Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR21 Problem


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MikeR7

MikeR7

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2006

Posted 15 February 2009 - 01:25 PM

I took advantage of the loyalty offer and ordered an HD DVR, my fourth. I received a refurbished HR21. It works fine until I try to record something. The recording works ok, but I can't watch live TV, I get the "searching for signal..(771) error on all channels. When I stop the recording, live tv comes back. Is this a common bug? It has the latest NR on it.

I haven't tried calling support yet, but I will sometime this week.

This is the first problem I have had with any of the DirecTV™ boxes I have gotten including two H20"s. :confused:

Edited by MikeR7, 15 February 2009 - 04:39 PM.
forgot a word


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 15 February 2009 - 02:39 PM

Either the second tuner is failing or the LNB/coax/BBC it's connected to is failing. Most of the time it's one of the latter, but it could be the former. Call DirecTV for a service call.

#3 OFFLINE   MikeR7

MikeR7

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2006

Posted 15 February 2009 - 10:33 PM

Thanks for the thoughts, it made me think that I hadn't tighten up all the connections, and sure enough when I did the problem seems to have gone away. Sloppy do it yourself install. :nono2:

#4 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 16 February 2009 - 06:47 AM

I am moving this to the "DIRECTV HD DVR" forum.




spam firewall