Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

RG6 coax with AWG 17 ground


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   traveler

traveler

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 13 February 2009 - 09:24 PM

I see that my DISH installation was done with an RG6 coax cable which was manufactured with a ground wire running on the outside of the coax.
Where is this ground wire supposed to be terminated? The coax run from antenna to receiver is approximately 85 ft. and the only existing ground rod is on the other side of the house (at least 70ft. from the DISH antenna).

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 13 February 2009 - 09:27 PM

One side is attached to the ODU, the other side has to be attached to a ground block from where a 12 AWG has to be run to a NEC approved ground source.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 14 February 2009 - 12:53 PM

NEC code allows the run from the dish to the ground block to be grounded with 17ga solid copper wire, provided that wire is bonded to the coax, which it is.

From the ground block, 10 gauge (not 12) solid copper wire must be used to the ground source.

Having said that, if your ground rod is on the far side of the house, DirecTV isn't going to ground the system; it would be up to you to do that, since the costs to do it up to NEC code could easily exceed several hundred dollars. Keep in mind that a contractor, who has to pay for his supplies, is only paid roughly $100 to install your system, BEFORE expenses.

Generally, DirecTV requires the tech to ground the system if the cables pass within 20' or so of the house ground. Otherwise, it's left to the home owner.

#4 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 14 February 2009 - 12:54 PM

From the ground block, 10 gauge (not 12) solid copper wire must be used to the ground source.

Gah, getting rusty.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...