change over date to take down the old analog antenna and replace it with a new perm digital antenna. So in this market as soon as the change happens it will be for the better.




i am ready for this change. its a shame that they could let the dayton stations change sooner. i have finally gotten my parents to watch the dayton stations instead of Cincinnati. because of living in preble county.
whats weird is that in my parents bedroom, they can get some Cincinnati on the converter box but in the rest of the house its all dayton stations.

#25 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,222 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 15 February 2009 - 01:20 PM

If I'm not mistaken, Dish will still have to carry both SD and HD signals because the majority of subscribers still have SD. The change over to digital will not affect that. AFAIK, the vast majority of LIL channels that Dish carries have already been switched over to the digital broadcast signal.


They'll probably have to carry SD channels for 10 to 15 years until people get HD sets.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever





Protected By... spam firewall...And...